We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe after the hotel has been open for longer . . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Riyadh
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Maybe after the hotel has been open for longer . . . .”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This brand new hotel is opulent! The architecture and gardens are quiet spectacular as you enter the main gate. The public spaces are HUGE; rooms are about average for a luxury hotel. Service is excellent and the staff is very friendly. There are several problems though. At the moment there is only one restaurant and every meal is a lavish buffet. If you want a light meal, your only option is Room Service. The other bigger issue is that the pool, spa, and fitness center only permit "gentleman" to enter. In a brand new extravagant international hotel such as this one has to wonder why there aren't separate facilities for women or (at least) separate hours. I do not want to challenge the culture or customs but it would seem that something acceptable might have been planned to accommodate an international clientele.

The other problem is that the hotel location is bad. It is isolated from the city and there is nothing (NOTHING) nearby. If you want to go for a walk, you can only walk the grounds. There are no restaurants or shopping nearby. NOTHING! No lobby shop. I needed ibuprofen. Forget it without a long car trip. Fortunately a colleague had brought a good supply along.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    91
    47
    17
    17
See reviews for
63
91
21
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This grand hotel gives an insight into local culture as well outstanding service.

In a strictly Islamic country, the hotel doesn't appear to have any female staff but all staff were friendly and obliging. The large restaurant was virtually empty during our visits but the buffet - both breakfast and dinner - was outstanding and, again, came with high quality service from the staff.

The large room was excellent - very good bathroom, comfortable bed.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkOboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a beautiful structure and well worth staying at - my suite was very comfortable and both the levels of service and attention from staff all very professional. The food outlets were excellent and the quality of such a high standard. I will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brydon_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The look is fabulous and the building is perfect. The rooms are fine and remind me of almost every other good hotel. I was impressed at first but the room service and room were ok.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

They said we would never again see a new palace hotel open, that the Imperial gems of Europe were the last of this, the ultimate phenomena of decadence. Yet The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh; completed as a palace of the Al Saud is one of the few things on Earth that truly must be seen, to be experienced, for one to truly understand the levels of grandeur, of expenditure and down right opulence it contains within it's walls. Forget the Palace of the Emirates, forget the Mardan Palace- The Ritz manages to balance majesty on an astronomical scale with a more intimate setting that none of the above properties manage. The Ritz-Carlton Riyadh does not feel like a commercial hotel, but rather, your palace for the duration of your stay, with occupancy levels being so low. The swimming pool itself is a masterpiece. Yet this hotel is almost brand new, and problems during the visit were apparent- to put it shortly, the staff are not yet experienced enough to run a hotel of this stature, meaning a lot of service issues across the board. After speaking to the management in regards to this matter, it was more than resolved. Room wise, the Executive Suite is incredibly comfortable, perfect for entertaining and as with anything in this hotel, no expense, no matter how trivial, has been spared. I would however reccomend larger than the standard one, as that is slightly on the small side. Everything, and I mean everything, is the best that the market has on offer. To be very honest, and indeed very picky, if the ball point pens in the higher suites were changed of something of just a tad higher quality, it'd go well with the leather note books and menus- again, in this case I am being picky in the extreme. If you ever wanted to live a life where your hand doesn't touch anything but the best materials, then go to The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh, for you will find that there. The Banquet Halls too are beyond words, they must be experienced to be truly understood. Even the trees at this property are over 600 years old.
Usually, I'd give a hotel with the service issues I have experienced here a four star rating at best- but this isn't your middle-of-the-rung, five star hotel, but truly an experience, an experience of luxury, of living a life so lavish few in this world can ever even dream of experiencing it. Yet when I brought some of the issues I had faced to light, the hotel went above and beyond any call of duty imaginable, making sure everything, to the smallest detail was in check, and that is something one cannot put a price on. Life is a collection of experiences, and this is what this hotel is- an experience to be remembered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malioil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a new hotel built by the government and is like the Ritz Orlando (which is also great) on steroids. It is a little out from the centre, but that helps to keep it nice and quite so you are able to sleep like a baby.

As with Saudi Arabia in general, the staff are all extremely friendly and attentive. I was let down once by the laundry, but it was a small snag in an otherwise lovely stay. Food was very very good and room service quick, probably as they are not too full at the moment.

Grounds and surrounding almost make this a six star hotel similar to those we see in Dubai. However, as Riyadh is developing phenomenally, it is a great place to visit and can offer lots of things that other countries cannot.

Room Tip: Any non-smoking room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This must be the cheapest Ritz Carlton hotel in the world! It's located away from main thorough fair in Riyadh and has pretty strict security policy. So, the police on the road would not let our cabbie drive to the door of the hotel. Result: half a mile walk, which was ok in benign March weather but imagine doing so in July!
Once inside, the hotel is very opulent, service attentive and rooms of decent size.
Food is priced at top end. There is only one restaurant, serving buffet breakfast and meals but does so with impeccable courtesy. The lobby coffee shop is also very nice.
It's located next to the new Convention Center, near Diplomatic enclave. Important to remember as most of the cabbies don't know it's location!
Most people visit Riyadh on business trip and perhaps Faisaliyah, Sheraton or Kingdom Tower are better suited because of their location. But if you not mind 15 minutes of additional commute, Ritz is recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibnbatutaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riyadh hotels
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Riyadh at Kingdom Centre
8.8 mi away
Burj Rafal Hotel Kempinski
4.0 mi away
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
Rosh Rayhaan by Rotana
#3 of 218 in Riyadh
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Narcissus Hotel & Residence, Riyadh
3.8 mi away
Al Faisaliah Hotel
Al Faisaliah Hotel
#10 of 218 in Riyadh
432 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Riyadh - Al Muroj Business Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh
Address: Mekkah Road | Al Hada Area, Riyadh 11493, Saudi Arabia (Formerly The Ritz Carlton Riyadh)
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Riyadh Province > Riyadh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Riyadh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh in Saudi Arabia, guests retreat to a 5-star hotel that offers an abundance of space for luxury to unfold. Our Riyadh hotel's 52 acres of lavishly landscaped gardens and our palatial accommodations address every need of the most discerning traveler. Our luxury Riyadh hotel's tempting amenities and signature spaces are perfect for those who come to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia to work or for pleasure. The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh features 493 guest rooms and suites, including 2-bedroom Royal suites and 1-bedroom Executive suites, along with 62,000 square feet of space for events. Our state-of-the-art conference rooms and grand ballrooms are ideal for hosting a variety of types of meetings. The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh features a gentlemen's-only spa that offers an indoor heated pool and garden views from floor-to-ceiling windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Riyadh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing