We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the closest to the haram, haram view rooms are superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 367 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed November 17, 2011

i stayed here for about 4N just after ramzan eid hence the hotel was quite empty. the hotel can be tricky to reach from the car drop off area as there arent any signboards as the clock tower bldgs have other hotels as well. the local security is arab hence language is also an issue explaining to them where you want to go. to get from ones room to the haram is quite a task as we have to change 2 sets of elevators and then walk trough the mall and then start the walk to the haram. breakfast spread is huge and very nice. even the restraunt has a partial kaaba view. the rooms are nice and cosy. a good feature is that the azaan can be heard in the speakers in your room ( volume adjustable ). toilets are nice and clean. view from the kaaba view rooms is spectacular but costs a bomb. the people at the reception are a bit arrogant/ rude ( take it or leave it attitude ) and he made us wait 2 hrs to allot 22 rooms of our family inspite of having all the booking with him. rooms were connecting so thats a good feature as we were all family. but only 1 set of 2 rooms are connecting and not all.

Room Tip: ask for the kaaba view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeeshan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,014 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

Disclaimer: This review is based on stay during Hajj time which put a lot of stress on staff/facility.
This is with no doubt a very nice hotel. Top notch facility. Rooms are very comfy and spacious. Wired and wireless free and fast internet access.
We ate at the restaurant buffet many times. Food was good as well as pretty varied. Service at the restaurant was good also.
The hotel is hard to reach from the outside. Take into account that you need to take two elevators from the shopping mall to reach your room. During prayer times, it gets so busy that you might need up to 20-30mns from your room to the mosque. Prices are on the high end for food and service and don't represent a good value for the spending.
The FPC service is simply outstanding. Mr Abou Elenin took great care in insuring that our stay is as comfortable as possible.
I wouldn't say as much about the service at the reception... which seemed nonchalant and sometimes borderline rude. Comes with the culture? I doubt so... but remember disclaimer.
A Major issue is that the hotel is not smoke-free. It makes the stay in the public areas really annoying.
Now for Pilgrims: The hotel is one of the closest to the Haram but it will take you a long time to reach the mosque during prayer time. The fact is that you need to take two different elevators and waiting time adds up fast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paricitoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Good location but long walk and bunch of elevators to reach the haram services could be better great rooms

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mohdsaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for the second time at the Makkah clock tower and I must say it was the complete opposite to what we had experienced in our first stay. We were put in the 4th floor where work was in full flow with plastic everywhere and horrible noise! We had requested for connecting rooms.. Which we got but there was trouble with opening the connecting doors! Next, the drain in tge bathroom was blocked and we had a flooded bathroom! And there was more.. I requested for s small step stool for my mom to get on the bed.. The response from housekeeping?!" we don't have any!"
Though all these issues were sorted out after numerous calls, the whole experience at the fairmont was less than pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Junedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad G, Public Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks, we’re extremely sorry that you had unpleasant stay in your second stay, after receiving the complains, we had closed some floors to avoid any disturbance to our guests. As for your connecting rooms, all connecting doors in guestrooms are closed and we open them when we have guest request, we can assure you that all drains in the hotels’ rooms are functioning very well and the mentioned problem was a unusual technical problem. We do have step ladder but it seems it was miss communicated to you and we’re extremely sorry about it.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I would work personally to address all your requirements in your next visit, Also we would highly appreciate if you could visit our website and enroll to our Fairmont President Club, Membership in Fairmont President's Club is complimentary, and signifies your importance to us. We are committed to delivering exemplary service and recognizing what matters to you most every time you stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed at this property in July for 2 nights. On our last trip to Mecca we stayed at the Dar Al Tawhid, which enjoys the best location. This time decided to try Fairmont as it is a new property. Very convenient location to get inside Haram, once you come out of the building Bab Abdul Aziz is right in front. Getting to thehotel from outside was a big hassle when we first reached. You have to go behind the building and the entrance is very obscure with no signs. It was only after we asked 5 different folks that we were directed to one door. It took our taxi good 30 minutes of driving back and forth to find it. Because the property is located in the clock tower you have to take two elevators to get to your room, first from mall level to Fairmont reception (maybe 30th floor) and then another to room. We had two rooms on the 37th floor both with views of the Kaaba and what a view it was. Better than any we have had in our life, it was most beautiful during the middle of the night. One downside is that the hotel has no prayer room but you can hear the Adhan and Salah in your room but no one goes to Mecca to stay in a room.
Rooms are very nice, large size, nice bathrooms with all high end amenities. Service was quite good too. Both rooms had two double beds. We wanted one king but they didn’t have one available so joined the two doubles together, fair enough. Breakfast had a huge selection of Arabic and International food items, something to please everyone. Overall a decent new hotel to choose from around Haram. My first choice would still be Dar Al Tawhid.

Room Tip: Get the Kaaba view room, it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have booked 1 King bed Haram view room, a normal room. During the check in, the reception told me that they have no Haram view rooms with King Bed, all of them are double size bed. However, during the reservation I had 2 choices which are King or Double which mean that this is not a preference choice which is notmally stated "unguaranteed" its an available room.

The hotel finally upgraded my reservation to a junior suite with the same rate of a normal room, this is the only good thing happened to me during my stay.

The suite is unclean, and dusty.
The room service menu was stated Ramadan menu which means no one cleaned nor stayed since Ramadan.
The room service is terrible.
The room service staff are very rude and not professional at all.
Th lobby staff, help desk, reception..etc are very nice and friendly.
The hotel never answer outside callers.

Fairmont disappointed us on this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad G, Public Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Mr. Alnaimi, Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks, we’re extremely sorry that you had unpleasant stay in your latest stay, after receiving your comments, we had changed the A/C filters that might caused the dust in your room and the matter has been resolved now. the regular IRD menus are placed in all hotels’ rooms and the mentioned Ramadan menu was misplaced in your room and we’re so sorry about this. I will send you my direct phone No. so please do not hesitate to call me directly and I would work personally on your next booking and ensure you will have a memorable experience. Also we would highly appreciate if you could visit our website and enroll to our Fairmont President Club, Membership in Fairmont President's Club is complimentary, and signifies your importance to us. We are committed to delivering exemplary service and recognizing what matters to you most every time you stay with us. we’re all looking forward to hearing from you. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed in hotel for 4 days... During Ramadan....

Location: very nice location especially Haram View... The problem is to found the hotel..... 2  lift one from the mall to the lobby and the second one from lobby to the rooms... It's big issue during the prayer time... Waiting for long time  for lift after prayer time in Ramadan...

Staff: professional staff, and very polite..     

Room: nice decorated nice sleeping stuff...

Resturant: variety of foods with professional staff...

Room Tip: Don't miss Haram View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALMARZOUQI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedg, Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011
Google Translation

Chers membres de Trip Advisor,

Nous tenons à vous remercier sincèrement pour l'éloge de notre service et des équipements de qualité et nous serons impatients de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour chez nous.

Merci & Cordialement,

Hôtel de gestion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 367 in Mecca
1,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Dar Al Tawhid
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#5 of 367 in Mecca
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
#10 of 367 in Mecca
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 367 in Mecca
717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#24 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $128 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing