We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's a great feeling to be there”
Review of Black Stone

Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This holy stone is the eastern cornerstone of the Kaaba, the ancient stone building towards which all Muslims pray. Many Muslims believe that the stone (originally white but now black from absorbing the sins of man) fell from heaven during the time of Adam and Eve.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What's a great feeling to be there”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I loved every moment of my visit. I look forward to my next Umrah to see the holy place. It may be need some efforts to come close but it worth it and so enjoyable to do so.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabry M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    33
    12
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stone come to janat.”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Haven in earth.
A beautiful life long experience in my life . In makkah all people love everyone.
We love the city of medicals.

Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
162 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“very old stone”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hajar-al-aswad is a holy stone in a corner of Qaba,from which all muslims start their turns around the Qaba. touching it has been said to be very good,so all try to touch it and it makes the great crowd around it,which makes it hard esp. for women to touch it.it was one of the original stones used in the first building of Qaba by Prophet Ibrahim and his son.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_mrs_alaeddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“magical !!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I have been to mecca about 4 times,,, each time ,, I have been lucky enough to touch the Black stone,,, it smells amazing and the funniest thing is,,, is that once you have managed to kiss and touch the Stone,,, the crowd almost lifts u away from there and u land about 2 metres away !!
the whole process of Umra and Hajj,,, does Test your patient, so be prepared for lots and lots of SABR,,,,and enjoy the atmosphere, the smell, the tawaf, and just being in one of the city's where our beloved Prophet Salalahu aleyhi wasalam,,spent a lot of time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shaeda_sikander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hajr aswad”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Difficult if not impossible to get to. Try at 3 AM. Worth the effort if you can make it. Almost impossible for the ladies to get to it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShahabulArfeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Stone also viewed

Mecca, Makkah Province
Mecca, Makkah Province
 
Mecca, Makkah Province
 

Been to Black Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing