We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay during Umrah!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #12 of 337 Hotels in Mecca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best place to stay during Umrah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here during Umrah in March 2013. The location of the hotel was excellent as it was at the doorstep of the holy mosque. The room was spacious and clean and in my case, the side window was facing the Kaabah which was an extra bonus. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was excellent. There was a shopping mall in the tower where we had our other meals and did a bit of shopping as well. There is also a comfortable praying area on one of the floor which had the clear view of the Mosque and Kaabah (which I used on one occasion). Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone coming to Mecca for umrah or hajj.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZ_007_131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear AZ
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you so much for your post! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our location excellent and the rooms were spacious and clean . We also glad you liked your Kaaba view and our breakfast was excellent! We look forward to welcome you again in the holy city.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    419
    216
    134
    212
See reviews for
1,203
271
66
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

great hotel, staff are very helpful, breakfast is very nice, wide varities, a good night sleep is guaranteed. interior is grand and elegant. amazing shower!!! extremly close to haram, the hotel is located in the makkah clock tower. plenty of food and shopping outlets. will definitely book next time

Room Tip: haram view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Mazhar_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear 14Mazhar_H,
Greeting from the holy City!
Thank you so much for your post! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you found our staff helpful and our breakfast was nice with wide varieties! We shall be looking forward to welcome you to the holy city of Makkah Al Mukarmah!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed in other hotels in the same complex and Fairmont definitely beats all in terms of facilities and service. The location is perfect in the Abraj Al Bait complex right opposite King Abdul Aziz Gate. Hajj and Umrah requires a lot of physical effort and you need a nice comfortable place to stay to relax and rest so you can put more time and devotion in worship. The location makes it so easy to reach Haram for all 5 prayers and come back to hotel between prayers to rest.
Our room had Kaaba View which was amazing, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very nice. Ample closet space is a rarity in this region which Fairmont provided. The breakfast was good with tea and coffee served on tables. Would recommend it to anyone visiting the Holy City for pilgrimage.

Room Tip: Go for the Kaaba view rooms. A tad bit pricey than regular rooms but the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danial S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Level Contributor
101 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is full of class and sophistication. Well located and excellent. Staff are very helpful and efficient and see to all your needs. Rooms are well decorated with a touch of class. The bed provided a comfort beyond my expectations. The hotel uses specially manufactured mattresses in their rooms. Bathrooms are functional and smart. Breakfast was excellent. This hotel met all my expectations. The only down side is that you have to take two lifts to get to the haram. Loved my stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear fs30
Greeting From Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about hotel . Also we are glad to know that you found our location is excellent and our rooms well decorated and has a class touch! We look forward to welcome you again in the holy city of Makkah Al Mukaramh!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 times , the cleaners do a rush job. The room itself is very good. You struggle to get niggling complaints fixed timely. The reception are not interested and they try hard at breakfast but appear understaffed or not well trained
Overall the hotel is very nice but for inconsistent service

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear HJ,
Greeting from the holy City!
Thank you very much for letting us know your thoughts. We are happy that you found our rooms very good, and please accept our sincerest apologies for any lapse in the service during your stay! Please do let us know if you intend on visiting us again soon so that we can ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. Thank you!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Some aspects of this hotel were fine ( shower, room service, and location). However, breakfast, house keeping and construction noise was unbearable. As always receptionist had difficulties to communicate in English. People hired for cleaning needed to be reminded 3 times.
I wish they hire educated people with appropriate training in services and management.
Overall things will not change unless business take these comments seriously.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabes, Tunisia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

we reserved at this hotel on 11 January for a stay ,half board and view on harem
we arrived to the hotel,we waited 2 hours at reception to be registred,all are on training and others,playing.They said your price is without diner and gave us on room with corner on construction
we asked them why?they said if you are not happy,you can go to your agency,the room,dirty,no assistance,it is a horrible hotel,we were obliged to leave the hotel and wait for our money back
don t go in such bad hotel
Ridha Ali Chaabane

Room Tip: there are better hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RIDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Ridha,
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us. Please check your TripAdvisor inbox; we have sent a follow-up message asking for more details so we can rectify the situation or email us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com with more details. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 337 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#6 of 337 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#9 of 337 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 337 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
0.1 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#4 of 337 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#23 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing