We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star more like a 3 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah
Ranked #11 of 346 Hotels in Mecca
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star more like a 3 star”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

i have stayed in many Rotana hotels and i havenothing but good things to say about them all however the Makkah Rotana is the exception.
i suppose i have become spoilt by the rotana hospitality, service and standards at other resorts.
lets start by mentioning the ridiculous daily cost of using WiFi
then the fact i booked a deluxe superior room which was mor like a double standard room in terms of space/size of bed and room alike
the hotel was overbooked - what i mean by that is the day of my arrival i had to wait for 2 hours outside the normal check in time for my room to be vaccant

no what you expect from the Rotana and i would definatley not class as 5 star or anything close
in this day and age certain hotel groups should offer various facilities for free especially if you expect to be rated as 5 star

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnwarUK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Anwar,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is only through candid, constructive feedback that we can strive to better our products and refine our services.

With much regret, we have noted your dissatisfaction with regards to our services and WIFI. Please be assured that this valuable feedback has been shared with the concerns for their immediate action. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort caused.

Every hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, therefore be assured that the comments and suggestions we received are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

We look forward to be of continued service up to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Regards

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    174
    80
    35
    44
See reviews for
390
87
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Multan, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

this hotel situated at the nearest to haram i staed here from 25march to 31 march we booked a room with 3beds and breakfast but the gave us a room of 2bed and no breakfast. hotel services is v.poor.service needs improvemet

Room Tip: confirm ur deal indetail first
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahzad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Shahzad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. It is only through candid, constructive feedback that we can strive to better our products and refine our services.

With much regret, we have noted your dissatisfaction with regards breakfast and bedding. Please be assured that this valuable feedback has been shared with the concerns for their immediate action. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort caused.

Every hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, therefore be assured that the comments and suggestions we received are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

We look forward to be of continued service up to your expectations and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Regards

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice in every way but the only disadv. From my p.o.v that the wifi is not available for free in rooms and you have to buy an hourly access for it in other ways hotel house keeping is good , location is good and very close to haram , good mall in the podium , excellent room bathroom with professionally furnished rooms and very very good breakfast

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Mr. Mohamed

Thank you very much for posting this review and sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience at Al Marwa Rayhaan Rotana - Makkah.
Your constructive feedback related to WIFI charged is much appreciated, we have taken it on board, and were shared with the concerned department head for Further action.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Al Marwa Rayhaan Rotana - Makkah. Once again.
Regards,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel situated within the Clock Tower complex of mekah is excellent in terms of location. The great mosque is only 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is accessed via lifts from the lobby of the complex. The lifts are large, fast and efficient. The decor is modern and its fairly new, so no complains about cleanliness etc. We had Haram view rooms which was a bonus. From the 24th floor, the view was simply spectacular. Room size (double ) was good. Room service was slow. Bathroom was a little cramped but everything worked well. The wardrobe space was a little small. Breakfast was of good variety and was lavish. Service speed by waiters could be further improved. If you arrive early for breakfast, try to get the tables at the window. The view is of the masjidil haram. Everything you may need to shop for is only minutes away within the Tower complex so its very convenient. As with many other hotels in Mekah, the front office staff isnt very friendly. I dont understand why this is so. Maybe its a cultural thing that they are uneasy speaking to non arabic speakers. WallahuAlam........So, if you can limit your interaction with the front office staff, your stay will be very pleasant !!

Room Tip: request for higher floor Haram view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILLYazid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidal A, Front Office Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Yazid,
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Al Marwa Al Rayhann Makkah by Rotana, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Our Hotel a leader in excellence.
Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
NIdal Alayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

stayed here with wife and kids for a couple nights on 25mar in a premium room. Beds and linen are of excellent quality. toilets are ok size and has shower only no bath tub.
housekeeping staff only changed linen and replaced towels everyday. we loved the breakfast, very good quality and serves truly international menu. only bad experience we had when we asked for an extra blanket it took more than 1 hr and after several calls. overall highly recommended hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syedm4h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Marwa Rayhaan Makkah by Rotana. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your delightful experience during your stay at our Hotel. .
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I've booked this hotel for tomorrow and will hope I don't have some of the negative experiences listed below. I'll try and meet with almarwarayhaan50, the resident manager, and see how it all goes and update this post accordingly. I will grab some photos of the rooms as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Figment K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just returned from my Umrah stayed at this hotel for 5 nights , the location is very close to the Masjid Al Haram only few walking steps , down the hotel there is a huge shopping mall with so many shops , super market , food court and pharmacies

the hotel is clean but the carpets in the rooms is noticeably stained , bottles of water are offered every day by the room service breakfast is the biggest plus of this hotel it's repetitive but have so many choices .

i hade a very good time and enjoyed the place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The-Queen-of-Egypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almarwarayhaan50, Resident Manager at Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Al Marwa Rayhaan Makkah by Rotana. I very much appreciate that you took the time for sharing your delightful experience during your stay at our Hotel. .
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our Hotel on your next visit and thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Bassam Khanfar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Makkah
Swissotel Makkah
#12 of 346 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Dar Al Eiman
Royal Dar Al Eiman
#17 of 346 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makkah Clock Royal Tower, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Makkah Hilton Towers
Makkah Hilton Towers
#7 of 346 in Mecca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Makkah Jabal Omar
0.1 mi away
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
ZamZam Pullman Makkah
#10 of 346 in Mecca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah

Property: Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah
Address: King Abdul Aziz Gate, Abraj Al Bait | PO Box 9601, Mecca 21955, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
#22 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Makkah's new Abraj Al Bait development, Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana - Makkah is Rotana's first hotel to open in Saudi Arabia under the new brand Rayhaan Hotels & Resorts by Rotana, offering 481 well appointed rooms and suites with luxurious bathrooms and modern design complementing the values of the contemporary Arabian culture. With 415 rooms and suites newly renovated and refurbished with view of Masjid Al Haram and the Kaaba, you can make your stay even more relaxed and comfortable. This 5 star hotel is offering an uncompromising alternative that upholds the world-class standards synonymous with the Rotana name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Al Marwa Rayhaan by Rotana-Makkah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Marwa Rayhaan By Rotana-Makkah Hotel Mecca
Al Marwa Rayhaan By Rotana-Makkah Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing