We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sacred and Historical”

Jabal-al-noor (Mountain of Light)
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the Muslim religion, Muhammad received his first revelation from God on this mountain.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sacred and Historical”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Need time and strength for the steep climb. Visited from the distance. Best time to visit for the climb is in early morning when it is cool. Carry water and snack for energy replenishment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Abid100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    40
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough hike!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The path was sooooooooo steep. 500 meters straight up. Best to go just before Fajr so that the weather is cool and to get a beautiful view of sunrise. We went at maghrib so the view was great, but it was difficult and dangerous to make it the last part of the way to Gharr Hiraa as there is no lighting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giza, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first place where prophit mohamed received first Quraan sentences”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Jebel-al-noor (so called in Arabic) contains Heraa cave its where prophit Mohamed was going for worshipping and its where Jibraeel came down with the first versus of Quraan

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sally f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Moutain of Light ..A Must once in a life time”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Ghar-Hira or (Cave of Hira). The Cave, thesanctum of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (Peace Be upon Him), the place of His devotions and mediations and the sacred spot where the Holy Quran began to reveal. The Cave is situated on mount Al - Noor on way to Mina near Makkah and its peak is visible from a great distance. Muhammad (P.B.U.H) had just stepped into the forty first year of his life, when during a night in the month of Ramadan the first 5 verses of the Sura Al Alaque were revealed to him from
GOD through the angel Gabriel.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank s9642689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A mountain climb u will never forget....”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A amazing experience to climb to the top to the exact place where Gibrael A.S came to our beloved Prophet S.A.W.S, the journey from the bottom to the top was an experience trying to relive the footsteps of our beloved messenger.

It only made me realise despite having easy stair access to the top how strong of a man he was s.a.w.s, i was drained and needed water when i got to the top in the blazing sun..to know he s.a.w.s. would climb this mountain regularly is amazing.

When i had reached the top it made me extremely emotional trying to live the experience of being there alone and how our messenger s.a.w.s was scared when jibrael a.s came in a form of a man. The hardships our beloved s.a.w.s went through for this ummah, truly a mercy to the whole of mankind.

U cannot miss this out during your visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jabal-al-noor (Mountain of Light) also viewed

Mecca, Makkah Province
Mecca, Makkah Province
 
Mecca, Makkah Province
Mecca, Makkah Province
 

Been to Jabal-al-noor (Mountain of Light)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing