We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel itself is not too bad, though the distance from the the Masjid Al-Haram makes it it a bad choice for a hotel specially with the terrible transport in the city of Mecca. It also advertises the availability of a WiFi internet which is rather poor or non-existent! If you want an easier way to do your prayers, then find a closer hotel! Room service is good but housekeeping is not. Front desk people are OK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zgoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarem H, Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear Mr. Zgoul- , First of all , we would like to thank you so much for choosing Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel to be your preferred destination during your stay in the Holly Makkah and we were so pleased and so glad for being at your service during your journey !. we would like to apologize for inconvenience you may faced during your stay related to as explained in your comments you wrote in our Public Page . However we would like to reassure your good self that all your valuable feedback had been already communicated to all concerned Departments and we already took all necessary measurement and adequate actions to avoid such discrepancy in future related . Our Wi-Fi alreadu up-graded ,Housekeeping well briefed and developed, and that Makarem Umm Al Qura Hotel’s team will continue to provide our best service and comfort you have been accustomed to, and meeting your satisfaction will be our constant mission ! . Looking forward to welcome you in the near future in your Second Home "Makarim Umm Alqura Hotel!. Best Regards . Room Division Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very bad very poor hotel
un clean room
bad staf - un orgnise transport
very very bad hotel. Room's not clean
food not good.this is the first and the last
time in this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank mohammad a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a pretty new hotel with neat and clean rooms, lobby & elevators. The location is not far from Masjid Al Haram (Ka'aba) and their complimentary shuttle service is outstanding. Every 5 minutes there's a shuttle and we never had to wait at any point (to or fro) for the shuttle bus and we always found it readily available. The staff is very friendly and takes very good care of you. The hot buffet breakfast was also very nice, both continental and oriental tastes were available.

Room Tip: Their regular rooms doesn't have King bed, so either you reserve a suite or otherwise ask the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agha Faraz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_nashat, General Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback and We are looking forward to welcome you in Makarim Umm AlQura Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

1. The front desks, the Egyptian guys, are so rude. They do not even want to talk to you during checking in and when you have any concern.
2. The internet was off for my staying (3 nights). In fact the Wi-Fi connection is on, by it is not connected to the internet. When I discuss this issue, the supervisor made fun of me that there is no difference between Wi-Fi connection and internet connection.
3. This hotel is generally severs some nationalities such as Iranians, and they discriminate the other guest. They did not allow my family to enter one dining hall and forwarded us to other one, next day the reversed the action and so on…
4. The room kept for three days without cleaning.
5. Generally, we paid SAR 500/night ($135) for the room and the sevices, but based on the above comments, it deserve less than (200 SAR/night). This because, as a guest for 3 days, I do not need the ultra cleaning elevators, front desk, etc.. but to have at least 2-stare services.

Room Tip: Avoid interaction with the people on the front desk, specially the Egyptian ones. Just advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiyadhDammam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarem H, Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2016

Dear Mr. Riyadh- , First of all , we would like to thank you so much for choosing Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel to be your preferred destination during your stay in the Holly Makkah and we were so pleased and so glad for being at your service during your journey !. we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may faced during your stay as explained in your comments you wrote in our Public Page . However we would like to reassure your good self that all your valuable feedback had been already communicated to all concerned Departments and we already took all necessary measurement and adequate actions to avoid such discrepancy in future , and that Makarem Umm Al Qura Hotel’s team will continue to provide our best service and comfort you have been accustomed to, and meeting your satisfaction will be our constant mission ! . Looking forward to welcome you in the near future in your Second Home "Makarim Umm Alqura Hotel!. Best Regards . Room Division Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

In general it's good hotel but it's location is little bit far from Haram. But i will ask my friends to come to this hotel during Umrah ISA

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Ahmed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a_nashat, General Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback and We are looking forward to welcome you in Makarim Umm AlQura Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is located about 1700m from Al-Masjid Al-Haram but has free shuttle buses to transport visitors between the hotel and Al-Masjid Al-Haram approximately every five to ten minutes 24hrs a day.

Although it is categorized as a 5 stars hotel, it does not even reach a 4 star rank.
I went with my family and friends for Omrah trip and as we arrived around 8 pm we had to carry our bags into the hotel since no one came to carry them for us.

The check in was smooth and easy and our room was at the 6th floor. Room was spacious and clean with soft beds and white sheets. but it has a small window that is facing a big building.
Breakfast was fine, not much varieties but was not bad.

Free wireless internet was available at the lobby. Although there was a small welcome note indicating the presence of free cable internet at the room, it was not available, they claimed it was broken down.

Room service was terrible, we had to call them several times every day to clean room or change towels.
Other than that, and as for an overall review, it is not bad and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sugarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakaremHotels, Front Office Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Greetings from Makarem Umm AlQura Hotel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be
meet upon arrival. On behalf of Umm Al Qura management we thanked for appreciating our services. In future we make sure to provide you our best of services at all times.
Remarkable hospitality service are Umm Al Qura Hotel top priorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Although the hotel is categorized by the Saudi tourist authority as a five star Hotel, it is not really at that standard, I would give it 3 - 4 stars.
Despite that one of our twoo booked rooms was not ready when we arrived at 17:00, Check in was smooth, and the 3 level underground parking is a blessing, especially considering the parking rushin Makkah. Bus shuttle is arranged to an from the Grand mosque. But the trafic make it a bit unpleasant, especially during rush seasons.
The occupants of our neighboring room put their waist just next to our door in a plastic bag, where dirty diapers could be seen, when we came back after more then three hours the waist was still there.
With a bit of patience the stay was considered ok, but don't expect 5 star service!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakaremHotels, Front Office Manager at Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Greetings from Makarem Umm AlQura Hotel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.
Your input, and the feedback is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be
meet upon arrival. On behalf of Umm Al Qura management we thanked for appreciating our services. In future we make sure to provide you our best of services at all times.
Remarkable hospitality service are Umm Al Qura Hotel top priorities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
2.2 mi away
Makarem Al-Bait Hotel
Makarem Al-Bait Hotel
#31 of 366 in Mecca
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
0.0 mi away
Casablanca Takamul Hotel
Casablanca Takamul Hotel
#150 of 366 in Mecca
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Styles makkah
Ibis Styles makkah
#24 of 366 in Mecca
12 reviews
2.0 mi away
Elaf Kinda Hotel
Elaf Kinda Hotel
#19 of 366 in Mecca
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
#21 of 366 in Mecca
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel

Address: Ajyad Street | P.O. Box 7020, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $44 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makarim Umm AlQura Hotel is located in The Holy City of Makkah Al-Mukarramah situated in Ajyad Street, and is only 5 minutes drive to Haram by hotel courtesy shuttle service available around the clock. Umm AlQura Makarim Hotel is a modern 12-storey building encompassing 336 rooms and suites, all feature central air-conditioning, electronic door locks, electronic safe boxes, hospitality tray offering complimentary tea, coffee and healthy herbs, iron & ironing board, international direct dialing phones, high speed internet connection port, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, 32” LCD TV with major satellite channels, mini fridge, handicapped rooms, praying mats and Umrah & Hajj guide booklet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing