We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Makkah Palace
Ranked #4 of 343 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for a week straight after completing our Hajj. Absolutely brilliant. This is what a good hotel should be like. Big clean well appointed rooms, excellent daily room refresh, and within yards of the Haram. My only small gripe would be the porters seem disorganised. I ended up coming back down and bringing my own luggage up to my room, after nearly an hour. Nonetheless I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank said2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your great post! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the rooms and location. We have spoken to the front of office manager regarding the porters, and he will be exploring this issue further. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    79
    37
    14
    15
See reviews for
419
111
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Reception – The staff at the Raffles were really friendly and whilst we were waiting for check in, a waiter came over with Zamzam water which I thought was a really nice touch. I wanted some more so he went and brought another full jug!. The only thing I could ask for in reception is a prayer room. I know it sounds silly when the Haram is just outside, but on Hajj we found that there were times ie at check in and out, when we had to wait for quite some time, and during this time when we needed to pray namaaz, we had to find a corner, as we could not leave the group and go to the haram.

Free Wifi is also available thought the hotel. On P11 (reception floor) they serve complimentary dates at certain times.

Room - My wife and I stayed at the Raffles after Hajj for 6 nights. We checked in at reception with the rest of our group but having asked for a room with a haram view, we were not disappointed with the room we got. It was on the 17th floor and had a view of all the Haram from the left side. The only thing we couldn’t see was the Kaaba, but we were able to see people doing Tawaaf on the ground floor. We were told that to get a Kaaba view room we would need to upgrade which would cost around 700 riyals per night (£120). To avoid the extra charge and because we were really happy with our room, we decided not to upgrade.

The room itself was a suite – it was big, spacious and had a separate guest bathroom and seating area in which there was a big sofa, a dining table and a LCD TV on the wall. In the main bedroom there was a large king size bed, cupboards, another LCD TV on the wall, a desk, safe and a fridge. The bathroom was fantastic! It had a separate shower room (which included a rainforest shower as well as a normal power shower) and a toilet room, two separate sinks, a big bath and a separate wudhu area. It also had a retractable washing line which you could use to dry any washing on. There was a speaker in both rooms through which you could not only hear the Azaan but also hear the Jamaat should you wish to pray inside the hotel and you are able to turn the volume up or down.

Overall I would say the suite was modern, contemporary and grand! It was well thought out and designed. Our stay was extremely comfortable and we couldn’t have asked for a better room.

Room Service – The Raffles provides a butler service offering complimentary tea and coffee, up to 3 times a day. Again, a nice touch. Butler service varied during our stay. Sometimes he would be there within minutes, and other days we had to wait a while. On one occasion my coffee didn’t arrive for an hour after which I decided to cancel it! We were also given two complimentary water bottles each day and housekeeping was available whenever we needed it. A minor improvement around housekeeping could be made by the hotel, as we found that whilst our room was always tidy and neat after a visit from housekeeping, it had not necessarily been cleaned ie the bathroom mirror wasn’t wiped, nor were the bedside tables etc.

Breakfast – Buffet style, eat as much as you want. Fantastic variety of food and tasty! Chefs were available to make bespoke omelettes and fried eggs. Variety of fresh juices were available ie strawberry/kiwi/guava/orange. Breakfast was from around 6am – 10.30am but we normally went around 9.00am and it was quiet.

Dinner – We had half board stay at the Raffles which included breakfast and dinner. Dinner was always really quiet with only our Hajj group really ever being there. Again dinner was buffet style and great variety (chicken schwarma, lasagne, soups, grilled fish and chicken, Indian curries to name a few). Naan bread was made on request and was very tasty – fresh, thin and crispy! Variety of food changed on a daily basis too. Dinner did not include soft drinks – a coke can was 10 riyals to buy (£1.70). We dined at the Al Qasr area which is on P12 in the hotel. This also has a full haram view with Kaaba. Make sure you enjoy this view! (Also good to watch the crowd in haram and on deciding when to do Tawaaf)

Location – Couldn’t ask for better location. The Raffles is on the West side in the clock towers right infront of the Haram. The clock towers are full of shops (some high street ones like Debenhams, United Colours of Benetton, Accessorise etc, and some Arab shops selling things like Abayas, attars, tasbeehs, dates etc). The food hall in the clock tower is located on the 3rd floor with additional seating available on the 4th floor. Food hall contains Pizza Hut, Kfc and Burger King branches along with a local burger and chips outlet called Hardees and some other restaurants (Hardees cheese steak burger is a must!!! Amazing!). There are also separate men's and women's queues, so send your wife as she will be served quicker. Bin Dawood (hypermarket) is located on the ground floor. You can stock up on all your drinks and snacks from here.

You enter the Raffles from the lifts in the west wing of the Clock Towers (Bin dawood side). The hotel is located on floor P11. When you exit you will see the entrance to the hotel and there are normally some security guards who welcome you inside and always hold a lift, so one is available at all times.

The Gym – The Raffles has its own male and female spa, in which there is a gym and sauna and steam room. The male spa only contained weights up to 10kg so if you’re looking for a good workout you will need to visit the sister hotels as suggested by the gym assistant.

Overall – After comparing this hotel to other city hotels (as opposed to resorts which are in a different category), It’s the best hotel my wife and I have stayed at. If inshallah we have the chance to return to Makkah over the next few years we will definitely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Haram view at a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Az K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

One of the best hotels I've stayed at. Obviously you should get the Haram view. Everything was great about this hotel, staff, location, hygiene, facilities...

Just a small walk and you are right at the holy mosque.
Plus you have a shopping mall at the lower floors that has an array of various shops.

Great, for sure I will go there again.

Room Tip: Harram view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Omar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful post! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and being close to the Holy Mosque. We look forward to seeing you again at Raffles Makkah Palace soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Took the Signature Kaabah view suite. We have full view of Kaabah from the bedroom & living room.The full glass window makes viewing of Kaaba 24/7.the suite was spacious with additional bathroom at the living room.You have access to butler service that you can requests for tea drinks etc.Hotel building is a breeze infront of mosque but it is a labyrinth to physically walk out of the room to the main building lift lobby then to the mosque.Overall a satisfying stay in a haram hotel with that level of cleanliness & that special actual Kaabah view as compared to other hotels here. It's a premium worth paying .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our signature Kaaba view suite, and that our butlers were able to help you with your requests. We have forwarded your comments regarding the walk to Masjid Al Haram to our management team. To assist our guests’ with this, we are working on providing maps and additional signage in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I have been here twice with my wife..taking Haram facing suite.
It is the true meaning of luxury + quietness + front facing the holy mosque
Rest Room is an extra large space that even have a place only to wash your feet :-)
(check the photos i attached)
Breakfast open buffet is way beyond your expectations ..contains all kinds of food from falafel to omlete cooker & a huge variety of cheese with different kinds of bread ending with 7 types of juices & coffee or tea...Breakfast here in raffles makkah is one of the best experiences ever.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aalthekair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed there for Umrah this year. it was our first visite to this hotel. it is not as famous as other hotels of Abraj Al-Bait complex, maybe coz accommodation in this hotel is only for suites and villas and no regular rooms available, yet for sure it is the best in Makkah.I wont go far if i say it is a 7 star hotel and one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.

Location:
No more closer, hotels of Abraj Albait complex are the closest, facing King Abdulaziz gate with direct access. perfect for our old parents.

Check in:
For the first moment we entered the reception we expected an exceptional stay. a very simple yet so luxurious decorations and colours are very elegant. i really liked it
Check in was so smooth and guys were very helpful.

Room:
We checked in a presidential suite with Kaaba view ... Amazing breathtaking view, so luxorious furniture, the bathroom,colours and decorations are really piece of art.
Room service is perfect , rapid responce and no place for mistakes or inconvenience.

Resturant:
Staff are wonderful; polite and very helpful.
Great veriety of food , superb quality and tasty.
Fresh juice is amazing.

Spa:
Geat staff, Really i adore decorations really amazing a fine piece of art.

Check out:
So Smooth

Overall :
The best hotel in the best place
Ofcourse it is an expensive hotel but it really worth

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for better view ... Kaaba view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr-Bassim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

i stayed for 2 days which was the best in my vacation. The suite is big with nice decor and a very good tast. The breakfast was wonderful with big variety of foods and delicious also . i love my stay at raffels .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dream1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siwar B, Social Media Manager at Raffles Makkah Palace, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review! We are so happy that you loved your stay at Raffles Makkah Palace and that you enjoyed the suite and the food. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.2 mi away
Conrad Makkah
Conrad Makkah
#1 of 343 in Mecca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#11 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 343 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 343 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffles Makkah Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Makkah Palace

Property: Raffles Makkah Palace
Address: Ajyad St, Abraj Al Bait | In front of King Abdel Aziz Gate of Masjid Al Haram, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mecca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mecca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#20 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Raffles Makkah Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raffles Makkah Palace Saudi Arabia enjoys an outstanding location within the iconic Abraj Al Bait complex, directly adjacent to Al Masjid Al Haram – or Grand Mosque – and the Kaaba, offering easy access to King Abdulaziz Gate, the main entrance to the Grand Mosque. Raffles Makkah Palace also offers a superbly equipped business centre with secretarial services and state-of-the-art private meeting rooms fitted video conferencing facilities, ideal for board meetings and management retreats. Revered as the holiest city on earth for approximately 1.6 billion Muslims, Makkah is the birthplace of the holy Prophet Mohammad (PBUH) and home to sacred sites such as the Kaaba, Al Masjid Al Haram, the Zamzam Well, Jabal Al-Nour, Al-Jamarat and Jabal Thawr. Just steps away from the Grand Mosque, Raffles Makkah Palace is a refined and elegant residential sanctuary featuring 214 suites with breathtaking views of the Grand Mosque and Kaaba, making a stay in the Islamic holy land of Makkah one of spiritual serenity. Spacious suites occupy a minimum of 80 square meters in this exceptional hotel in Makkah and offer separate living and dining spaces while bathrooms are thoughtfully designed with designated areas for ablutions. Personal butlers deliver Raffles’ signature style of anticipatory and thoughtful service, complementing the residential experience at this Makkah hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raffles Makkah Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Makkah Palace Hotel Mecca
Raffles Makkah Palace Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing