We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property ... long walk..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
Ranked #29 of 378 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and myself just returned today from Macca after performing our Umrah. I normally stay at the Movenpick opposite to the Haram but this time I stayed in this hotel. The property as such is good but the ONLY problem is that it is a long walk from the Haram as the roads are closed and the shuttle dose not operate.Besides this there is no poblem at the hotel. The staff is ok. The breakfast is good too... I would prefer going back to my Movenpick.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shams1958, General Manager at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dear Mr. Hussain. “Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarrama” Thank you very much for your comments which we really appreciate as we will try our best in order to make your next visit more pleasant as guest satisfaction is our main aim , and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the traditional Arabian Hospitality of “Makarim Ajyad Makkah Hotel” and the courtesy of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you once again and please feel free to contact me in case you need any assistance for your future bookings at our hotel. Once again, thank you and best regards. Amr L. AL Sunari. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the Hajj period. It is fairly close to the Haram but one needs to manage a fair amount of the crowds to get to and from the hotel. The rooms were clean and neat. Meals were somewhat disappointing with little to choose from if you are wanting to maintain a balanced diet. Staff were friendly and fluent in English.

Room Tip: A room nearest to the ground floor is helpful as the lifts are quite antiquated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naz632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khawlah186, General Manager at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Our Valued Guest,
Greetings from Makkah and Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel.
Thank you for staying at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel and sharing your experience with us. It gives us pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay, thank you again for your feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming back in near future. If I can be of any assistance, please let me know.
Good Wishes,
Amr Alsunari,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is old but refurbished however it is budget hotel with nice location near Makkah with only 10 min walking distance. The room is ordinary and small. The food was terrible. The hotel staff polite and provide quick check in and out. It is a good to go if you need budget hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shams1958, General Manager at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dear Mr. Mustantm. “Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarrama” Thank you very much for your comments which we really appreciate as we will try our best in order to make your next visit more pleasant as guest satisfaction is our main aim , and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the traditional Arabian Hospitality of “Makarim Ajyad Makkah Hotel” and the courtesy of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you once again and please feel free to contact me in case you need any assistance for your future bookings at our hotel. Once again, thank you and best regards. Amr L. AL Sunari. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Paid a lot of money for a room and got a tiny room. Many of the amenities advertised not given in the room. Room service every day but rooms not swept. Bathrooms not cleaned even coffee cups not washed.

Hotel food very limited and monotonous. Came here on a package deal and for dinner your drinks are limited to water. No tea no coffee.

Will never stay here again nor will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inshan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khawlah186, General Manager at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Mr. Inshan,
Greetings from Makkah and Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel.
Thank you for staying at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel and sharing your experience with us. It gives us pleasure to know that you enjoyed the stay, thank you again for your feedback.
Looking forward to welcoming back in near future. If I can be of any assistance, please let me know.
Good Wishes,
Amr Alsunari,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location Great in front of masjidil haram Gate, Service is average. But the room and amenities are OK, cleaning everyday. The room itself are wide, with good air conditioning. Our meal three times a day are arrange by hotel, is quite alright. Depent on what your purposes in Mecca, but as haji visitor, this hotel are alright.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shams1958, General Manager at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dear Mr. Luken. “Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarrama” Thank you very much for your comments which we really appreciate as we will try our best in order to make your next visit more pleasant as guest satisfaction is our main aim , and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the traditional Arabian Hospitality of “Makarim Ajyad Makkah Hotel” and the courtesy of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you once again and please feel free to contact me in case you need any assistance for your future bookings at our hotel. Once again, thank you and best regards. Amr L. AL Sunari. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel itself is about 500m from the Haram but the problem is the very noisy outdoor. The non-stopping sound of breaking hammer which are used for demolishing mountain next to the hotel, will get into your nerve. We had terrible sleep disorder in those days of our stay. Wi-Fi connection dosen't work at room. Breakfast is terrible with not may choices for Aisan guests.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, do not choose this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaheen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakarimHospitality, Director of Sales at Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Shaheen 77,

We are sorry you had to experience the noise in Makkah, May god grant you Thawab for your Umrah.
The noise in Makkah is beyond our control due to constructions going on everywhere, we wish that you had informed us during your stay when we could have moved you and your family to our sister hotel Makarim Umm Alqurra which is located on the same street in a quite area far away from all the noise.
I also understand your frustration regarding internet connection, but once again and due to constructions around Haram we are facing internet cables damages due to constructions and excavations.
Thank you once again for posting your comments and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you and your family and friends in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed in room 954, from February 11th till 16th I can not say less than that it was a dissgusting stay.
*Hotel rated as a 5 stars but it barely hits the 4 stars rating.
*Room was not clean at all:
Bed sheets were stinky (even when after changed several times) with un-clean drops, despite of tiny insects here and their.
Floor is not clean with hair all over the old messy carpets.
Bathroom tub is very old with scratches and sticky dirts, always found mosquitos and insects inside.
Houskeeping had a pleasent smile althought haven't made a change to help getting this misearable un-clean room get better.
Room amenities were very poor in quality considering soap, shampoo, bath gel, body lotion, towels.
*Breakfast has no variety of a 5 stars hotel, serving guys were tough and aggressive, drinking glass wasn't clean (we had to check a lot to find a good one to drink in).
*Shuttle bus was said to be avaiable to transport us to Haram, but never had the opertunity to find a clear note about how to use it / when it moves.
*Reception guys where un-cooperative, we had our room access cards mixed with others.
*Bell men has thrown our bages for so much time in a place that nobody could help us to know it, until we found the bags by our own thrown all over at the elevator without any care.
*Location was average, although you have to walk for some time in the sun to reach Haram.

Finally I would never suggest this hotel for anyone looking for a 5 stars standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sherif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
1 mi away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
1 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Shohada
Hotel Al Shohada
#26 of 378 in Mecca
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
#23 of 378 in Mecca
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Makkah Convention Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 378 in Mecca
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel

Address: Ajyad Street | P.O. Box 6020, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#27 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $114 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel is ideally located at Ajyad street within a walking distance from the Holy Mosque and King Abdulaziz gate. 45 minutes from King Abdulaziz International Airport – Jeddah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing