We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best in Makkah, but may face some competition from some of the new hotels being built” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Ranked #8 of 339 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still the best in Makkah, but may face some competition from some of the new hotels being built”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We decided to stay at the Intercontinental again for a weekend (last visit June 2013), and yes this is still the best hotel in Makkah! The service from reception was great and really very helpful. Anything we asked I genuinely felt that the staff wanted to do. I really can’t speak highly enough and is on par with some of the best in the UK (and easily exceeds anything KSA has to offer).

There were a few thing which I noticed had slipped from last time we stayed (possibly different rooms, cleaners etc) the bathroom sink wasn’t properly cleaned and had what looked to be white toothpaste on the sink while around the top of the sink there looked to be some mold forming. Even with these things I can’t help but still give this hotel a great review but it’s not what you expect from such a great hotel)

If the standards slip I’m sure the hotel will face some stiff competition from some of the new hotels being built in Makkah!

Room Tip: If you can, still get a Haram view, its out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abu_ayesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Abu Ayesha,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to bringing up your observations to our attention and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our objective to consistently provide superior service to our valued patrons. Your comment is very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like your good self, enables us to target the problem areas and take appropriate correction measures to ensure similar situations are avoided in the future.

We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to improve. As quality is always an on-going process, your remarks have been discussed with all concerned parties who will be most certainly working on improving in the areas as indicated in your review.

May we request you to please provide us some additional details e.g. your room number and contact details to our email intercontinental.daraltawhid@ihg.com so that we can get back to you directly.

We look forward to hearing back from you and with our assurance of unparalleled services, we hope to welcoming you back to our hotel soon to restore in confidence in us.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    52
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
234
57
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
arlington United state of America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

first of all I would like to thanks Dar al salaam company they choose a Ideal place for our stay in Makah its called Intercontinental Dar al tawhid. Its my first Hajj with family but its amazing specially Holy city holy people holy spirit. Then warmly welcome on Lobby with Fresh juices. Great Room service Housekeeping Staff time to time they come and checks our Room condition its proper clean and we enjoy with our breakfast and Dinner in Main Dining Restaurant its called I think AL Tayebat which is close to lady prayer hall. Morning time Dewan from Bangladesh he give us nice Indian Tea. fresh Eggs and tandoori bread excellent Breakfast also Dinner is tasty food there was not much more Asian food but around 2 dishes daily any how we enjoy with Arabic Culture food manager from Egypt dinner time came on table and ask time to time about food and service. also there is one more Pakistani Manager I think his name Raja wajid warmly welcome first day he ask room number then he knows our faces daily he welcome by magic word I love that's word such like nice dressing boss I feel I am coming in my office and office staff greeting me early morning. He is a funny and caring person. personally thanks to wajid raja. And reception staff polite specially Mr Ahmad muscle Saudi person daily he welcome on reception. finally next year I will come with my father and mother again and I will stay in your beloved hotel its my first choice coz staff is great and location is wowwwwwwwwww.thanks to all mention staff.

Room Tip: Room are outstanding and We stay Haram view. Rooms are full decorated and updated system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheikh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Sheikh,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and extremely happy to note that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It is indeed a great pleasure and sense of satisfaction for us to read your kind words highlighting our hotel services and singling out a few of our colleagues for their consistent great service during your stay.

Your comments have been shared with all these individuals and their department heads which will certainly motivate our entire team in going the extra miles.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah - “your home at the holy city”.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
335 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Reached the hotel at about 1 am from Jeddah after a 1.5-hr drive and a 6-hr flight delay from Doha. The reception is located on the first floor. We were absolutely dead tired by the time we reached the reception area. The staff at reception was friendly and proceeded to take our details for check in promptly. We liked this hotel as this is the nearest hotel to Masjidil Haram. Breakfast was good, room was clean and sleep comfort was good apart from the banging sounds of renovation work above our room during the day time. Otherwise, we couldn't fault our stay at the hotel. The hotel is also within 10 mins walking distance to the bus station where you can get tickets to go to Madinah.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naiza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Naiza,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and extremely happy to note that you had enjoyed our friendly services during your stay with us.

As for the renovation works, these are being carried out to enhance our guest facilities and services to deliver a great stay experience; we thank you for bearing this with us and certainly you will appreciate the renovated floors during your next visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah - “your home at the holy city”.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The biggest selling point of this hotel is it's location. Undeniably it is the closest hotel to the haram. The rooms are grand in style and decor. however saying that, the room in which we stayed in had a strong musty odour. There were stains on soft furnishings and the floor. The breakfast and dinner buffet were a total disappointment. although we paid for this and was part of our package we had to resort to eating outside. The rice and curry dishes were oily and tasteless. The cutlery was dirty, service in the restuarant was poor. There were flies in the restaurant ( found one in our food). Defiantly not worthy of a 5 star rating or the price they charge. I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HH199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Hasan,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent Haj pilgrimage and we wish you Hajj Mabrour.

While appreciating your taking the time to review our hotel please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. Meanwhile, we take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel has won the below awards in the recent years in terms of guest satisfaction, quality, health & safety.

- Ranked No.1 in guest satisfaction in IHG - India, Middle East & Africa Region during the year 2012 and continue to maintain the pace during 2013.
- Trip Advisor Travellers’ Choice Award 2013 ranking No. 1 in Luxury, Top Hotel and Best Service in Makkah
- Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2013
- E-Cristal Check Safety First Regional Awards Winner in the years 2010, 2011 and 2012 for achieving and maintaining highest level of health & safety standards and excelling amongst all participating establishments.

Our restaurant managers and duty managers are well trained in their jobs and efficient in amicably handling guest complaints. Had you addressed your concerns to any one of them, they would have been happier to resolve any issue to your satisfaction. As you have witnessed by yourself during your stay that we were running full-house with guests of different nationalities, our international buffet dishes consist of food dishes suiting to every taste and we received many positive guest comments appreciating the food taste and varieties.

As quality is always an on-going process, your remarks have been discussed with all concerned department heads who will be most certainly working on improving in the areas as indicated in your review.

We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon to restore your confidence in your hotel.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in Dar Al Tawhid from 1st oct to 8th oct 2013 during hajj season, everything there was so fantastic.. distance from haram, lifts, rooms, dining area, prayer area(mosque), staff, room services.. everything was perfect, upto the mark.. i believe no other hotels would be offering the same services in Makkah..
The only issue was in food, I belong to Pakistan and i failed to find Pakistani food through out my stay.. they offer 1 indian dish per meal which was not of my taste, even i could cook that better :P
Rest, 100% :)

Room Tip: i stayed on 7th floor, it was wonderful :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArsalanAhmed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your recent Haj pilgrimage and we wish you Hajj Mabrour.

We are extremely happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our hotel facilities and services.

Hajj group meals are offered as per the package the travel agents book for their guests; while our International Lunch or Dinner Buffets suite the taste of majority of the guests. Had you contacted one of our Restaurant Managers during your stay; they would have been happier to accommodate your request.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

hotel is excellent for a hajj or umrah journey. the rooms are comfortable. location is really the best, cannot be beaten. i found food and (surprisingly) laundry to be very expensive. other than that, nothing to complain about. will stay again if i return.

one slightly comical mystery though. the advertisement in the hotel elevator for the hotel day care facility had a notice 'delicious food not allowed'. i assume it was lost in translation and was meant to say 'outside food not allowed' however, thats not what the print said. wonder what happened there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mshahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. M. Shahdy,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Haj pilgrimage and we wish you Hajj Mabrour. We also appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regard to the restaurant meals and laundry prices, please be rest assured, our prices are not exaggerated and are in line with the rates offered by other international hotels in the Makkah market.

You have rightly pointed out the translation error and this will be rectified soon.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Daral Tawhid in our hajj journey in Mecca. First of all it is very close to the Haram. That's what you are looking for there. The dinner was lovely. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Very comfortable to stay. Would def recommend whoever is going for hajj or Umrah.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDubliner_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for your positive remarks. We are delighted to review your feedback regarding our rooms and dinner buffet and indeed glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#6 of 339 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 339 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#10 of 339 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#3 of 339 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Property: InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Address: Ibrahim Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid 5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah is located in front of the Holy Haram, giving most guests uninterrupted views of the city s religious centre. A number of holy shrines including the Jannat Al Moaalah Graveyard are a short walk or taxi ride away, as are the Touwah Well and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Tawhid Hotel Mecca
Intercontinental Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Tawhid Intercontinental
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing