We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #15 of 378 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I just arrived home from a weekend in Makkah at the Fairmont hotel. I have never in my life encountered such rude disrespectful staff. We had been planning this weekend to Makkah for a while and had been looking forward to a peaceful spiritual couple of days - little did we know it would turn to the weekend from hell! The service was slow and terrible and the staff were incompetent, extremely rude and inconsiderate, to the extent of profanity!!! Bearing in mind that this is a low season in Makkah! I wonder how they handle busier times of the year! I have literally never felt this offended in my life and have decided to submit an official complaint to the Saudi Tourism Authority. This hotel is a disgrace to the Fairmont name and most definitely not worth the 5 stars they claim to hold.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara_Abdulaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Sara,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us. Please check your TripAdvisor inbox; we have sent a follow-up message asking for more details so we can rectify the situation or email us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com with more details. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in the clock royal tower in March 2013.

Room: Remarkably clean, well serviced and spacious.

Breakfast: Amazing selection. Fresh and delicious.

Location: Although very close to the haram, consider leaving early for Salaah as taking multiple lifts can take time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imraan_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Imo_RSA
Greeting from Makkah!
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay! We also delighted to know that you found our rooms are remarkably clean and the breakfast fresh and delicious. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel in the future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was ny 2nd stay
The hotel very good but needs
To improve
1- housekeeping team
2- lunch and dinner buffet selections of fool
Also i hope they will
Over come the parking and pickup and drop facilities
I will come back hopefully

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The facilities and services are excellent and the location ideal for anyone visiting the Holy place. Though the access to the main hotel is a two tier process but still the overall values are worth it. The shopping mall on the ground floor does pose a rush, especially in the season of Hajj and hence at times people tend to miss the prayers in the Holy Kaaba premises.

The sound system in the rooms provides a direct link to the prayers from the Holy Kaaba and since the hotel falls under the limits of the haram hence it is at times wise (especially Juma prayers) to offer the prayers in the room or the floor dedicated as prayer room.

Room Tip: Prefer a higher floor with the Haram View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salman_Karachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear Salman,

Greeting From Makkah.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the Holy City and we appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you think our service is excellent and you find our location ideal. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Got at the hotel at 0300AM. It was caos. My room was not clean and I had to wait. It took them 7 hours to do it. I got the room by 1100AM. And that was not because of the hotel management but my agent gave me an other room. The reception sent me to supervisor and he send me to the duty manager. Total lack of sericve and communication.

The room was cleand every day, but they did not vaacum or moped the floor. The toilet was dirty and dust all over the place.

We paid 200SR for dinner. It was same boring 8 dishes. Not tasting anything. The water was not cold.

I would consider other hotell next year when I come here with a new group

There is a big construction site on the backside. So if you cant afford Haram View you wont be abel to sleep as they work all night.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you cant afford Haram View. Construction on the backside wont let you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AkhtarWakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear AkhtarWakas,
Greeting from Makkah,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us. We've forwarded your comments to our general manager directly who will investigate the issues you mentioned. We also ask if you have time to please email us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com with more details. Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there during hajj. We chose it for its location and it is perfect opposite King Abdul Aziz gate of the haram. We didn't get the Haram view but we were glad we got a room in the first place cause our agent said the hotel is overbooked, our first mishap. Our room was overlooking a construction site so we had our curtains closed the whole time. By car, you need to access the hotel from the tunnel which was not possible due to road blocks. From the back street we had to walk to the hotel which was tiresome when we were carrying our luggage. The breakfast was good with many dishes from different cuisines but it became boring since each day the same assortment was offered. The dinner buffet was excellent. The only draw back is that only water was offered to drink, not even tea, and everything else is extra. We were disappointed to see that the toiletries were perfumed so we had to buy unperformed ones because of ihram. The hotel mosque is great except that it is accessible to people from outside the hotel and the elevators get jammed from the crowd in prayer times. The staff are curious and honest. We couldn't close the safe one day and we returned to find everything in place. The concierge seems to be misinformed. We asked for the location of the nearest Al Baik restaurant and he pointed out two far outlets and then we were surprised to learn that there is one in the back street! The same thing happened when we asked for a bookshop. The reception declared that the water in room is not fit for drinking so we asked for water bottles and they said they are complimentary only on arrival. We insisted, since it is a 5 star hotel and there should be fresh water in the room, and they sent water bottles. The shopping mall in the hotel building is excellent with all sorts of merchandise. I wish to go there again outside the hajj season and stay in the luxurious rooms overlooking the haram. I heard they are great.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Deemarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and we loved our Junior Suite. The place was enormous and the views of the Haram were amazing. The room could easily host a dinner for 15 people without getting congested!

The few issues that really drive visitors crazy are the extremely slow check-in process. We arrived at 9pm from Jeddah and were not checked in until after 11. This is absolutely unacceptable for a property such as this. Either the staff are not well trained to deal with high traffic or they just don't care enough to provide better customer service. I hope it's the former - at least this can be addressed by the hotel management. Unfortunately, for a place such as Makkah where the flow of guests is continuous, I think the hotels know that people will come regardless, so they really don't make any attempt to fix their issues.

The check-in guy was pleasant, but after standing in line for such a long time, I wasn't in a good mood. We had planned to check in, drop our luggage, freshen up and go for Umrah and be back by midnight. Didn't happen - we were just left with extremely cranky kids who wanted nothing more than to sleep by that time.

The breakfast, for us, was very nice. We were able to find a spot easily on both days and were able to enjoy the various options. It's not a huge spread, but really - it is more than enough to suit everyone's needs and tastes. The service we received at the restaurant was also fine - we had no issues with the waiters. They were polite and responded to our requests in a timely manner.

The lifts do take awhile to come and go, and it's a headache to take the different elevators and go thru the maze, but I guess this is something hotel really cannot address. It is what it is :)

The few things I'd fix:

1) Increase efficiency for staff. Check-in should not exceed 10mins per customer. Most people have already made reservations, pull it up, copy the IDs, take the payment, punch the keys and you're on your way - I don't understand what the problem is? :)

2) The parking needs to be better marked - we went round and round the Haram for a good 40minutes before I was told where the parking was. It's in the tunnel under the Masjid, but no signs there. The whole Abraj complex should be well pointed out - it's the biggest building in town!

3) Getting our car from the parking took over 40minutes. Again, unacceptable.

So overall, the comments are that this property has great rooms and other amenities but is lacking in the quality of service. Would I recommend this - yes, with the note that don't expect Dubai-level customer service and efficiency.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 378 in Mecca
1,724 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 378 in Mecca
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Towers
0.1 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#4 of 378 in Mecca
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mecca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $153 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing