We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #15 of 372 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and i am a fairmont president club member. the rooms were amazing with spectacular views of the harram, the room is well maintained and all amenities are there. however, the service here is really poor as they made me wait almost for 4 hours to get my room ready where they promised us to get it ready within an hour from check in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omani_madridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Again, another super Fairmont hotel... Great experiance :-)

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Abdullah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Galal A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I am about to check out from what i consider to be the best hotel in Saudi Arabia, with a Kaaba view (in my heart the best view in the universe)
Service in general in Saudi is not great, but this one house keeping is amazing The rooms are very sapcious, the food is really great
And the staff despite the really heavy pressure are wonderfull and the coffeeshop WOW
In short i enjoyed every second of it
On negative comment the panorama windows needs a lot of outside cleaning

Room Tip: Ask for Kaaba view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank omara67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at a Kaba view Suite of the Fairmount hotel in Makka during Umrah.
The hotel itself is beautiful, with incredible views with well decorated rooms.
HOWEVER, The service was appalling!! THE worst service I have ever received from any hotel.

Check in was a nightmare, we had to wait 2 hours to check in.
The Service was dreadful, we had to ask for prayer matts 6 times before it arrived, By this time we had finished our prayers.
We asked for cutlery and plates to be sent to our room, but this required 5 calls to reception and they finally arrived after we had actually finished our Dinner. REALLY quite dissappointing.
The Check out process was also very painful, the Service desk was severely understaffed, Infact I feel the whole hotel was Understaffed.

I'm certain that there is much more I was disappointment in, but I erased it out of my memory as I didnt want it to ruin my umrah experience.

The building in which the Fairmont is situated is excellent, however the effort required to exit the hotel was immense. You have to change lifts 2-3 times before we reached the ground floor.

We also stayed at raffles hotel in the same building, but the raffles was outstanding, easy access to Masjid Al Haram, The Service was fantastic, The view from the rooms were better! Its a little more expensive, but you get some much more for your money!!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay here and I urge you not to, get a Kaaba view suite. The view was nice, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KamalAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

fantastic hotel and stay.
cant seem what the problem was with all the negative press!!
from start to finish the process was fine- thanks to khalid ( i think) at reception, greeted us warmly and sorted rooms out promptly.
rooms were fantastic- excellent service, comfy beds
huge breakfast variety- tip for those who complianed of the breakfast venue changing to upstairs- you can still order the omlettes and hot food!!
overall the first and vaulable experinece of Makkah, thanks fairmont- will stay here next time,
(in contrast to medina hilton and movenpick in makkah this hotel was far far better)

location like movenpick/rotana/raffles- all exit to same shopping center that leads to King abdul azeez gate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank KHALFAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 372 in Mecca
1,689 reviews
0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 372 in Mecca
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 372 in Mecca
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Millennium Towers
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#5 Family Hotel in Mecca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#28 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $136 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing