We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #14 of 369 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, the only good side is the incredible view,the breakfast was a mess, very crowded, you can hardly find a place to sit, hardly find cutlery, hardly find tea!!!!!! And no one to serve. Plus the telephones, tv and Internet networks were down for a day and when we complained the answer was that the hotel is still under construction. Come on why would you open a hotel that is under construction???!!!!. If I'll go ever go to Mecca again I would definitely stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights in this hotel. Amazing breakfast, Great location, amazing interior, nothing was too much hassle. Even with the large number of rooms and guests the staff still recognise you. Would stay here again. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for in life. I booked direct so avoided any booking issues so many ppl have with 3rd party agents.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nav010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was amazing! We stayed there for 3 nights and the service was excellent. The staff were very welcoming and they helped us as much as they could. We had a triple room with breakfast and the breakfast was phenomenal. The variety of food was very wide and it was very high quality. Thank you!

Room Tip: higher floors are better as they have a better view of the holy Kaaba. They are also less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanamakhlouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We love to hear such positive comments about our staff and our breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards from Makkah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Asalamu alikum wr wb I am finding a hotel , for a 15 day visit actually I am getting impress from this hotel , so one question I wanted to ask !! Is there a small kitchen .. Or something like that for tea.. Or any fridge ??

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Zoha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family and I have stayed here on multiple occasions over the last almost 3 years. We have always stayed in the signature suite. This suite with the Kaaba View is one of the best suites I have stayed in. The rooms are spacious. The living room area is amazing with a phenomenal view of the Holy Kaaba and Haram. The furnishings are modern, and well-appointed. The room service is on mark. To go to the holy mosque and spend a lot of time there, and then to have the Kaaba right in-front of your eyes in a panaromic view was amazing.

As far as the food is concerned, it is certainly pricey. The breakfast buffet is of very good quality, with reasonable variety. On occasions we found ourselves waiting for a table as it was busy in the morning time.

The only negative is that it is a bit more walking distance than compared to other hotels we have stayed at like the Raffles, Ar Rayaan Rotana ec. Also there are two elevators to change, and sometime it is a wait of a few minutes for each elevator.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arshadmian786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

You probably know Muslims go to Makkah for either Umrah or Pilgrimage and the closer stay to Haram Elsharif the better and more convenient. Fairmont is one of the closest hotels to Haram, unfortunately hotel management exploit its unique location and the lack of other choices so they do not care about quality of service,we had to wait until 07:00 pm to check in because rooms were not yet ready. my shower room drain was blocked.on breakfast you hardly find some one to bring you tea or coffee or needed cutlery and the tables are left for ages before gets cleared. the staff looked very inexperienced and never smile.

Room Tip: Be patient and do not expect the 5 * service you are used to get in Europe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Olton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are extremely saddened to see that you did not have a positive stay with us. We've forwarded your comments to our general manager directly who will investigate the issues you mentioned. We also ask that you please email us at socialmediamakkah@fairmont.com with more details. Thank you again for giving us your feedback.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The service I received, the rooms furniture, the view, is nothing compared to other fairmont branches!!
The windows are very dirty and I paid more to stay in the royal service and have al Kaaba view!
The price is much higher though!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Proudkhadija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#9 of 369 in Mecca
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 369 in Mecca
1,669 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 369 in Mecca
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 369 in Mecca
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#28 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $158 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing