We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and few minor negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah
Ranked #12 of 372 Hotels in Mecca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having just returned I thought I would try and help others.
I'll keep it brief and precise so InshaAllah
1) Location - yes, fab location, but so are the other hotels in this complex, apart from the Fairmount which has a convoluted process of getting there. Just go for the cheapest '5 star' hotel in the Al Abraj complex you can find
2) Prayer room -large prayer room on 9th and 10th floor of complex -separate for men and women, very convenient
3) Kitchen -one review mentioned this but there was no kitchen in our 2 rooms
4) Check-in-they told us one of our rooms were not available even though I had booked through tripadvisor via booking.com with proof. Just remain patient persistent and politely insistent and they will sort something out for you, it is their duty and you are in state of ihram so be patient so not to lose the reward of your Umrah/Hajj
5) children -we had a toddler with this -no real children/nursery/creche etc in Makkah, so you have to either take your child everywhere you go or you share the looking after:
a) pushchair -not allowed inside the haraam but outside fine -too congested everywhere anyway for this
b) take sunscream for them for tawaaf, plenty of bottled zam zam and you will be fine
c) nappy change can be done anyway really, just take a mat to place under them

6) Taxi from Jeddah -7-9 seater no more than 300 Riyals; Mekkah to Medina no more than 750 Riyals; Ziyarah -gone up in price being quoted up to 180 but settle for 100-120 or even less if you can
7) Hotel Food -good breakfast, but be on time, we missed it by a few minutes after 10.30 and they were quick to remove all the food, no grace period! -also have seen better in other 5 star hotels, other meals very expensive, you'll have to eat out, but food generally in Mekkah is very repetitive and of low standard, especially if you are looking for spicy Indian food. You'll be eating loads of KFC/Hardees etc
8) Hotel room bathroom -small box sized with shower cubicle, not useful for children
9) Room service -variable -you have to prompt them to clean the room, change sheets etc -these guys must get very poorly paid as they are so apathetic about doing there job
10) kettle in room and tea/coffee/water replaced daily which is very good
11) shopping centre under hotel complex but best to go to neighbouring Safa tower shopping centre for cheaper prices
12) Adzaan in room so at least you can join the imam in your room, which is great for the wife when stuck in the room with the baby. Serves as a beautiful alarm/reminder for prayer, then you have about 10-15 minutes before Fard starts. Yes, lifts are plenty and very efficient

Overall not a bad hotel, but not 5 star international rating, you will be happy if you lower your expectations, I went for this one on this occasion as it came out the cheapest in the complex. Be sure to book early for these hotels due to their location, they are always popular so rooms go fast, but just go for the cheapest in the complex unless you are loaded of course

Room Tip: Don't over pay for haram views etc, go for a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZH2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana, Makkah. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your experience during your stay at our Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit and thank you for your comments.

Regards,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 815 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Excellent Hotel, the only thing faced; We arrived @11:00 and they refused to accept us until 16:00. also the breakfast was in a different area. In general: Yes I recommend this hotel to any visitors. the tower is full of all you may need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank besmilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Besmilah,

Thank you for highly recommending Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your delightful experience during your stay at our Hotel. .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit to Makkah.

Regards

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel, I stayed here last year and it was ok, but this time I was sick and had to spend more time in the room rather than at Haram, so I started to pay attention to details, the room's carpet was old, there was mold in the bathroom and there were stains on the pillows! Room service food was sooooo bad, un chewable and cold and internet is very expensive!
On the up side, location is great, breakfast buffet is excellent and room size is good.
All in all, disappointed and not to return.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank weamali9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Sincerely,
Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The worst experience ever, room size and especially toilet is very small, staffs are very untrained and unresponsive, towels are smelly, very basic stuff are unavailable or available at cost like WIFI and extremely slow. Sewage water is coming out of the toilet and the floor was completely flooded!! breakfast was very crowded and and not up to standard. I can't believe this is a 5 star hotel with a rate of +1K SR per night

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Ramy

I greatly appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.

Regards,
Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is excellent in front of Haram. The room size is good and have enough space to walk around.

The room furniture is very poor and below basic. Also bathroom is not clean with alot of black spots.

Breakfast service is average and not to standard of 5 stars (max 3 stars)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Mohamed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Mohamed,

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana - Makkah.
Your constructive feedback related to breakfast, Furniture and Bathroom is much appreciated, we have taken it on board, and were shared with the concerned department head for immediate action.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana - Makkah. Once again.

Regards,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

its expensive hotel compared to other 5 stars hotel, near Al Haram and its elevator always available which is amazing considering the number of people in the area. So you can catch up the prayer easily without any delay .

Room Tip: Don't Book 2 bedroom suite , it has very tiny living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdulla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Mr. Abdullah

Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana - Makkah. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your delightful experience during your stay at our Hotel. .

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have went in Hajj season, yet the experience was amazing. Our room had a Haram view which allowed us to see how crowded the Haram can be. The location is excellent, in the clock tower few steps from the Haram. The staffs were very responsive and helpful, although it was in the most crowded season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 422Sumaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Sumaya,


Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Marwa Rayhaan Makkah by Rotana. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your delightful experience during your stay at our Hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Makkah Convention Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman ZamZam Makkah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Al Maqam Makkah
0.6 mi away
Royal Dar Al Eiman
Royal Dar Al Eiman
#18 of 372 in Mecca
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Makkah
Hilton Suites Makkah
#2 of 372 in Mecca
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah

Address: King Abdul Aziz Gate, Abraj Al Bait | PO Box 9601, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#27 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $119 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Makkah's new Abraj Al Bait development, Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana - Makkah is Rotana's first hotel to open in Saudi Arabia under the new brand Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 481 well appointed rooms and suites with luxurious bathrooms and modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture. With 415 rooms and suites newly renovated and refurbished with view of Masjid Al Haram and the Kaaba, you can make your stay even more relaxed and comfortable. This 5 star hotel is offering an uncompromising alternative that upholds the world-class standards synonymous with the Rotana name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Marwa Rayhaan By Rotana-Makkah Hotel Mecca
Al Marwa Rayhaan By Rotana-Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing