We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Ranked #9 of 369 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed from 10th till 11th January, 2013 in the grand suite. The most horrible experience of my life and i'm a regular visitor to the hotels of the surrounding area.

I arrived after driving 15 hours from Al Khobar to the hotel and only one guy was available for check-in of 10 people. After 15-20 minutes of system search the front desk staff told me that the system has not been updated (i booked through booking.com) and you have to go to our finance department and ask them to update the system. After 20 minutes with finance the system was updated and i was giving access to the room.

One of the bath room was flooded with sewage water with horrible smell. I called the front desk, floor manager, house keeping but no body picked up the phone for 30 minutes. Finally operator picked up and said that he will send some one. No body arrived and i left for Umrah. On my return I again tried to call but no body picked up the phone. I went to the lobby to find one Indian origin guy acting as the floor manager, he showed no interest and seemed occupied with too many issues, but said that some one will come to the room.

After 30 more minutes a plumber arrived and after looking at the bathroom said that its a long job and he will close the wash room. I tried to call the front desk/floor manager/house keeping, but no body picked up the phone. I called booking.com and they talked with some staff in the hotel who told them that we will change the room immediately. But no body called me for any thing. When my family used the second bathroom it also started to flood and smell of sewage water filled the room. I was extremely tired to go through the horror of contact staff and i checked out the next morning where the front desk staff was so busy dealing with 5 customers at a time that he just looked at me on my complaint and carried on with his work. The front office manager was no where to be found.

The room was also not of a 2 star standard. Furniture had scratches, lamps were broken, walls had tea and drinks spots, tv was not working, windows had too much mud, and the room temperature device was not working as well making it extremely cold.

I would NEVER EVER STAY in Zamzam EVER nor RECOMMEND ANY ONE.
HORRIBLE STAFF AND HORRIBLE HOTEL. Dar-ul-Gufran/Safwa Tower next to them are way better on any given day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AsifMS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Atittude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

I have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us and would like to apologies for not reaching your expectations. I was very disappointed to see that your expectations were not met. I am very concerned about that as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We also assure you that we will be taking steps to insure such occurrence will not be repeated in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to ensure your future stays at ZamZam Pullman Makkah to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 974 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My father could not find any other hotel so we had to book Zamzam.We arrived at 3:30 from Jeddah but we got to know that the chck in time was 5:00.There were about 3 more large families who by the look on their faces were furious.We finally got a room but it was a four small bed room and there was barely space to walk.After doing Umrah we returned to our hotel.We lay down on their beds but they were as hard as bricks.It was 12:00 in the night but my father (who by the way is schawlaf on tripadvisor) did not care what the time was,he rushed to the main desk for a new room. He returned with a new room five minutes later.This room was larger and had two twin beds which were soft.
On our last day we called for a porter but after twenty minutes no porter came.We ended up getting our bags down to the lobby.My father scolded them in English and wrote an angry review on tripadvisor which you can view by the name of the writer schawlaf.

Room Tip: A word of advice,do not take Zamzam when you go to Makkah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tahafarhan932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

I have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us and would like to apologies for not reaching your expectations. I was very disappointed to see that your expectations were not met upon check in. I am very concerned about that as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We also assure you that we will be taking steps to insure such occurrence will not be repeated in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to ensure your future stays at ZamZam Pullman Makkah to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is the worst hotel ever,The reception were very rude and they don't treat people in a good way ,we reach the hotel at 2pm coming from madinah and we were shocked that the check in time is 5pm not 2 pm so we did umrah and i return to hotel at 5pm ,I booked a 2 rooms suite but they told me there is no suites available and they will give 2rooms instead,I refused the 2 rooms and I insist on the suite but they said this what we have, there is no suites and many guest were facing the same problems ,how come I pay too much money for small room which have no water no tea no iron and the bathroom was disaster, also if u call them they don't pick up the phone and when they will talk to u, u should wait a day and half and call them hundred times to get what u want ,when I asked for iron they asked me how many minute u need the iron ..?!! I think they have 1 iron only .
Bad bad bad hotel ever

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nasser777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

I have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us and would like to apologies for not reaching your expectations. I was very disappointed to see that your expectations were not met upon check in. I am very concerned about that as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We also assure you that we will be taking steps to insure such occurrence will not be repeated in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to ensure your future stays at ZamZam Pullman Makkah to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is located within one of the seven towers of the Abraj Al Bait Complex which is just across from the Haram and is its plus point. The room and the washrooms including toiletries were OK but not upto five star hotel standards as compared to another five star facility within the same complex where I stayed for the next night with my accompanying family. To reach the underground parking area is impossible for a traveler unless he knows the area and also parking is at a high price, Breakfast buffet was included in the room rent and had ample variety. Although it was off-season, yet the reception area was crowded and there were only two staff at the reception counter out of which one indicated that he cannot speak or understand English. This resulted in a long wait for check in as only one of the two staff could speak English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Qaulity & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

I have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us, I would Like to thank you for alerting us to this. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service, and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Currently staying here. My agent booked a suite for me for Umrah but when I arrived at 4 pm I was rudely told ' Room is dirty check in after 5' all cause I am a Pakistani while the Arabs were handled immaculately. I had to call my agent and when I went back again with reservation number, the ' suite' I was given , room 144, was more like v army barracks with 4 beds side by side and no room to walk . The bath shower drain was broken and I had to insert an amenity bottle under it for it to operate.
I went to reception to change and made to run from counter to counter , I was in Ahram had to perform my Umrah , but to no avail and after a while I gave up.
Mr and my family returned to the room at 12am extremely tired and when I lied on the bed it was akin to lying on bricks it was that hard.
I again went to the reception and after much persuasion and threats that I will write to Pullman Head Office was moved to room 607 a twin , with the promise that the third bed will be sent soon. Well a night and a day has passed the third bed hasn't arrived . The front desk is you busy to listen to my request so hence the review
Any Pakistani or any one from sub continent planning to stay here remember to leave your dignity outside as you will be treated like crap , will be lied to and eventually cheated from what you have reserved all at the Holiest place for Muslims.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank schawlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Qaulity & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

I have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us and would like to apologies for not reaching your expectations. I was very disappointed to see that your expectations were not met upon check in. I am very concerned about that as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We also assure you that we will be taking steps to insure such occurrence will not be repeated in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to ensure your future stays at ZamZam Pullman Makkah to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

When I got to the hotel, I did not find booking
Media was that the booking had been canceled for non-payment
While the confirmation message has been sent to by you
After I came back attempts with the hotel booking was returned
Unfortunately, I did not expect this service

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALTUWAITAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Qaulity & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We have noted your comments regarding your last stay with us and would like to apologies for not reaching your expectations. I am very concerned about that as it is definitely not the genuine service we strive to deliver. We also assure you that we will be taking steps to insure such occurrence will not be repeated in the future. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to ensure your future stays at ZamZam Pullman Makkah to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for two days. This hotel is huge. Lots of options on rooms. Staff is very helpful and polite. The location cannot be beat at the moment till something new comes up. They have a decent mall on the ground levels as well as food court, open 24 hours. The only issue I had with the stay was not caused by the hotel but when I booked the room from bookings.com. They misinformed us about the breakfast being included in our room rate. The first 5 days we had to eat outside as on the booking form the breakfast was not includ

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osamalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham K, Quality & Attitude Manager at Pullman ZamZam Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

‘Thank you very much for the positive comments. It’s always encouraging when customers acknowledge the good work of our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Towers
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 369 in Mecca
1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 369 in Mecca
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman ZamZam Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman ZamZam Makkah

Address: Abraj Al Bait Complex | King Abdel Aziz Endowment, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#19 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $106 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman ZamZam Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 1315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ZamZam Pullman Makkah stands as a distinctive landmark in Makkah, located in the spectacular new Abraj Al Bait complex, directly adjoining Masjid Al Haram and the holy Kaaba in the very heart of Makkah facing King Abdulaziz gate. This masterpiece offers the finest hospitality in Makkah, having 1315 elegantly appointed rooms and suites with extravagant amenities, two contemporary dining options and five-star-deluxe services filled with spirituality while enjoying direct views over the holy Kaaba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pullman ZamZam Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman ZamZam Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing