We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 364 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on February 23-26 for a religious purpose (umra). The hotel is only five minutes walk to Haram Mosque. So, it is very convenient for us to do five times a day prayer. The hotel is also adjacent to Abraj Al Bait Mall. So, if you want to taste local foods, you will just need to go to P3 level of the mall. There should be plenty of choices there. You can buy local snacks in the mall for you to eat and or bring home as a gift for your family and or friends. The hotel security is tighter than most hotels because the Royal Family likes to stay there. The room is not only spacious enough, but also very modern and luxurious. The internet connection is very strong; no complain this time. We tried three restaurants: Mazaq (for snacks and light bites), Atyaf (buffet, mostly Middle Eastern foods) and Aja (Asian foods). They are all ok, especially lunch buffet at Atyaf. The service however is not consistent. Good service for lunch and dinner, but poor service for breakfast. The staffs in breakfast is like hesitant to serve. I know it is buffet and I know they are busy, but isn't it their job to serve the guests? One cook even amazingly refused to do my request of having soft-boiled eggs. It is actually a very easy task!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWS66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear BWS66

Greeting From Makkah!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about our hotel and how convenient the location is for our guests. We are happy to know that you found our rooms modern and luxurious . please accept our sincerest apologies for any lapse in service standards at Atyaf restaurant. We have discussed this with the restaurant manager who will be exploring the incident further to ensure it doesn't happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel in the future

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
There are newer reviews for Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here for one night in March 2013 for Umrah.
Service was ok - not really 5-star, but then this is Saudi.
Room was fantastic. Kaaba view. Bathroom and amenities world class.
Breakfast was great. Couldnt ask for more.
Haram proximity excellent

Room Tip: Ask for Haram view if you want to see the Kaaba.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Nabil A
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about our hotel and how convenient the location is for our guests. We are happy to know that you found our rooms Fantastic and breakfast is great! We shall be looking forward to be your host during your next visit to the Holy city.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We went with satia hajj tours. We received a double room, with a small view of the haram.

POSITIVES: really nice hotel, there must be over 200 items in the breakfast buffet, also eggs freshly cooked how you want. fresh breads made on the day. great room service and really polite hotel workers, with good english speaking. very clean and modern,
NEGATIVES: It took me a while to understand the lift system. you have to get one lift from shopping centre to hotel lobby, then another one to the rooms, so it can take a while to get to your room. Our toilet in the room was a bit smelly and the room service guy really cleaned it well everyday, but its not his fault it still smelt bad. I think there is a bigger problem with the main drains. Food, drinks and laundry is very, very overpriced.

The hotel lobby is massive and very palatial great for photo's. Very close to Haram, but it still takes a while to navigate the lift system and get to the Haram. The hotel has a gym and other amenities, but i didn't have time to use them. There is a mosque in the hotel with sound coming from the Haram, I never used it. Another great thing is the sound system in our room, with a sound up and down control. So you can hear the Azan and Salah at the Haram.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aabs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Aabs_13
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay! We are so happy you liked the hotel and location and the fresh cooked eggs. We apologize for the issue with the elevator . We do our best to keep the lifts running at full capacity and we apologize if your wait time was longer than usual. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the holy city of Makkah Al Mukaramh.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My family and I (total of 3 adult females and 3 adult males) stayed at 3 Signature Double Kaaba view rooms for one night (21 Feb, 2014). This hotel calls these rooms Royal Service!
While 4 of us were happy with the Kaaba view we had (from rooms 1212 and 1213) the third couple was not (room 1216) as they said it was a side view. Housekeeping staff needs to pay more attention to the number of towels kept for each room as there was shortage in large ones. Moreover there was no tooth brush or tooth paste in any of the 3 rooms we had.
Surprisingly! For the amount of money we paid there was no complimentary fruit in any of the
3 rooms (Many cheaper hotels make complimentary fruit available in the rooms upon arrival of guests and checked twice daily for freshness and availability). In the morning of February 22 there was water outage, I do not know what time it started but I became aware of that when I woke up around 830am to take shower and there was no water. Hotel Guest Services staff told me water outage was all over the hotel. I checked again around 1010 am and it was working except for the bathroom flush toilets (same thing for all the 3 rooms we had). At the beginning of water flow resumption, water was muddy. The night before we requested two prayer mats, we received only one. This hotel is adjacent to the Masjid Al Haram and connected to a shopping mall. As there is nothing really special about this hotel, (a number of hotels are also adjacent to the Masjid Al Haram), I am doubtful that I will stay at this facility again.

Room Tip: Signature Double Kaaba View Rooms number 1212 and 1213, or the ones above or below them, preferably...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AABDHAHRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear AABDHAHRAN

Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for posting such a detailed review and sharing your experience with us! We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the view and the location. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences it caused during your stay with us. We take all guest comments seriously and would work to resolve issues highlighted by your good self. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

No welcome drink, hot towel....nothing! Arrived so tired and been informed that they can't find the reservation on the system..very hard time after long travel.. they asked us to call our travel agency then after long time another reception guy check and told us the booking is there, who told you that it's not there!!! Never offered even water for the kids. Glasses of the rooms "windows" are very dirty as never cleaned since years...small in the bathrooms and corridors is bad... Prices for room service is too much high and expensive than any other 5 stars hotel... During 5 days the elevator stopped and stuck 4 times which was really horrible...yes I agree that it doesn't deserve 5 stars hotel. The management should spend sometime on their work to take care of the guests especially small details.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yussef2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Yussef2014
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for taking the time to post. We take these complaints very seriously and we have discussed them directly with our front-of-office manager and our housekeeping manager who will be taking steps to ensure that they don't happen again. Lastly, we are very proud of our world renowned signature Fairmont service, but clearly we were not performing to our usual level in the restaurant – and for that we apologize.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I am at the hotel now
Have to say for the name Fairmont the service is just tooo bad I have no words for it
just today I tried to get thru to reception and I just gave up I was put on hold for almost one hour then I tried again and again and still no response in the end I told the operator to get them to call me and I am still waiting.
The staff are great not rude at all but service is just no good.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank aazim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear aazim100
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and would like to follow up with you directly. Please contact us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com and it will be our pleasure to assist you. We hope to welcome you back in the future at the holy city of makkah al Mukaramh.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Clock Tower for 3 nights during our Hajj in October 2013. The hotel was very clean and well maintained as you would expect from a branded 5* hotel. The hotel sits inside the Clock Tower with direct access to the Kaaba via Al Abraj Shopping Mall.

We stayed in an executive room with the most amazing view of the Kaaba. The bedding and room amenities were of high quality, especially the beds and pillows made sleeping quite comfortable. The breakfast is very lavish with a good selection of English/American, middle eastern and indian dishes.

The hotel staff were very professional, helpful and attentive.

A plus point was Free Wifi throughout the hotel including in our room and we could facetime our loved ones and show them the view of Kaaba.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M-Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear M-Raymond
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, a Fairmont Hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Holy city of Makkah again in the near future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 364 in Mecca
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 364 in Mecca
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 364 in Mecca
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 364 in Mecca
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 364 in Mecca
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#28 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $126 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing