We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intercontinental Riyadh is now an old friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Riyadh
Ranked #18 of 224 Hotels in Riyadh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

It's a real pleasure staying in this hotel, just finished my Nth visit. It feels like being in a family; staff are so nice and very efficient, I so much look forward to my visits. Free Internet! Excellent food, certainly among the best in ANY hotel, anywhere in the world. The secret is, they use the best ingredients. This hotel is the BEST possible advertisement for the Intercontintal chain, and being a Gold Priority member helps too.
It's astonishing that the hotel keeps up a high standard despite major on-going renovations, but as a guest, you hardly feel it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank upintheairglobally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

We are extremely heartened by your good review of the InterContinental Riyadh and will share this with my team. Rest assured that our service standards will remain consistent and will continually look into other areas where we can improve the comfort and enjoyment of our valued guests like you. We look forward to have you and your family again.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 361 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

I reserved in this hotel over the bookings.com site. The hotel never mentioned that they are undergoing renovations. I was dropped by taxi at the back entrance to the hotel and had to drag my luggage a long way to the reception. The service in the rooms, behind the reception and the taxi service was terrible. No one wanted to help in any way. I cut my trip short and changed hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shawwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

We appreciate bringing your dissatisfaction towards our hotel. We would like to inform you that we have already communicated with bookings.com to pull the informations from our website so that guests making their bookings through this site will be made aware of the ongoing renovation of our hotel. Moreover, corrective actions have been made with our transportation and uniformed sections to improve the services. Meanwhile, we express our deep apology for all the inconveniences that have caused you. We trust for your understanding that the long way from the landing area to our Reception will continue until the renovation is completed.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This hotel is decent... but beware, it is an older hotel currently undergoing renovation. It has all the amenities you would expect and FREE internet service. The restaurants (both the cafe and buffet) are good, although the buffet was a bit cold. I was a bit confused in the lobby cafe, because as a single woman they told me I had to sit "upstairs", but when accompanied by my father, they said I could sit with him in the actual cafe. The spa and health facilities are also ONLY for men. This might be typical for all hotels, I'm not sure.

Regarding the location, it is a bit away from King Fahad Road and a little secluded. Next time I will stay at the Four Seasons or the Faisaliah. They are more central.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank AKabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Riyadh. We would like to inform you that our F&B Director has already look into the status of the buffet in our restaurants as well as our protocol in dealing with single ladies. Meanwhile, we express our deep apology for the inconveniences that have caused you. Rest assured that your next visit will be a more pleasant one.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I have stayed at nearly all of the hotels in Riyadh ex-pats are allowed to stay in and the Intercontinental is head and shoulders above the rest. There is one more elegant and several more that most folks would say are great, but only the "Intercon" is the best of all for business travelers. BiJoy and the rest of the staff are all ready to do whatever is necessary to make your stay a pleasant one.

There is currently renovation occurring in the main lobby so you enter and exit through the side lobby. The construction noise is zero. They have relocated the buffet to the upstairs business lounge with little to no interference to the business traveler.

The rooms in the tower are large and comfortable. Large flat screen HDTVs are in all the rooms with very comfortable king beds. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mspoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2011

Our sincere appreciation for your excellent review . It has been our proud tradition to extend the best service at all times to all our valued guests like you. The hotel is now on the process of renovating the lobby, conference rooms and the landscaping of our main entrance. We are confident that when these are completed, you will find a new, redefined lobby and conference rooms with the finest facilities.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

A luxuirious place and a great getaway from Riyadh heat . You may experiance traffic jams around this area . Meet your business companions in lobby or in the resturant.
Quite, spacious and elegant rooms

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghazi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

We are happy to note of your good review during your last stay with us. Whilst Riyadh surrounding is seemingly boring, we are confident that when the lobby renovation is completed, we will be able to offer you a new, redefined lobby which no one could match in the city. Moreover, our soon-to-be-completed Restaurant and Lounge will be a very delightful and secured places to meet your business partners. We look forward to have you again at the InterContinental Riyadh.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Currently on a one week business trip to Riyadh and staying at this property. The hotel is undergoing a significant renovation but they seem to be carrying it out with virtually no inconvenience to guests. The summer in Riyadh is not peak season and it's obvious that significant planning has gone into this renovation. The restaurants and facilities, although somewhat shuffled, are still up to Intercon standard. There is no noise associated with the ongoing work and sleep is not disturbed. The facilities here are excellent and the rooms well set up for the businessman. Well done, and I look forward to experiencing the renovated facility in the coming months.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim_julian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2011

We are truly grateful for sharing your experience while the 24-hour hotel renovation is taking place. It has been carefully planned with the Contractors that hard constructions were done in a particular time of the day and the soft constructions were scheduled during our guests' rest hours especially in the evening. We are confident that when these renovations will be completed, a more spacious and luxurious lobby plus conference with the latest state-of-the-art facilities will be ready for your pleasurable use.

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The IC Riyadh is located in the heart of Riyadh. It is not just a hotel but a whole complex that is heavily secured as a lot of foreign expats live there and due to its location accross the street from MOI.

There are two wings at the IC Riyadh. The old wing with non-renovated rooms and the new wing with nice Club rooms and some standard rooms. Try to get a room in the New Wing.
The Club Lounge is also at the top floor of the New Wing.

Rooms are spacious and very modern. Working is possible in there and also inside the Club Lounge.

Club Lounge offers nice breakfast, but Happy Hour food is somewhat limited.

One restaurant offers a nice lunch buffet, which I can recommend.

Pool is huge and the gym is well equipped. Since one doesn't walk around Riyadh too much, these facilities are badly needed.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank mucben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement77, Resident Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2011

On behalf of the InterContinental Riyadh team, I would like to express my sincere gratitude for giving us your genuine perspective. We strongly believe living an InterContinental life is truly unique. We hope we will continue to live up to our guests' expectations and your comments give us inspiration to keep on improving. Thank you and we hope to have you again at the InterContinental Riyadh!

Tariq Dowidar, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
1.8 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#13 of 224 in Riyadh
319 reviews
2.0 mi away
Narcissus Hotel & Residence, Riyadh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Burj Rafal Hotel Kempinski
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh at Kingdom Centre
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Riyadh
Movenpick Hotel Riyadh
#5 of 224 in Riyadh
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Riyadh

Address: King Saud Road | Po Box 3636, Riyadh 11481, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range: $174 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Riyadh 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental® Riyadh hotel is a luxury resort hotel, located just five minutes from the city's exciting, high-rise business and shopping district. You can practise your golf swing on a nine-hole course, have a round of tennis and then cool off in one of two large pools. Or you can relax by strolling the hotel's 40 hectares of exotic landscaped grounds. Experience true Saudi hospitality in our restaurants, or host a business meeting or conference in one of 13 sleek event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Riyadh Hotel Riyadh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing