We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are there words to really describe this hotel and experience?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
Ranked #9 of 364 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family from Medinah to Mekkah using land transport and after the long and tiring drive, we were amazed by this hotel in sacred city of Mekkah - this experience was filled with the great design/building materials/service/rooms and the convenience, location and value - yes, this hotel is pricier than the others - however, worth every penny paid. It is also situated directly in front of the King Fahd entrance of the sacred Masjid-Al-Haram - we stayed in rooms 106 and 107 - and the views we enjoyed is out-of-this-world. Whenever you visit the holiest city of Mekkah - this must be the place you have to check into.

Room Tip: Choose rooms like we had - the 106 or 107 - we did not have a direct view of the sacred Kaaba direct...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Hafizh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Hafizh P,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your positive remarks in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to review your feedback and indeed glad to see that you had a great guest experience during your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.



Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 457 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and two boys visited Makkah in April this year.
After an initial shock travelling from the airport, we were relieved to enter the hotel.
Although an impressive entrance, the concierge is extremely unprofessional (sadly lacks western etiquette).

Our room was nice but not sure if the beds were large single or smallest double?!
Outside view is horrendous but that is to be expected as the entire Makkah is under construction.
For a five star hotel the bathroom is terrible, mold that has been covered with the worst mentenance job :-/
The cleaner took or maybe threw our two bags full of biscuits,cakes and crips. When we complained they didn't even bother to apologise.

The room cosists mixture of cheap copy and expensive furniture, some of which are broken.
We liked the restaurant but the staff are not confident to advice on the menu.
We also experienced someone smoking in the restaurant...when we pointed this to the waiter, he nervously said he will tell us why later. Of course we didn't understand what he meant by that!!
So I got up and told her she shouldn't be smoking in a non smoking area.
She immediately put it out. Later before she left she apologised. I mention this incident is because the reason the management did not ask her not to smoke is because she was a "Princess".


Saying all there this it is perhaps the best hotel in Makkah and the closest to the Kabbah ( a minute walk).
All in all it's good but needs staff training in all aspects as well as etiquette (smiling does not kill!!!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SaraAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Mrs. Akhtar,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and have also noted your comments regarding some other aspects e.g. Concierge, Room Boys, Waiters, room furniture and bathroom. Your remarks have been discussed with all concerned department heads. Rest assured, we shall be working on improving these areas as indicated as well as staff training.

Thank you once again for your genuine comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon whereby you can notice the improvements.

Sincerely,


Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

amazing hotel, great design, easy access to floor so as nobody shares with u the lift nd directly with non stopping, high quality services, loved the keyboard near bed so u just press buttons nd u get the services, delicious food, very near location to haram. definitely i choose this hotel for my next 3omra inshalla.

Room Tip: "convenient room for 3omra"
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mimowehbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Ms. Wehbi,

Thank you for your review of our hotel in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and extremely happy to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is the best in location. That includes the service which is impecable satff are friendly well trained and we were welcomed as returning guest bearing in mind the volume of people that go through this hotel it was truly 5 star standard. The property is well maintained and the clean as always smells fresh. Overall, a luxurious hotel one that never faulers of service abd well trained staffa home from home feel.

Room Tip: Avoid city view rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for your positive remarks in the TripAvisor website.

We are delighted to read your positive feedback and indeed glad to see that our team members delivered memorable, authenticated and differentiated services in making your recent stay with us a truly great experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Me and my wife had an opportunity spend 3 nights in this hotel. This was a repeat visit as we have been here before. My view about the hotel got consolidated once again. It is definitely the best hotel to stay in Mecca. I have stayed in other brand names near the Haram, but this continues to top the list. The entire experience of checking in, delivery of luggage and the quality of the room, service---all superb. We arrived near Asr time by road from Medina, for our Umrah. Quality of room was excellent, good bed, comfy pillows, all amenities etc etc. Separate dressing and wardrobe area made the room very comfortable. We checked in, ordered some snacks in room service and proceeded to the Holy Mosque. Of course, location is just superb and you enter the mosque through the King Fahad gate which is right across from the hotel door. The lobby, restaurant, breakfast all were top notch. The number and the speed of elevators is very important as you want to proceed to the mosque near Salaat time. Excellent again, both quantity and quality. Wait for an elevator was hardly in seconds. The quality of wifi was again very good and available at all times. The only improvement I can think of is maybe having more fresh fruit cuts in the breakfast area, which used to be there earlier but not during this trip. Definitely the best hotel in Mecca!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank sainbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Mr. Basha,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City; we wish you Umrah Mabroor.

We highly appreciate your repeated patronage of our hotel and we are more than delighted to read your generous comments appreciating our hotel facilities and services.

Your comments regarding fresh fruit cuts for breakfast buffet has been conveyed to our food & beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The main criteria for us for a hotel in Makkah is always the location. The hotel is in its own building just 100 metres or so from the King Fahd gate of the haram. At the time of writing this review, it is arguably the closest hotel you can find to the haram and probably the most convenient for access. But note that new hotels are building built every day so things may change in time.

From room to the King Fahd gate takes roughly 5-6 minutes, walking at a moderate pace. That includes navigating the lifts, which unlike other hotels in Makkah and Madinah were a joy to use - there are plenty of them and we never had to wait more than a minute. Unlike the hotels in the complexes like Abraaj al Bait, you don't have to take multiple lifts or walk through shopping malls to get to your hotel room. Just straight down the lift and out the lobby into the haram plaza.

In my opinion, the King Fahd gate is one of the best entry points to the haram and offers a beautiful full face on view of the kabah.

In terms of the standard of the property and the rooms, 5 star hotels in Makkah and Madina tend to be equivalent to 4 star hotels elsewhere (or worse) but this hotel was truly 5 star standard. I have stayed at a number of other intercontinental (and other IHG) properties around the world, and can safely say this is one of the best I have experienced. Our standard double room was unusually large (I would guess at least 75 sq m) with a separate "make up room". Although the property is now several years old, it is well maintained and the overall effect, while classical rather than contemporary decor, still looks pretty good. We asked for a cot for our baby and were given a lovely classical wooden cot with clean and comfortable bedding inside - a nice touch.

The buffet breakfast was very good with a wide variety of the usual hot and cold items and some nice touches like fresh waffles and the obligatory omelet station. Just one out of the four juices on offer was fresh but that's probably better than most in Makkah/Madina.

Restaurant and lobby service was okay not stellar. Staff came across as responsive and friendly on the whole but I had to ask for a cappuccino 4 times at breakfast before (15 minutes later) being told that the service had just closed.

The hotel claims to offer a range of services like a kids club that (astoundingly to a British parent like myself) runs until 2am and offers spa services including a "luxurious massage".

Overall, a luxurious hotel but crucially one that offers excellent access to the haram. For me its the latter point that is crucial and the luxury is just a bonus (and hopefully not a distraction from the spiritual essence of the trip). But I got the sense from observing some of the clientele at this particular hotel, that the former might be equally important for them - perhaps the spa sold it to them? But then who I am to judge, maybe these people just have naturally glowing skin.

Room Tip: Ask for a haram/kabah view if you can but these usually cost a lot more. Personally, I'd rather...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank ak47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent Umrah trip; we wish you Umrah Mabroor.

We also take this opportunity to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write your generous comments appreciating our hotel facilities. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and indeed glad to see that you had a great experience during your stay at our hotel.. What can be more rewarding to us than a satisfied guest!

Our Food & Beverage Manager is disappointed that one of his associates has failed to deliver your cappuccino as requested and he has instructed the team to ensure such an incident doesn’t re-occur at any of our food service outlets with any guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope during your next stay you will experience our massage service to rejuvenate yourself after performing Umrah or just for a relaxing experience.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

in sha allah the best place on the face of the earth
I love to be here ,I have been here many times but the most important is the glorious house of allah the first house for the mankind
regards
nawab ikramullah khan

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
23  Thank Nawab IkramUlla... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Al_Tawhid_IHC, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Your Eminency,

Greetings from Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

We are delighted to read your feedback here that you love Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah.

Thanking you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel – Your Home at the Holy City.

Kind regards.



Guest Relations Manager
Dar Al Tawhid InterContinental Makkah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 364 in Mecca
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 364 in Mecca
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Hotel
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 364 in Mecca
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Makkah Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid

Address: Ibrahim Al Khalil Road | P.O. Box 2728, Makkah, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#25 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $232 - $837 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid 5*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah is located in front of the Holy Haram, giving most guests uninterrupted views of the city s religious centre. A number of holy shrines including the Jannat Al Moaalah Graveyard are a short walk or taxi ride away, as are the Touwah Well and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dar Al Tawhid Hotel Mecca
Intercontinental Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Tawhid Intercontinental
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing