We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Makkah”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Ranked #9 of 362 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Hotel in Makkah”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The location of this hotel will never be beaten. The service is great and the breakfast is amazing. The prayer room has a great view and useful during busy times. Better than Raffles and Fairmont in the Clock Tower. We booked via British Haj Travel in Preston.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sh0a1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Shoaib,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Haj pilgrimage and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and extremely happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah - “your home at the holy city”.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    56
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
263
59
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I was hoping to write a positive review on this hotel but I was shocked, the hotel is in desperate need for updating the staff training, renovation, cleaning cleaning cleaning & inspection from the IHG.

First, the positive points:
1. The location as it is the nearest hotel to the holy mosque.
2. Staff - most of them - were very Polite & helpful.
3. Breakfast is good not WOW I give it 7/10

Now, the negatives:
1. Rooms! I was upgraded to a suite as an ambassador member, but the room was extremely dirty & disgusting, full of insects & flies!. I even asked for a fly killer & sprayed the whole suite. Vacuuming the room is not in their routine until you ask for it !. I found terrible dirt from the previous guests!
2. Bathroom is not hygiene at all, who is still using a wc with a wooden seat for a hotel room?!? They don't clean the sink or the tub! & I found a beetle under the towel too.
3. Sofas, chairs, cushions, walls are full of stains & The cushions has an awful odor I don't know when the last time it was washed.
4. Our suite has a kitchen, an empty & dirty kitchen to be precise! How I suppose to utilize a kitchen without a single pan or plate or spoon or even a glass!!
5. Airport transportation, they will pick you up from the airport to the hotel in a nice car & on your return they will just bring a normal OLD (taxi) to drop you at the airport even if you book it one week in advance, don't bother to ask as you'll get no answer, I guess this is their routine which I call it a deception. I know that this as a rental car company but it serves the hotel guests & it should be more appropriate & professional than this! & it's not a free service.
6. Checking the minibar during the check out is an old way, very old way,
first they will ask: did you took anything from the minibar last night?
I answered: no. But of course they don't trust their guests ! so the reception will call the minibar team in front of the guest to go & check the mini bar !! & the guest has to wait at the reception in the middle of the check out process until the staff checks the mini bar, then they will continue with the check out !! I am speechless !!

Basically it was a painful experience & I am not staying their again. I was expecting a much decent place to stay beside the holy mosque & they ruined it totally. I must say: It is definitely not an intercontinental standard!!.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Jewel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr. / Ms. Jewel,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very sorry to hear about the unpleasant experiences you had during your stay. Appreciate if you can provide us some additional details i.e. your suite number and arrival / departure dates directly to our email intercontinental.daraltawhid@ihg.com so that we can carry out the necessary investigations and take appropriate corrective actions.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the key problems that you may face in any Hotel near to the Haram is the Elevators as they become very congested when its time to pray in this hotel the huge number of elevators they offer with a high speed you wont face this issue, also if you are looking for a luxury hotel with the shortest distance to the Haram then this is what u are looking for and this is very important because of the weather.
Note: if u need a room u have to make ur booking very early specially during the Haj and Ramadan seasons

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Mohamed,

Greetings from the Holy City of Makkah Al Mukarramah.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted to read your positive feedback.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

*warm welcome at arrival..
*fast &friendly check-in..
*very nice breakfast buffet..
*all staff are friendly& helpful ..
*nice location..
* very nice view to haram..
*fast response with orders..
*the internet is very perfect..
*nice in this hotel is kids club

Room Tip: High floor haram view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mansour,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

We are delighted to review your positive feedback regarding our hotel service, staff members, breakfast buffet and internet connection. It is very much inspiring to see that you had a great guest experience during your stay at our hotel.

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went for Omrah with my family, what a great hotel, very clean, well organized, special treatment for Ambassador program members. the staff at the reception was amazing. for the location you can't find a better hotel, its next to Haram.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Akram,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City. Whilst wishing you Umrah Mabroor, we are delighted to read your positive ratings and kind comments regarding our hotel facilities, services and loyalty recognition.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel and services. A step away from the Mosque..would not missed it....concierge was a great help getting around and house keeping by theIndonesians were great service.
Food selection were endless ......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REROTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We have gladly noted your positive comments appreciating the services rendered by our concierge and housekeeping team members.

Whilst wishing a Happy Eid for you and your loved ones, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards.


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during July 2013 and have to say that it must be the best Hotel in Mecca. The location is fantastic and the Haram is on your doorstep. The entrances to the Haram are easier to access than from anywhere else.It gets quite busy in front of the other hotels around the Haram and you have to walk through shopping complexes that can take some time if you are rushing for prayer. There are so many elevators in this hotel that we never waited more than 15 seconds for one. This means you can be in the Haram in less than 5 min from your room. The rooms are beautiful, clean and fairly spacious. Complimentary tea and coffee facilities, as well as water is provided and on arrival you receive a fresh fruit platter. The toiletries provided are also great quality.
Service....well sometimes in this part of the world you sense a lack of it but not at this hotel. From the breakfast area staff, to the cleaning staff, to the doorman and even the fly swatter are polite, kind and helpful. We travelled with a person in a wheelchair and there was always someone willing to assist us around the hotel. Breakfast has a decent selection of foods, but the pastry chef seems to have his good and bad days, cause the pastries were excellent some days and just plain boring on others, but this is a minor detail.
This hotel is truly 5 star and if you want the perfect trip, it money well worth spending.
Thank You to everyone at Dar Al Tawhid that made this trip perfect.
May Almighty grant you the opportunity to visit the Holy Land soon and make your trip a blessed one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KwazuluNatalSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Ramadan Kareem from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah as your preferred hotel during your recent visit to the Holy City; we wish you Umrah Mabroor.

We also take this opportunity of extending our profound gratitudes to you for taking the time to write your generous comments appreciating our hotel facilities and services. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet pastries have been communicated to our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure consistency.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Hotel
Makkah Hilton Hotel
#6 of 362 in Mecca
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 362 in Mecca
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 362 in Mecca
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 362 in Mecca
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 362 in Mecca
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Property: InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Address: Ibrahim Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid 5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah is located in front of the Holy Haram, giving most guests uninterrupted views of the city s religious centre. A number of holy shrines including the Jannat Al Moaalah Graveyard are a short walk or taxi ride away, as are the Touwah Well and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Tawhid Hotel Mecca
Intercontinental Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Tawhid Intercontinental
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing