We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in Progress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Ranked #23 of 219 Hotels in Riyadh
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Work in Progress”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stopped at the Crowne Plaza Riyadh for one week during October 2012

The first thing to know is that there is construction work going on at this hotel. During the day the sound of hammering is very intrusive and this did go on into the evening on some occasions.

Also quite bizarrely it was thought a good idea to move a monster construction machine at 3.00am one night onto the back of a low-loader truck. I am sure I wasn't the only guest woken up by the racket it made !

Check in was professional. Checking out was the same.

The bedroom I had was quite small although well appointed. There was no desk to work at having only a shelf by the window for the laptop (just wide enough for a laptop)

Internet access is free (very good) and speed seemed perfectly acceptable.

There is a small coffee table and leather chair.

A nice bowl of fruit was provided on the first two evenings but after that none was provided.

The bathroom whilst very small was good with a large walk-in shower with good toiletries provided.

The iron in the room was completely useless being a non steam iron, also the plug was broken exposing bare wires. It beggars belief that non steam irons are put in hotel rooms in this day and age !

I didn't use the one restaurant at all so can't comment other than it looked rather basic in appearance.

The lounge also leaves a lot to be desired being just an open space with chairs and tables. The drink and food menu in the lounge was limited but the waiter was very good and actually organised some food not on the menu. Well done to him !

This is not a new hotel and compared to some of the regions hotels it really does not match up favourably for quality or amenities. But saying that having stayed in four hotels in riyadh it isn't the worst you could choose (bearing in mind the on-going construction)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarrymayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    111
    29
    12
    5
See reviews for
9
7
14
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Crown Plaza is a nice business hotel in Riyadh. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. The wifi at the lobby and at the rooms are fast and stable. The lobby is not a fancy one and not for business meetings. The location is not far from the airport and also 15 mins away from the very center of the city. The food served at the restaurant is delicious (especially their side dishes). The breakfast buffet is rich and tasty. Overall it is a nice business hotel within international standards but I would not recommend it for family trips. It is far from going anywhere by foot.

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers ending with 27 and 37 they are just across the elevators on the floors. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a reliable brand, and the Riyadh hotel does not disappoint. Cool and comfortable room, very clean with luxurious pillow and duvet and a bed which promotes sleep. The staff were very attentive and pleasant too, not always a given in Saudi. On the downside, the dining options were very limited and there is no alternative I could see within walking distance. And there is a lack of garden or outdoor walking / relaxing areas. Good for a couple of nights, but I could note stay a week and keep sane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

renovated and clean hotel. Huge difference to the old holiday inn minhal. Perfect for business. Lobby is not great due to ongoing construction, but rooms are perfect for a business traveler: nice work area with high speed internet cable, very modern decoration, etc.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a good wifi signal, they will figure out how to find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chakib L, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest and Reviewer

First of all I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal to be your home while in Riyadh.

We are happy to read comments on your experience during your recent stay with us and surely they will enable us to further improve our services and facilities to provide hotel guests with the ideal business environment and enable them enjoying the Crowne Plaza brand ONE STEP AHEAD promise enabling us to contribute into your travelling success

Once again thank you very much for taking time to write your review on trip advisor and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal .during your future visits to Riyadh


Kind regards



Chakib Lahlou
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location matters is Riyadh, a now about 7 million inhabitants city. And this Crown Plaza is close to many offices, next to the old airport. It currently has slightly more than 200 rooms, very nicely appointed although quite small (if you want bigger, you need to go for a suite), with only a tiny window. Wooden floors, large TV screens, comfy beds, decently sized bathroom with all the amenities, coffee/tea station, free wifi: faultless. Service is pretty good in general.
Food-wise, only one restaurant (buffet style with one different theme each night), but food was good in general. Great breakfasts.
Be aware though the hotel is currently under an expansion program so it can be quite noisy during the day. So make sure to ask for a room far from the work. And it has other implications: small lobby (blind, i.e. no windows), the gym is tiny, no club rooms are available....
Also the hotel taxis are a rip-off (as often) and cars are not always available (so booking in advance is recommended).
All together, it remains a good business hotel, and should be even better once the extension work is over.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms in a quiet area (i.e. far from the extension work in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This my second time to stay here and it will not be the last time.chick in was very smooth with the help of Aklam in the reception,the breakfast is amazing,Rubin the restaurant manager is very decent and welcoming,Binjie in the restaurant was very friendly,Hamza in the reception is very friendly as usual,everyone look loving what is he doing,the park staff are very helpful.
The bed is very comfortable I have the deepest sleep ever
The bath tub is perfect
Can't wait to come again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahmedta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for 17 nights. The room was modern, spotlessly clean and perfect for my needs. What really made the place stand out for me was the staff. They were genuinely friendly, very attentive and provided an excellent service. The housekeeping staff (Shagor for most of my stay) do a fantastic job! All queries were handled efficiently and effectively - thanks Ahmed!

Thanks for making my visit an enjoyable one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaywez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riyadh Olaya
0.4 mi away
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
Riyadh Marriott Hotel
#13 of 219 in Riyadh
309 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ibis Riyadh Olaya Street
Ibis Riyadh Olaya Street
#16 of 219 in Riyadh
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Riyadh Diplomatic Quarter
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Riyadh
2.0 mi away
Hotel Al Khozama
Hotel Al Khozama
#42 of 219 in Riyadh
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal

Property: Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal
Address: King Abdulaziz Road | P.O Box 17058, Riyadh 11484, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Riyadh
#21 Luxury Hotel in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal Contemporary style and traditional hospitality in downtown Riyadh A warm Arab welcome and an elegant, modern room or suite awaits you behind the gleaming facade of the Crowne Plaza(R) Riyadh Minhal hotel. A private limo can pick you up for the 30-minute ride... Contemporary style and traditional hospitality in downtown Riyadh A warm Arab welcome and an elegant, modern room or suite awaits you behind the gleaming facade of the Crowne Plaza(R) Riyadh Minhal hotel. A private limo can pick you up for the 30-minute ride from King Khalid International Airport, and a complimentary shuttle can take you directly to Riyadh International Conference & Exhibition Centre. Business travelers are conveniently close to the Diplomatic Quarter and corporate offices. With complimentary Wi-Fi and shaded parking, a 24-hour Business Center and a smart meeting room for 15, the hotel provides round-the-clock support for guests on a busy schedule. You can start the day with a hearty breakfast buffet at Al Yasmeen Restaurant, return with clients for a business lunch and meet colleagues later for a lively themed dinner. Al Mishraq Cafe serves delicious light meals in the lobby, and room service runs 24 hours. For those with leisure time to spend in Riyadh, the Concierge can arrange transport to souks and shopping centers. If you fancy golf or an expedition into the surrounding golden dunes and wadis, our friendly staff can make all the arrangements. A small but well-equipped Fitness Center is open 24 hours. Helping you make the most of your stay in the Saudi capital, the hotel serves as both a restful retreat and a stylish base for work and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Riyadh Minhal Hotel Riyadh
Holiday Inn Riyadh
Riyadh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing