We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location and Great Hotel”
Review of Dar Al Ghufran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Al Ghufran
Ranked #4 of 362 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb Location and Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed at Al-Gurfran for 1 week recently in December. This is five star hotel and so close to Al-Haram. It is so convenient to go back and forth to Al-Haram any time of the day. Short walk from lobby down few escalators and you are just outside al-Haram.
My room on 11th floor is spacious, good bedding and large bathroom. My other family members’ room on 3rd floor is smaller though.
Excellent breakfast spread and great lunch and dinner buffet. Overall service is what you expected from 5 star hotel with daily change of linens and daily replenishment of room amenities. People are friendly, efficient and they make everything hassle free for their guests. No waiting at lifts either.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyraElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    164
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
434
95
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fairly tolerable hotel; booked it for its proximity to the Haram.
Had booked a quad room but was given a cramped 3-bedroom and informed that an extra bed would be placed in the room. on our objection, were given a larger room (again 3-bed with extra bed, but slightly more spacious). The room had a faintly dank smell to it; as though the drains were blocked; it it weren't for this, I could have rated this a hotel a 4.
Breakfast menu was delightful. Staff were courteous and polite always. There were plenty of lifts in the hotel, ensuring that you were not stuck at prayer times waiting for lifts.
Would probably stay there again; if I got a room that was clean and smelled fresh. I must put in a word again for the staff - all of whom without exception - were always helpful and polite with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveistanbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We choose that hotel because its short distance from harm its about 100 m to reach el mataf. It was also clean with good furnished rooms. The reception staff was nice & helpful they gave us room with good view but they didn't have rooms with harm view. the food was quite good. The elevators were fast & with big space.

Room Tip: the rooms in highest floor & on right side when you face harm more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aomario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Closest proximity to Haram by being located in Safwa Tower. Lift and lobby not crowded (unlike ZamZam hotel). Nice IDs, relatively bigger room and bathroom. Friendly staff. Lots of restaurants one floor down the escalator, and also shops.

It's our favourite hotel. We always check-in here while in Makkah as it's one of the cheapest 5-star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abfasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked a room here on relatively short notice and got a pretty good deal, so the rates are reasonable for Makkah standards. The reception desk is not easy to find if you haven't been there before. You have to enter the white building to the left of the clock tower building and go up the escalator 2 levels and then walk to the very end of the hallway. Dar al Ghufran is the last hotel in the line.

The location is quite convenient for fast access to masjid al haram. The rooms are very small and quite cramped. It was clean though, so that was a major plus point. The breakfast was NOT nice at all. The food was stale tasting and very plain. The staff was not very friendly and the restaurant was too small to host all the guests. We got there quite early and it was crowded to the point where you couldn't move without bumping in to people.

Overall, not a terrible experience but I have experienced much better in Elaf or Rotana. I'd probably only stay here again if it was a last resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joowantitjoogotit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Excellent location ( about 300 m) to holy mosque.
freindly staff.
amazing breakfast restaurant.
in the same buildin theher a markedt in the tow foor including many shops, alot of restaurants in the third floor.
room size is big, there are a coffee kitewith tow bottle of water daily free.
first day the room cleaning was delay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unique_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location to the Masjidil Haram. Depending on the time of day, it took me just 10mins to walk to the masjid. Foodwise, it was good and the staff - especially the kitchen staff - friendly. Lots of varieties to choose from. Our room was clean when we checked in but not cleaned on a daily basis; I guess you have to request them to clean and make the beds for you. There is wi-fi too. For those who want to shop after completing their ibadah, shops are aplenty as the hotel is located in the 'shopping area'. Left, right, front, back, shops are everywhere. If you are unwell and need some aspirins, for example, there is a pharmacy and for emergency cases (I had severe diarrhoea) there is a hospital on the ground floor. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safelyours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.3 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 362 in Mecca
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 362 in Mecca
1,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 362 in Mecca
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.2 mi away
Makkah Hilton Hotel
Makkah Hilton Hotel
#6 of 362 in Mecca
887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 362 in Mecca
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Ghufran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Ghufran

Property: Dar Al Ghufran
Address: Ajyad Street | Safwa Towers, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Al Ghufran 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Holy Mosque, in front of the King Abdulaziz gate, Dar Al Ghufran offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of Makkah, it features a restaurant. Dar Al Ghufran Hotel Makkah has luxuriously decorated rooms, with well-selected rich fabrics. Each air-conditioned room has views of Holy Mosque or the striking city skyline, and a TV. Guest can start their day with a breakfast buffet, before relaxing in the hotel’s lobby with the high ceilings. The buffet restaurant serves local dishes. Jeddah Airport is 74 km away. Hotel Rooms: 324 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Al Ghufran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Ghufran Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Ghufran Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing