We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lazy Friday Brunch in very pleasant surroundings”
Review of Urth Caffe

Urth Caffe
Ranked #7 of 27 Coffee & Tea in Riyadh
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 24, 2019

I visited Urth with a couple of work colleagues as somewhere different to visit at the weekend. Relatively easy to get to, however parking can be a challenge later in the afternoon and evening. Best to park a bit away as to not get caught up in the messy parking that can blight the city. It is a popular place to go, in particular with locals. I would recommend getting there early as it does get busy.
Downstairs is for families, upstairs for bachelors. A spacious and colourful décor, though limited with seating.
The menu is a mix of sandwiches, pasta and Italian style dishes. I went for the hot beef sandwich. Beef was tender, brown baguette tasty and with a little pot of gravy was good too. Portion of fries with a sprinkling of parmesan was a welcome accompaniment.
As with most of these café style restaurants, they are a dessert lovers paradise. I opted for the chocolate brownie which was most enjoyable. I admittedly had plate envy when I saw the apple tart. Not a small portion so a healthy appetite needed to polish it off.
Service was attentive, but not intrusive.
Value for money, it is a bit pricy - around SAR170 for a hot sandwich, chips, dessert and a couple of drinks. I left feeling that I had a good meal and nothing went to waste so wa worth it.
Another venue to add to the list of places to visit.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sauditaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

The decoration and atmosphere is very nice and relaxing.
The place will take you away from Saudi
Delicious food
Bit pricey for a cafe
Will visit again if i am around

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Halamufeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

Whenever we decide to go out for Friday brunch while we are in Riyadh our undisputed first choice is Urth Cafe. The large choice on the menu, the presentation of the food, as well as the venue itself with the possibility of buying great bakery favorites all add up to making this one of our favorite places in Riyadh. We are looking forward to their opening in Jeddah.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

Positives:
Location (easy to get there).
Outdoor dining tables away from indoor crowds and noisy songs.
Place of show up if you wanna do show up.
Kasadia chicken pie.
Cheese Danish.

Areas of improvement:
Outdoor dining tables and areas are not well maintained, dirty and umbrellas are broken (the staff try push you to set in the indoor tables).
The staff (waiters and receptionists) need more professional training in customer-centered services.
Crowded noisy songs especially indoor areas.
Very very expensive for non-superior value services and food.
Car parkings are limited.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank MetrekAlMetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

It was my first time to visit the Urth Caffe in Riyadh. I was very impressed with the setting , design and views of the Caffe . The menu offers a wide selection and variety of breakfast as well as lunch entries. The food was tasty , delicious and healthy and the service was prompt and friendly .

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank loutfike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urth Caffe also viewed

Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
Riyadh, Riyadh Province
 

Been to Urth Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing