We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIEW of KAABA but takes forever to get there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 367 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I loved the room because it had the view of Kaaba and my wife would just keep standing at the window whenever we were in the room.

The hotel is also nice, lacks the finishing you expect from 5-star hotels. The room was also quiet spacious and the breakfast service was also good (not excellent). Keep some time apart for check-ins and check-outs as the staff takes their own time (but so is the rule of the land - dont rush).

The washrooms have been designed with accessibility option, however, this has led to a chronic issue that everytime you take a shower the entire washroom is filled with water. Secondly, there is no direct lift to the ground floor. You have to take a lift to the reception of the hotel and then change to another elevator (at the other end of the lobby) then takes you to the ground floor and then you have to walk across the mall to get to the mosque. This resulted in a couple of occasions when we couldnt make it and had to go to the hotel;s internal mosque (it is considered part of Kaaba and you get to see Kaaba from it) but thats not why we were there.

I may consider this again when I go to Mecca but more because of my laziness to try new hotels. Not the best of picks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,109 - 1,115 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent service, spacious rooms and decor. Staff ever ready to help and serve you. Only one draw back, the bathroom and shower dowers and the glass walls need a strong sealant at the bottom because water leaks all over the bathroom.

I checked into Fairmont twice in June for a few days and I encountered the same water leaks in BOTH the bathrooms I used.Both the times, the plumber gave the same excuse that the drainage was clogged but he cleaned it. Unfortunately this did not solve the water from entering through the rubber seals into other areas of the bathroom. I encountered the same problem in 2 bathrooms so its fairly obvious its a big issue in all the bathrooms.

Will I stay there again? I would definitely like too but I would want them to take care of this issue carefully

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to see that you liked our service and spacious rooms . Please accept our apology for the problem you faced with our bathrooms and be assured that I have forwarded your massage to the relevant head of department and we’ll be working to ensure that it doesn't happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel in the future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I tried suite number 2215 kaaba viwe it was amazing. Comfortable. Luxury, new furnture and one of the best locations. Every thing is near you. The breakfast buffet was amazing and tasty even they have alot of choices. Also they have another restaurants it was nice. For sure i'll try it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaden o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, but hard to get to your room , u have to change elevators twice Circle around to get from one elevator to another.
Manager very nice to accommodate reservation that was wrong from agent
Better make your own reservation online than through an agent

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ISSAHKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

4 stars

This was our third stay at Fairmont Clock Tower. Though in an off itself it was a good experience, it was our least favorite in comparison to previous stays. Upon arrival, we had some issues checking in—the rooms we booked were not ready. We wasted a lot of time at the lobby going back and forth from contacting the travel agent to the hotel staff to sort the issues out. Eventually, we headed to the Masjid Al Haram to perform Umrah whilst the rooms were being prepped.

The other issue that we had with this hotel was the breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurants were undergoing some renovations and so the breakfast buffet included less variety of food selection than it did previously. Also, we could hardly find a clean table to sit at, since the place was always crowded.

Although it is disappointing to not be able to experience the luxury one expects to receive when booking at a high end hotel such as Fairmont Clock Tower, we have to admit though that this was a peak season; the place ma sha Allah was packed and so in a way, the shortcomings of our stay were understandable. Despite the cons, it was a comfortable stay and we would still go back (though probably not a seasonal time).The rooms were clean and well equipped; the staff was polite and helpful; and the services provided were efficient. In retrospect it wasn’t such a shabby experience after all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botheration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Hotel is best located among all neighboring hotels in the surrounding ... Loved the breakfast and the cleanliness maintained in the hotel. the staff is cooperative and friendly. The Adjcant mall has all the facilities ( Starbucks , Mother Care Etc)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abyss959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not convenient for us, had to take two elevators to reach the ground floor, first from the room level to the hotel lobby then to the ground level, and then a long walk through the entire mall.
service was not good, the front office staff was very rude and required training.
Our sink was clogged and a complain was formed at 10 pm no maintenance staff showed up even after reminding several times, the problem was solved the next day after a follow up reminder call.
good breakfast, good bed comfort, and good shower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MATeli1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samah Z, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greeting from the Holy city,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We take this kind of reviews very seriously and we forwarded your review to the relevant head of departments who will be working to ensure this doesn't happen again. Nothing is more important to us than our guest satisfaction . Again, thank you for the comments because we are always looking for ways to improve our service.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 367 in Mecca
1,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 367 in Mecca
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 367 in Mecca
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 367 in Mecca
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $128 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing