We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with excellent customer service”
Review of Hotel Al Shohada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Shohada
Ranked #26 of 372 Hotels in Mecca
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Approx 7 mins from haram so not as close as some may like but fine if you don't mind walking. hotel facilities excellent, food great, very clean. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MH244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

this year we stayed at this hotel for the third time , and I dare say that this one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in . Thank you all at hotel Shohada for making our stay very comfortable , and by the will of Allah we will always return to this "home sweet home " hotel .
I recommend this hotel for any one who seeks comfort and cleanliness even if you come in the busy season .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aprilrose65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Overall I liked the hotel.
We stayed their for 3 nights. The best three nights of my life. It was my first ummrah. The entrance was like a 5star hotel but they use a very heavy smell of air freshner of yasmine which was bad for me since I was mohram.
But the checkin took us a long,time since checkin was after 12noon but we reached there before 12 to they let us use their hall(meeting rooms).
but we got the rooms keys nearly by 2,
The rooms are very clean we had a standard twin bed room for two. The was room a bit spacious. But lack of appliance in the room like electric
kettel.(just a warning that the luggages
Go throught a metal detector)for checking any applianes that u brought with ur self like kettel,hairdryer,etc any that produces heat. And they will return it in when u check out.
The harram so close to the hotel but they also provide bus shuttle back and forth to the haram. But you have to wait until the next bus comes.
I rely dont recomnd taking the bus to the haram because the route to the haram is longer it takes nearly 10mins or more depends on the traffic, by walking its way closer less then 5mins u can reach the,haram. But when returning to the hotel take the bus its closer and faster then walking to it.
Overall I would visit this hotel in the future if allah writes for me to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darkteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

We decided to stay at this hotel after turning down the opportunity to stay inside one of the newer hotels located in the abomination of a develpment just outside Haram (tacky Big Ben thing!). It was just as well, as some of our other group members who did stay there complained about the noise and vibration levels due to the adjacent construction works. The al-Shohada was an excellent choice with good service end lovely rooms. Breatfast wasn't quite up to the standard of say the Hilton in Madinah but that's just a personal preference as my wife loved it. The only word of warning is that the shuttle service is a little erratic and actually takes longer to reach Haram than on foot. This isn't the hotel's fault but down to the Saudi's strange traffic planning strategy that involves travelling through the same mountain again and again to get somewhere that's only 5 minutes away by foot. Futhermore, they often tend to shut these routes on a whim so you may be left waiting a long time for a shuttle. Anyway, when in Makkah stay at the al-Shohada, you won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShinobiNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

been there for two umrah visits , rooms are very clean and comfortable , service excellent , staff nice and friendly .Not far from masjid haram , you can take the hotel's couch which is available for 24 hours . thank you guys - all of you - who are keeping this hotel for making our stay a pleasure to remember . looking forward to come back next year .

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aprilrose65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Al Shohada is most surely one of the pricest and classiest hotels in Mecca.

Staff:

Attentive, friendly and polite. There is an Indonesian man who is extremely helpful. He can arrange a car for you to go and see all the ziyarats.The only thing I would mention is that one staff member told us that the service was free and that the bus goes at 8am every morning, but this information was false. In a way it is bad, in a holy city I have noticed that a lot of people do tell lies- just be alert and careful

Location: I would say it is a 7-10 minute walk. There is a shuttle bus which is always on time and you will always catch it. The bus takes 10 minutes to get to Haram, as it is like a one way system. On the way back, it takes 2 minutes.

Rooms: All were clean and tidy. Medium size standard rooms. Always cleaned well.

Breakfast: Huge selection but personally I didn't enjoy it. It is probably because I travel a lot and have seen more, especially tasty foods.

Overall the hotel is great! You will have a pleasant stay for Umrah or relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sweeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Al Shohada is an excellent hotel, located within a 5 minute walk from the Haram. A very efficient bus service provides transportation to the Haram round the clock. The ambiance of the hotel is great with spacious rooms and hallways. Although the hotel is one of the oldest five star hotels in the area, however, it carries a certain aura with it of the bye gone times. The lobby is generous and the shops within the hotel are the most reasonable for buying souvenirs. The hotel staff is extremely polite and helpful. A very good value for your hard earned money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islooite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mecca hotels
0.9 mi away
Makarem Umm Alqura Hotel
0.8 mi away
Le Meridien Towers Makkah
0.1 mi away
Makarem Ajyad Makkah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
Elaf Bakkah Hotel
#22 of 372 in Mecca
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Makkah
Le Meridien Makkah
#36 of 372 in Mecca
199 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Styles makkah
Ibis Styles makkah
#21 of 372 in Mecca
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Shohada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Shohada

Address: Ajyad St. | PO Box 20840, Mecca, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Mecca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Mecca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Mecca
Price Range: $88 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Al Shohada 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Al Shohada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Shohada Makkah/Mecca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing