We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost couldn't get any better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Al Ghufran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Al Ghufran
Ranked #5 of 343 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost couldn't get any better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel great location (just didn't like the bottle neck after prayers at the entrance of the haram) great breakfast great staff and most of all so so blessed to be here in this magical place alittle pricey but with small children I will 100% stay here again without a doubt the only thing is I would rate it no more than 4 stars rather than 5 but then again it's not European standards so am more than happy I chose this hotel it's alittle hard to find if you haven't been before as this was my 3rd time it was alittle easier I did my homework before I went so was able to locate it the 1st time

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mshariff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    147
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
392
84
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My stay in this hotel was excellent.very nice and clean hotel and all staff is very helpful.Mr Ali the front desk manager and Naïf at reception are very good people.they helped me all the way every day.we booked four rooms.breakfast was very nice.very close to haram even you can perform your salah in your hotel.Mr Naeem the cleaning supervisor is very good man too,I will 100% go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamilbutt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at Dal al Ghufran. Great service and facility. Convenient location. Easy access to haram and prayer hall. Breakfast has a lot of choices for everyone. Staff was very helpful. Definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaveedQureishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four days in early March 2013. Check-in was very smooth. We had a double room. It was very clean and had spacious bathroom. Guests had free internet access. There were two computers in the business centre which we could use anytime. Breakfast was good - lots of options. It tended to be busy straight after fajr. I usually slept after fajr and came to eat at 9am when it was a lot quieter.

The hotel sits above a shopping mall. There are several shopping floors and one entire floor for food outlets. The food outlets were reasonably priced. You could find fast food, Indian curries, Malaysian food etc. It was really handy having the food outlets so close to the hotel as you get tired from walking a lot when going to Mecca so it's nice knowing you only need to pop downstairs to eat a meal. One thing that was a bit strange was that there were no shops in the mall that sold black abaya/jilbab dresses. You could find these shops in the shopping mall next door though (beneath the clock tower building).

The main reason I chose this hotel was because of its close proximity to the haram. You couldn't really get any closer. It still takes time to get into the haram though. I went for umrah and hoped it would be quieter than hajj. I was very wrong. It was very busy, I think at least 1 million people. Also, you should note that there is a lot of construction taking place around the haram at the moment. There is a large prayer room in the hotel which is connected to the prayers in the haram so you can do you prayer from there, but obviously when you are in the Mecca you want to pray as close as possible to the kaba. This room is useful for elderly/disabled people or those with young children.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tam1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checking was very swift and pleasant. The room was standard and the bed very comfortable. I would suggest they put a clock and prayer mat in the rooms.The concierge & bellboys were very helpful. They always kept the lifts ready especially during the salaah time. Haram was just 5 minutes away and even though we had to use 2 lifts it was very quick. Housekeeping was a big disappointment! I stayed for 10 days and the room wasn't hoovered even once, the table in the room was never wiped. The amenities in the bathroom was never replaced. Please take hair conditioner as this was not provided. There was tea making facilities in the room but they didn't refill the tea bags and sugar. We asked for spoons a few times, as they didn't keep it with the mugs in the room, but never got one. One day I called for clean cups and a member of staff came and rinsed the cups in my bathroom!! The fridge was smelly and useless. Generally the housekeeping staff were lazy and incompetent! Breakfast was a major let down! There was hardly any choice, no fruits, waffles or pancakes. Only an egg station and rice, dal, liver and sometimes samosas or nuggets, limited selection of bread & pastries. Breakfast was a disaster and the staff in the restaurant rude!! Breakfast was until 10:30 but even if you went at 10:00 most of the items would be finished and at 10:45 they would switch off the lights in the restaurant even if you are still having your breakfast!!! They really need to learn hospitality! I would suggest you take cutlery if you plan to stay in this hotel as they ran out of spoons in breakfast as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ureyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had a booking for two double rooms.
I asked for double bed when booking but it seems they don't have this option for double room and I should go for suite which is more expensive.
Generally rooms are not that big. One of the rooms I booked was very small.
There is no signage showing where the hotel is located so you should ask people and do some searching in order to find the hotel entrance. You have to take two elevators in order to reach your room, didn't know the reason.
Check in was very fast and helpful.
Personnel were very helpful and pleasant.
The breakfast is not a 5* hotel breakfast; I was waiting for much better and more varieties of food.
We were disturbed with the sound of the outside AC plants located around the hotel, plus the sound of the AC unit inside the room which is noisy even at low speed compared to other 5* hotel.
I think I won't book in this hotel for next time, because I will be looking for better 5* hotel located all around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrghaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were here for Umrah. The hotel is only a 2-minute walk to the Masjid!

We were booked into a room for two. It was very spacious. In addition to the bed, there was also a sofa bed, so another person could share this room. It was also clean. There are speakers in the room so you definitely won't miss any of the athan, unless you choose to turn it off.

We had all our meals at the hotel. The food was delicious!

The hotel staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

We had a wonderful time here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Ezria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.2 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 343 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 343 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Ghufran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Ghufran

Property: Dar Al Ghufran
Address: Ajyad Street | Safwa Towers, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Al Ghufran 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Holy Mosque, in front of the King Abdulaziz gate, Dar Al Ghufran offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi. Located in the heart of Makkah, it features a restaurant. Dar Al Ghufran Hotel Makkah has luxuriously decorated rooms, with well-selected rich fabrics. Each air-conditioned room has views of Holy Mosque or the striking city skyline, and a TV. Guest can start their day with a breakfast buffet, before relaxing in the hotel’s lobby with the high ceilings. The buffet restaurant serves local dishes. Jeddah Airport is 74 km away. Hotel Rooms: 324 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Al Ghufran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Al Ghufran Hotel Mecca
Dar Al Ghufran Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing