We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest (cost wise) 5 star hotel in Makkah that is in walking distance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
Ranked #16 of 339 Hotels in Mecca
Riyadh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheapest (cost wise) 5 star hotel in Makkah that is in walking distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was great. The location of the hotel is 5 mins away from Haram; it opens up to the entrance of the 1st floor, basement and Gate No. 1. The rooms were very nice including the linen, furniture and towels. We went during 1st week of Ramadan and the Iftar was very nice. The hotel arranged for a drop off to the airport for SAR 200 in a very good car. Over all, we were very impressed and would definitely select this hotel again. Cost wise, it was the cheapest 5 star hotel we found in Makkah that was in walking distance from Haram.

Room Tip: Ask for a late check out; we checked out at 5pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ADinRUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    56
    27
    7
    7
See reviews for
81
26
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Assalamalaikum

Clean hotel in a good location. Generally we enjoyed our stay, but please read below. The attitude of management/senior staff left a lot to be desired. I don't normally write reviews, but here I ought to as a warning to other travellers in terms of what to expect perhaps.

There were four issues.

1. We were scheduled to arrive at the Hotel about 8.00am, and we did. Since we were going to arrive early, we booked the room from the night before as check in time is 2pm. We thought we could go to the room, leave our stuff and then go to the Haram. We were 'greeted' by the Manager or someone who seemed to have that authority, he didn't give a monkeys about us really, and when I told him we had a room booked from the day before, he said abruptly "we don't have you on our system, it's between you and your agent, go and do your Umrah and come back". Anyway, after I insisted I had a room, he said "Ok OK give him the room, and charge them extra". I was in Ihraam, so I stayed cool as much as possible and did not argue. I think they take advantage of this. The manager at the buffet restaurant was equally as rude, if not more. I have to say I've never had this experience before anywhere, even in any crap restaurant/hotel. It was as if they were doing us a favour by giving us a room, and providing breakfast. Our agent immediately confirmed that it was made 100% clear to the Hotel Management that we would be arriving early morning and the room was paid for from the night before. It appears that the hotel was fully booked, and hotel management decided to let our room go and make a few extra saudi riyals!

2. They gave us a twin room, even though we are a married couple. Anyway, it's all about Ibadaah there, so not a huge deal. They don't know what a double room means - they think it means a room with two single beds. I think you have to ask for a family room maybe.

3. Despite the fact that their main reception desk in the lobby is about 15 metres long, there was hardly anyone there ever. No one answered the phone if you wanted to call Reception. However, there were always about half a dozen guys though sitting at the desks which surround the lobby which are for Sightseeing etc. Ridiculous. However if you wanted room service, you would get someone answering the phone, and food was good.

4. Before checking out I needed help with the luggage (bell boy) and went down to reception (since no one answered the phone at reception). I asked the guy there and he said he would send up the bell boy (bell boy was actually a man in his late 40's). Anyway, Bell boy never came so about 20 minutes later I went back down. The guy who I had asked had gone on a break and never told the Bell Boy. Yes - that's right, there was just the two of them running the Reception/lobby area, with of course the half a dozen sight seeing agents looking on! When I complained to the Bell Boy, he said there is no use complaining as this is a Pakistani run hotel with Sauid Ownership. He said that I would get thrown out of the country as the Saudi's don't tolerate complaints.

I'd love to believe that these were isolated incidents, but I don't think so. Since it was their attitude that stank. Mistakes can happen, but their service is very much 2* at the most. You'd getter better treatment in a 1* B&B in the UK. In summary, the Hotel was very clean but service left a lot to be desired. You can stay here, but be prepared.

I did't let any of this affect my visit/Umrah at all, but I did promise myself that once I returned from Umrah, and had a moment I'd write a review on trip advisor to let others know what to excpect, and here I am. In a nutshell, go, enjoy your Umrah/Hajj, don't worry too much about stuff and don't let it get to you - main purpose of the visit is Ibaadah!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank IAnsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Approx 5 minute walk to mosque. very clean and decent customer service. Breakfast was excellent. rooms were very clean. A large reception are with a few shops inside, includes cleaning facility inside and outside. near a lot of shops. Arab hospitatlity is not very good though.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and very clean. they are equipped with a safe for valuables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GulfTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

great location can go walking to the Haram, also has a 24 hr shuttle bus service, good breakfast, looks after all other needs so you can concentrate on prayers! just a little old!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Tashb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Ajyad Makkah is an excellent value for money hotel, I wouldn't say it is right at the door step of the Holy Mosque but is not too far either. The hotel is of reasonable quality and food is prett good.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank SafewayTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2008

This is a good hotel where every cent is worth spending. We perfromed our Hajj in 2008 and stayed at Ajyad Makka hotel. The house keeping is excellent and so is their dinners and room service. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. The lobby, foyer, restaurants and rooms are nice, spacious and well kept. At the time, constuction in the city was at a high every where and so construction dust was perhaps the only issue once outside the hotel on the way to the haram during the day time. The distance is not that far to the haram - maybe 5 minutes walk. The hotel does provide a shuttle service for the elderly and for any one else if required. Enjoyed my stay at Ajyad Makka.

  • Liked — The house keeping, the food and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — The front desk staff needs to learn a bit of the english language
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Makka_ajyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahwaz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

This hotel is placed in near distant by haram and by its prices it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehdi_Creative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.3 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#6 of 339 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#10 of 339 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.3 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#9 of 339 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Dar Al Eiman
Royal Dar Al Eiman
#17 of 339 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.5 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 339 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel

Property: Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
Address: Ajyad Street | P.O. Box 6020, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#21 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious hotel is ideally located at Ajyad street within a walking distance from the Holy Mosque and King Abdulaziz gate. 45 minutes from King Abdulaziz International Airport – Jeddah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing