We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Californian visitors”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Meridien Makkah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Makkah
Ranked #22 of 343 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Californian visitors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here this year as we travelled for Umrah. Upon our arrival the front desk could not find our reservation and took their time in finding our bookings. On our 2nd night while jetlaged we were woken up by the night-shift manager at 2:00 am, because he didn't think we had paid and asked that we pay for the room cash(even though they had our credit card number at the time of our checking, this was so very strange and we had never experienced such a thing anywhere). Rooms are small and walls very thin. You can hear any conversation from the adjacent rooms. Room service is not good and the food they bring to the room is in small quantities that is certainly not enough to feed one person for the price they charge. It takes for ever to deliver food to the room and by then the food is very cold...and for everything workers expect a tip. Certainly we will not stay here again.
Room eminities are clean though and the beds are comfortable. About 5 minutes walking distance to the haram and you will have to cross a very busy traffic street that is also very dirty to get to the hotel. The hotel rooms overlook the kings's palace and view of the street. They serve a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMakkah, Manager at Le Meridien Makkah, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay in Le Meridien Makkah and for taking the time to rate us here. Your feedback is highly appreciated, especially knowing that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay. We took serious note of your disappointment with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    63
    24
    9
    12
See reviews for
83
34
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Khobar
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Great location, good service, easy access to HARAM through king Abdulaziz gate. Excellent breakfast.

Good value for money compared with near hotels.

One drawback is that the road to hotel is a bit steep which somehow difficult especially for old people.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faylasof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMakkah, Manager at Le Meridien Makkah, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and this give us a pleasure of encourage to do more better services to all our valuable guests.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Le Meridien Hotel Makkah and it will be our pleasure to serve you.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 27April 2011 for 9 nights.

The hotel is about 400 yards from the Haram entrance --- well positioned and convenient for prayer.

The staff especially the non Arab staff were very attentive and our needs were well catered for.Any requests were quickly and efficiently catered for.The rooms are well appointed and have the usual amenities except for an in room ironing board and coffee facilities.The rooms do have a fridge and electronic safe which is very convenient.

Breakfast is well presented and more than adequate.

The only area really lacking is a lack of Wi Fi in the rooms ---- there is a business centre on the top floor but it the reception about half an hour to find the key for it and when they did the internet was not working properly.

For the price the hotel is good value and I would not hesitate to use it again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rahims111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienMakkah, Manager at Le Meridien Makkah, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to know we have fully connected with your expectations and indeed created a memorable hotel experience for you.

Thank you very much for recognizing Le Meridien Makkah. We appreciate your wonderful feedback on your experience while staying with us.

Spiral offers a wide variety of international dishes and we are very glad that you enjoyed the breakfast.

Meanwhile; should you need further assistance please feel free to contact us directly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your at Le Meridien Makkah.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Very nice hotel near haram stayed here for ten nights,will be back soon

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is five minutes from the Haram. VERY clean rooms and they've added an extra bed at no extra charges. For 380 SAR you get a double room looking right at the Haram, very quite and exquisite breakfast buffet. People are very helpful and always with a smile especially those at the restaurant. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank halafarouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We booked this hotel at the last minute directly via thier website. We booked a king size bed with an extra bed/cot for our 7 year old - the staff happily provided this at no extra cost.

Check in was very smooth, it took us about 10 minutes to complete the paperwork and get to our room. Once there, we were provided with complimentary bottles of water, which was a nice gesture.

Our room (including the bathroom) was very clean, and the linens and towels smelled fresh. We could see one minaret and some of the courtyard in front of King Abdul Aziz gate from our room. The AC was silent and very effective. There was a lcd/plasma tv, unfortunatley there weren't any kids channels or english news/sports channels. Also, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but there is a fridge.

It took me about 8-10 minutes to go from my room (on the 13th floor) to take up my place for Salaah in the Masjid. From the main entrance of the hotel to the courtyard of the haram is about 4-5 minutes.

The breakfast was excellent, with a good variety buffet (including freshly prepared omlettes), as well as fresh fruit and fruit juice (not diluted).

All the staff were very friendly, especially the bell boys, the waiters, house keeping and also maintenance. I agree with some previous comments that the reception staff need to speak better english.

Overall I would say that we had an excellent stay, and would definitely recommend Le Meridien Makkah (not to be confused with Le Meridien Towers) to others .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_travelling_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kooltraveller, Manager at Le Meridien Makkah, responded to this review, July 11, 2010
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to express our sincere “thanks” for your kind comments with regards to your stay at the property. Your valuable comments provide us the insights to improvise on our services. As commented, we’ll definitely look into the possibility of adding kids channels or english news/sports channels in our in-room channel guide.
Due to safety concerns of the pilgrims we do not provide tea/coffee making facilities in the room but it is compenstaed through a complimentary voucher offering tea/coffee service at the hotel’s Mazaj cafe (lobby) and can be found in the discovery envelope in the room.
Thank you, once again for your review and we are very happy to acknowledge that you’ve enjoyed your stay at the Le Meridien Makkah and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in the holy city of Makkah.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for Umrah on 13th April for 4 Nights.1st of all we arrived early in the morning At 3.00 am but the regular check in time was 3.00pm.So at the reception the staff told us u can early check in after performing Umrah.So we checked in at 7.00 am + We got 1 room upgraded to Haram View.The breakfast was Nice .Rooms were nice & comfy.

The hotel is Just at 4-5 mins of walking distance to Haram (king abdul aziz gate).
Please check the Photos

Over All it was excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simplyme99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.3 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 343 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Dar Al Eiman
Royal Dar Al Eiman
#16 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Makkah

Property: Le Meridien Makkah
Address: King Abdulaziz Road | Ajyad Area, Mecca 13700 , Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Makkah Hotel is only 150 meters away from the King Abdul Aziz gate and overlooks the holiest place on earth, Al Haram. The hotel's immediate location on King Abdul Aziz St. provides convenient access to the Masjid Al-Haram and other Holy locations in Mina and Arafat. The proximity of Makkah Haram gives you spirituality and high satisfaction. The hotel features 255 wonderful guest rooms & suites providing luxurious accomodation and an impressive view of the Al Haram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Makkah Hotel Mecca
Le Meridien Mecca
Le Meridien Hotel Makkah
Mecca Le Meridien
Le Meridien Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing