We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Change of opinion- thanks to poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Ranked #13 of 344 Hotels in Mecca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Change of opinion- thanks to poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed for the second time at the Makkah clock tower and I must say it was the complete opposite to what we had experienced in our first stay. We were put in the 4th floor where work was in full flow with plastic everywhere and horrible noise! We had requested for connecting rooms.. Which we got but there was trouble with opening the connecting doors! Next, the drain in tge bathroom was blocked and we had a flooded bathroom! And there was more.. I requested for s small step stool for my mom to get on the bed.. The response from housekeeping?!" we don't have any!"
Though all these issues were sorted out after numerous calls, the whole experience at the fairmont was less than pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Junedha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad G, Public Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks, we’re extremely sorry that you had unpleasant stay in your second stay, after receiving the complains, we had closed some floors to avoid any disturbance to our guests. As for your connecting rooms, all connecting doors in guestrooms are closed and we open them when we have guest request, we can assure you that all drains in the hotels’ rooms are functioning very well and the mentioned problem was a unusual technical problem. We do have step ladder but it seems it was miss communicated to you and we’re extremely sorry about it.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I would work personally to address all your requirements in your next visit, Also we would highly appreciate if you could visit our website and enroll to our Fairmont President Club, Membership in Fairmont President's Club is complimentary, and signifies your importance to us. We are committed to delivering exemplary service and recognizing what matters to you most every time you stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you again at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    426
    217
    135
    215
See reviews for
1,217
281
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Brunswick NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed at this property in July for 2 nights. On our last trip to Mecca we stayed at the Dar Al Tawhid, which enjoys the best location. This time decided to try Fairmont as it is a new property. Very convenient location to get inside Haram, once you come out of the building Bab Abdul Aziz is right in front. Getting to thehotel from outside was a big hassle when we first reached. You have to go behind the building and the entrance is very obscure with no signs. It was only after we asked 5 different folks that we were directed to one door. It took our taxi good 30 minutes of driving back and forth to find it. Because the property is located in the clock tower you have to take two elevators to get to your room, first from mall level to Fairmont reception (maybe 30th floor) and then another to room. We had two rooms on the 37th floor both with views of the Kaaba and what a view it was. Better than any we have had in our life, it was most beautiful during the middle of the night. One downside is that the hotel has no prayer room but you can hear the Adhan and Salah in your room but no one goes to Mecca to stay in a room.
Rooms are very nice, large size, nice bathrooms with all high end amenities. Service was quite good too. Both rooms had two double beds. We wanted one king but they didn’t have one available so joined the two doubles together, fair enough. Breakfast had a huge selection of Arabic and International food items, something to please everyone. Overall a decent new hotel to choose from around Haram. My first choice would still be Dar Al Tawhid.

Room Tip: Get the Kaaba view room, it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have booked 1 King bed Haram view room, a normal room. During the check in, the reception told me that they have no Haram view rooms with King Bed, all of them are double size bed. However, during the reservation I had 2 choices which are King or Double which mean that this is not a preference choice which is notmally stated "unguaranteed" its an available room.

The hotel finally upgraded my reservation to a junior suite with the same rate of a normal room, this is the only good thing happened to me during my stay.

The suite is unclean, and dusty.
The room service menu was stated Ramadan menu which means no one cleaned nor stayed since Ramadan.
The room service is terrible.
The room service staff are very rude and not professional at all.
Th lobby staff, help desk, reception..etc are very nice and friendly.
The hotel never answer outside callers.

Fairmont disappointed us on this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad G, Public Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Mr. Alnaimi, Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks, we’re extremely sorry that you had unpleasant stay in your latest stay, after receiving your comments, we had changed the A/C filters that might caused the dust in your room and the matter has been resolved now. the regular IRD menus are placed in all hotels’ rooms and the mentioned Ramadan menu was misplaced in your room and we’re so sorry about this. I will send you my direct phone No. so please do not hesitate to call me directly and I would work personally on your next booking and ensure you will have a memorable experience. Also we would highly appreciate if you could visit our website and enroll to our Fairmont President Club, Membership in Fairmont President's Club is complimentary, and signifies your importance to us. We are committed to delivering exemplary service and recognizing what matters to you most every time you stay with us. we’re all looking forward to hearing from you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed in hotel for 4 days... During Ramadan....

Location: very nice location especially Haram View... The problem is to found the hotel..... 2  lift one from the mall to the lobby and the second one from lobby to the rooms... It's big issue during the prayer time... Waiting for long time  for lift after prayer time in Ramadan...

Staff: professional staff, and very polite..     

Room: nice decorated nice sleeping stuff...

Resturant: variety of foods with professional staff...

Room Tip: Don't miss Haram View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALMARZOUQI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedg, Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Google Translation
Chers membres de Trip Advisor,

Nous tenons à vous remercier sincèrement pour l'éloge de notre service et des équipements de qualité et nous serons impatients de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour chez nous.

Merci & Cordialement,

Hôtel de gestion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

The hotel is great, staff are friendly, food is very nice. An overall great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salemsayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedg, Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Please accept our sincere gratitude for praising the property and it's staff and the overall experience at the hotel. Thank you and we shall be looking forward for your next stay with us.

Sincerely Yours,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a great time in 2 connected triple rooms with amazing city view & a perfect room design.

But a law that they have made the price not worth it, that is " food is not allowed in the hotel! "

I've benn in the most luxurious hotels around the world & never heard of such law!!

I called the duty manager 3 times & never had any reply from him, then i went to the reception to meet him, & he was so rude!! ( Duty Manager Juma'a).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmad G, Public Relations Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind feedbacks, we’re so pleased that you had enjoyed the panoramic view over the holy city, As for the food inside the hotel, only certain types of foods are permitted inside the rooms, please let us know your requirements and we will do our best to address them. We’re extremely sorry that you had unpleasant engagement with one of our colleagues, please let us know when would it be your next visit and we will be all at your service.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel is operated by Fairmont, has nice spacious room. Good service and helpful staff. Haram view room is more expensive. Already the price is very high. We were in first of Ramadan and price was about $800!!!! Car rental is also over priced.
The hotel has several elevators so even at rush time they are available.
Food was excellent and although all guests have Iftar at same time but service was good.
We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashraf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedg, Manager at Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We would like to thank you for kind comments and liking the property and shall be looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to the city.

Sincerely Yours,

Hotel Maangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 344 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 344 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 344 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 344 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raffles Makkah Palace
Raffles Makkah Palace
#4 of 344 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Residences Hajar Tower Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel

Property: Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Address: King Abdul Aziz Endowment, Abraj Al Bait Complex | P. O. Box 762, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#6 Family Hotel in Mecca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#18 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 945
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from the holiest site in Islam, Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel is the iconic symbol of hospitality for people from around the globe who have gathered to worship, reflect and contemplate. Standing as the tallest concrete building in the world with 76 floors, Makkah Clock Royal Tower is the focal point of the Abraj Al Bait Complex, part of the King Abdulaziz Endowment project. Its soaring height and proximity to Al Masjid Al Haram allow guests to enjoy unmatched breathtaking views from 945 rooms and suites, while 76 elevators provide easy access to and from Al Masjid Al Haram. The hotel also offers 10 delicious dining options ranging from innovative Asian fusion to the first five-star Saudi restaurant in Makkah. Other amenities include: a female and male fitness center, a Kids Corner playroom, a 24-hour business center, more than 3200 meter squared of flexible function space, and eight state-of-the-art meeting rooms. For the height of exclusive service and privacy, Fairmont Gold promises guests a ‘hotel within a hotel’ experience through a range of privileges like a private reception and 24-hour butler service.. A seamless fusion of Arab hospitality, modern comfort and signature Fairmont service, combine to create an unforgettable experience in this divine setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing