We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Riyadh
Ranked #35 of 227 Hotels in Riyadh
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed here for perhaps fifty or sixty nights over the last three years. I love the location relative to the meetings I have in Riyadh, I like the staff, love the security set up (its world class), and I like the size and layout of the bedrooms. However, lots of money has been invested in the lobby and none in the rooms I stay. I typically pay between $275 and $375 per night, and thus its fair to expect a very nice room. But they are dated, which is fine I guess except for the bathrooms. They are small, cramped and awkward. Just opening and closing the door in the bathroom requires you contort your body into a corner to swing the door. There is a bath/shower combo that is barely wide enough so the shower curtain isn't stuck to your body. I'm told that there are newly renovated rooms, I've just never seen one in all my trips here. My other gripe is the cafe off of the lobby. They have light meals as well as coffee/tea etc. The worst service you can imagine. They are all smiles as they ignore you, but they avoid approaching tables as if you're going to bite them. Its bizarre. Every time i'm in there you can watch the staff getting yelled at by someone. The simplest orders are difficult, order a coke and wait fifteen minutes. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful, I see many of the same faces on each trip and I enjoy greeting them and thanking them for their service, its hard to imagine how this cafe has been overlooked so long.
Anyway, I will not stay here again anytime soon. Al Faisaliah and Ritz Carlton are about the same price and much nicer. Perhaps not as convenient but I'm done trying with Intercon Riyadh.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the illusive "newly renovated rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eglzfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Eglzfn,

Thank you for your review during your recent stay with us at InterContinental Riyadh.

Indeed your comment on the hotel rooms in the main building is fair and really appreciated. I wish to inform you, however, that when I recently took over the management of this hotel, I had embarked in an ambitious 2-phased hotel renovations. The 1st phase which is the renovation of the lobby, restaurants and conference rooms had just been completed and the 2nd phase will be the renovation of the rooms and suites in the main building. Meanwhile, I would like to enjoin you to try our Club rooms on your next reservation. All our club rooms were upgraded and your stay there includes access to the Club lounge (breakfast, afternoon tea, evening canapes, plus refreshments at anytime of the day till 11:30 pm). As to the service of the Al Diywan, I have already discussed the issue with the F&B In-charge with much concern and I was given an assurance that this will be immediately corrected.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Riyadh.

Sincerely yours,
Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 375 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've been frequenting this hotel several times throughout the past year on business trips. The receptionists are all helpful; glad to see more Saudi youth capable of excellent customer service and hospitality skills. The hotel has two buildings, one of them is newer with upgraded rooms. I will make sure to check in one of those next time. Room service is competent and efficient; management always makes sure you get what you ask for including changing rooms for any reason.

The breakfast buffet has a good selection of intercontinental and oriental options. All hot drinks are served at the table and waiters are polite and quick. After breakfast, the lounge serves snacks and drinks throughout the day, and a light dinner at night. If I had the choice, I wouldn't eat there as the quality of food is mediocre and there are never healthy salad options. But due to my busy schedule during business trips, I often don't have time to dine out and resort to this mediocre lounge food.

Aside from the lounge, there are two other restaurants housed within the hotel. I wouldn't highly recommend either of them, especially for food connoisseurs who are always on the look for something new and good.

The other downside of this hotel for me is the lack of women's gym, unlike its sister hotel Intercontinental Jeddah that has a dedicated room for that. Nevertheless, one can order a stationary bike in their room. Last time I had eye brows raised at me when I asked for dumbbells as well. But I had what I asked for, and that's what I like about this hotel. Staff would go out of their way to fulfill the clients' requests.

By international standards, this is relatively an expensive lodging option (around $330 a night) given that Riyadh is not particularly a touristic attraction.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrekkerFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Globetrekker,

Thank you for your recent recent review of the InterContinental Riyadh. I have noted all your comments, but first I would like to thank you for your kind comments concerning our receptionists and our Saudi youths who will be our future leaders including other services such as the room service, breakfast, etc. I wish to assure you that I have in my high list the other concerns which need to be improved and this will be looked into as soon as possible. I do understand your experience concerning the limited recreation facilities of the hotel for women. Meanwhile, we can offer you some indoor recreation facilities such as bike machine, or step-up which can be delivered to your room. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the InterContinental Riyadh.

Sincerely yours,
Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We recently spent 6 days with my husband attending a conference as a family with two small children. We were apprehensive once we realised how restrictive it would be for us. The hotel was the bright spot of the trip. We opted to upgrade to the executive club which not only served great food four times a day (one of the best buffet breakfasts) it also gave us an extra space to while away our time. The cost of the upgrade was pretty much covered by what we would pay for a buffet breakfast for two and we certainly got our moneys worth if only in the constant availability of (soft)drinks., especially since leaving the hotel required a taxi journey...The other food we had at the hotel was reasonable if expensive. We loved the soups at the restaurant by the pool.
It was frustrating not being able to swim or use the gym (as a woman) but this is more a Riyadh issue than a hotel decision. Having said that I would think it would be possible for the gym (which apparently has an indoor pool) to set aside some women's hours. We were told by the concierge I could have a bike and weights sent to our room but the gym refused.
The staff were extremely friendly and tolerant of two small children roaming about. On one of the few occasions I took the children out alone the bell boy was very keen to ensure we had a safe taxi.Our room was very spacious - although this may have been because of the upgrade.
In general however, Riyadh is a difficult city especially when it is hot. There is little to do apart from go to the shopping centres which close in the middle of the day as well as during all of the prayer sessions.Taxis are an issue as many do not have seat belts in the back. The driving was variable although not nearly as bad as we have experienced in Nepal and some Asian countries. It was too hot and too far to walk anywhere.It is important to check carefully the opening hours of everything - and that it is a family or whatever type of day you require. Even then various places (in our case the National museum) close without notice. In general I would advise avoiding Riyadh but if you have to go I would definitely recommend the Intercontinental.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the executive club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Guest AustFamily,

Thank you for your review during your recent stay at InterContinental Riyadh.

It gives me pleasure to read your kind review about the unique experience you had in the kingdom of Saudi Arabia especially the city of Riyadh. I must thank you that somehow your initial perception of the kind of life in the kingdom has significantly changed with this recent travel.

I am also very grateful that after this stay, you have recommended our hotel as a nice place to stay when in Riyadh.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you want stay one of the huge or big hotels in the world it could be Intercontinental Riyadh, has a gold course on the same compound, huge restaurants, big cafes and swimming pools and it gives or adds much comfort in one of the restricted countries in the world!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadhakrishnaRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Rao,

Thank you for your review during your recent stay at InterContinental Riyadh.

I am very happy to note that you had a comfortable stay and that all the facilities were to your full satisfaction.

We look forward to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Sincerely yours,

Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was on Intercontinental only due to the fact that company policy doesnt allow anything lower than that. I wasnt too pleased (loyalty program lies with Novotel). Having said that I have been pretty well taken care of here. The staff is extremely courteous, they make the effort to learn your name and pretty much cater to your every whim and fancy. (I once called up room service at 4 am to ask for a match box, took them 4 min to get one to my room). The food is decent, specially the breakfast. Never missed it a single day!! The rooms are neat n tidy though i personally feel too large for a regular single person to stay.
ON the down side, the hotel is very old, so the air conditioning isnt up to the best standards. Not to say that it is hot, but the a/c works on its own whims and fancies. Plus the ac makes a racket at times.
The hotel is perfect for business trips and a the facilities ensure that you dont get bored (cause trust me that happens a lot). Gym, swimming pools, tennis courts, golf, bowling etc keep you occupied.
Its still too expensive but if money isnt the issue I'd definitely recommend the hotel

Room Tip: for those who smoke, make sure you mention that at the time of check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prateek1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Prateek 1385,

Thank you for your review of the InterContinental Riyadh during your recent stay with us. I am very much elated by your observations and takes pride in all of my staff who have taken cared of you during your stay. Please be assured that we will continue our excellent services as we look forward to have you again the nearest future.

Indeed, the rooms need refurbishment but this will be the next phase of renovation after the lobby, conference rooms and the main entrance.

Sincerely yours.
Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. The staff seem a bit disconnected and not very friendly. But overall the hotel has a great indoor and out door pool, beautiful landscaping, a bowling ally if you have a group friends joining you. The food is ok to include the breakfast. Their location is not great and you won't be able to walk to a restaurant or mall.

Room Tip: I know they are always renovating, but make sure you get a room in the new wing and NON smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMubarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Mr. KMubarak,

Thank you for your very constructive review during your recent stay at InterContinental Riyadh.

I really appreciate your observations on the physical facilities of the hotel, though I am concerned about the indifference of some staff, which you indicated. I have communicated with all my Head of Departments to re-enforce our friendly attitude towards guests and ensure that services should always be extended with a smile.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,

Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I traveled to Riyadh City, Saudi Arabia for a business trip, where we managed a business meeting in the Hotel. Actually Hotel was perfect and service i believe it worth 5 Stars Hotel. I had a situation with the Receptionist during checking in, where there was no ready room yet for me to stay in however i had a confirmed paid reservation on the same day. A gentleman from the hotel management came to me and offered me a free of charge room upgrade to Club Room to stay in in order to solve this matter. It was really appreciated.

I strongly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tariq D, General Manager at InterContinental Riyadh, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Mr. Hassan,

Thank you for your review during your recent stay at InterContinental Riyadh.

It gives me pleasure to read your kind review about how our staff made you feel important during your arrival at the hotel. I have cascaded your full review to the Front Office Department so as to share with them your nice comment.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Sincerely yours,

Tariq Dowidar, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.8 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#12 of 227 in Riyadh
336 reviews
2 mi away
Marriott Executive Apartments Riyadh, Makarim
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh at Kingdom Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Narcissus Hotel & Residence, Riyadh
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
9.4 mi away
Burj Rafal Hotel Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Riyadh

Address: King Saud Road | Po Box 3636, Riyadh 11481, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range: $172 - $886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Riyadh 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental® Riyadh hotel is a luxury hotel, located just five minutes from the city's exciting, high-rise business and shopping district. You can practise your golf swing on a nine-hole course, have a round of tennis and then cool off in one of two large pools. Or you can relax by strolling the hotel's 40 hectares of exotic landscaped grounds. Experience true Saudi hospitality in our restaurants, or host a business meeting or conference in one of 13 sleek event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Riyadh Hotel Riyadh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing