We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Madaba”
Review of Grand Hotel Madaba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Madaba
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Madaba
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Madaba”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Best Western Grand Hotel in Madaba. Staff was helpful, beds were comfortable, shower was good (we were on the 1st floor), I am normally a light sleeper but I slept very well there. Yes you can hear the muezzin early morning - but that's the case anywhere in Jordan - and you can hear traffic but it wasn't bad at all. A/C worked fine, and they had nice toiletries in the bathroom and a good selection of teas, with a kettle in the room! That was a nice touch. It was also good to sit in the bar downstairs in the evening over a glass of local wine (they offer cocktails as well), and it's an easy walk into Madaba, a town itself that feels very comfortable and human-size. The person cleaning the room didn't replenish the tea selection on the 2nd day but that might be because we came back while she was still cleaning and we disrupted her work. The only real downside was that the quality of the breakfast was poor: vegetables had been cut up a long time ago, bread was dry and pastries were rock hard (the same pastries that were already hard the day before), coffee was good on the 2nd day but not on the 1st day when it was very watery. There is a lot of staff in the breakfast room but they didn't seem to know what to do. I am hoping that the hotel owner picks this up, as he might not be aware of it, and he was very nice to us - when we saw him we had only had 1 breakfast so I didn't say anything because I thought things would be better the next morning. This should be easily fixed in a town where fresh bread is available in every street, and that would make the Best Western Grand Hotel an even better place to stay. If we ever go back to Jordan, this hotel is definitely on our list as we felt very comfortable and relaxed there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClogsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samertwal, Owner at Grand Hotel Madaba, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sir.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve Specially Regarding our staff and their behavior at the breakfast. You are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 00962795702200.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Samer Twal
Sales & Marketing Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Madaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
53
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was really a great experience. The Hotel was really clean and the staff were really friendly. The receptionist helped us a lot in what, how and where to go inside and out of Madaba as the location of the hotel was really centered and near everything.
Also, the beds were very comfortable and we truly felt like we are at home.
All in all, I would definitely repeat my visit to this wonderful hotel and I really recommend everyone to visit it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The taxi ride from Queen Alia Airport shouldn't take more than 22JD. We arrived at the hotel late at night, to be greeted by attentive staff. Although the restaurant had closed, there are 2 good restaurants across the street (one that does take-away shawarma). The room was clean and inviting, and all amenities that were advertised were there. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was well-planned for travellers.

For the standards one would expect from a Best Western, this hotel met them. Madaba has enough to see for tourists, and has good connections to Amman.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Checked in late one evening staying with my wife and 3 teenage boys for 3 nights. We had 2 rooms a triple and a double. There are a few dedicated parking spaces to the left of the hotel and a few more directly outside the front. These were all full when we arrived and we parked on the main street which seemed fairly safe.
First impressions of the hotel inside were good as the lobby and restaurant near the entrance looked nice.
On entering the room however I was somewhat disappointed at the state of the room considering it is classed as 4 star. After turning on the light I noticed the adjacent plug sockets had paint on them from when the room had been painted as if no care had been taken.
On entering the bathroom the door had a very loud creak and there were large gaps in the door edging and floor, the shower also looked poorly maintained.
As we were all tired we went straight to bed to get some sleep - or so I thought. Our room was on the street side and there was lots of noise from cars beeping, music and people shouting so it was early hours of the morning when I drifted off to sleep only to be awoken by howling dogs from a roof opposite around 6am. I was so hacked off I decided if I could not get a room on the other side of the hotel I would check out.
After breakfast which was decent with a good selection I went to reception and asked to change rooms for a pool side one, fortunately the lady receptionist was helpful and said one was available and was told this would be ready later.
The new room was much better both in decor and noise level and I slept much better, however there were still some maintenance issues such as the bathroom door was very hard to lock and the main door would only close if it was slammed.
The pool was not open when we were there a sign said it would open in May but even then the pool closes at 5pm, the pool area is nice however.
The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the centre, we asked for a local map at reception but they had none and the only leaflet they had was in Italian.
WiFi is free and fairly stable, you are limited to 1gb which is suitable for most peoples needs but as I needed to listen to a football match from the UK one evening and had to stream radio commentary it just about lasted.
In short expected much more from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at Best Western Grand Hotel Madaba for a night while visiting Jordan in March. The room that I had was on the first floor, therefore I didn't have the problem with the water as many of my group members did. I guess there is a water shortage in Jordan so the water running is not as strong as we are used to. I got a basket of fruits as I entered the room which was also a special treatment. The spread of food for dinner and breakfast was great. Was certainly not used to the limited amount of drinking water being provided at the dining. But in a place like this, I could really understand. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. I had a great stay, will certainly stay here again if I do get another chance to visit Amman.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have spent 3 days in this lovely hotel and I would like to recommend everyone to stay in it. It is one of the best Hotels I have visited. The location is really good. The staff are very friendly. The hotel itself is really amazing and above all, you feel like you are at home.
The food is excellent and they offer really good Sheesha. The rooms are really clean and the beds are very comfortable. I really recommend it and I am sure that any tourist won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samertwal, Owner at Grand Hotel Madaba, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 00962795702200.


Sincerely,

Samer Twal
Sales & Marketing Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Madaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just abut the only smile we got out of the front desk staff was at check in, after that we're were hardly acknowledged at all when we went past.

The beds are rock hard. They are just a box with a. Thin layer of sponge on top to provide some sushi owning. My back ached after two nights here. This is definitely not a place that is conducive to a good nights sleep

The toilets have some sort of pump that whirs away for a couple of minutes after every flush.
The shower head is too low to stand under if you are over 6 foot tall and is so clogged up with lime scale that it doesn't work properly anyway. The tv is not tuned in to most of the channels.
We were on a non smoking floor but the whole corridor stunk of cigarette smoke.

There were probably only 6 or so rooms full. Consequently the restaurant was closed in the evenings. The neighbouring hotels have bog standard buffets, nothing v inspiring. There is a restaurant across the road, but we asked to eat there and were told they had a 'private party' so we couldn't go in. In the end we drove into town because it was raining so much we couldn't walk in.

The breakfast buffet was by far the worst we encountered in our travels around Jordan. All there was on offer was as selection of dips, mouldy bread and some ambiguous looking stew of some sort.

This may operate under auspice,a of best western, but it is independently run, and you can really tell. Don't let the association with a Big hotel chain fool you, it falls well below the standards you would expect.

It's about a 10 minute walk into town. There are lots of hotels in the town centre which are much better located for the things you want to see and also to access the selection of restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samertwal, Owner at Grand Hotel Madaba, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking from your time to review our hotel through Tripadvisor.com regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 00962795702200.

Yours sincerely,

Samer Twal
Sales & Marketing Manager
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Madaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madaba
0.6 mi away
Mosaic City Hotel
Mosaic City Hotel
#1 of 12 in Madaba
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mariam Hotel
Mariam Hotel
#2 of 12 in Madaba
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salome Hotel
Salome Hotel
#4 of 12 in Madaba
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Saint John Hotel
Saint John Hotel
#5 of 12 in Madaba
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queen Ayola Hotel
Queen Ayola Hotel
#8 of 12 in Madaba
197 reviews
10.0 mi away
Amman Airport Hotel
Amman Airport Hotel
#102 of 145 in Amman
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Madaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Madaba

Property: Grand Hotel Madaba
Address: Aisha Um Al Mumeneen Street, Madaba 17110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Madaba Governorate > Madaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Madaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Madaba 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel - is the newest 4 stars full-service hotel in Madaba, provides 81 elegant, Feel like home style accommodations for the discerning traveler looking for an intimate, stylish and relaxing trip. Our hotel promises extraordinary full service and a wide array of amenities, including 24-hour room service, onsite restaurants & bar, outdoor pool, business center, and meeting space. A convenient location puts guests within walking distance of the most attractions in the city of Madaba.5 Stars services in 4 stars hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Madaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing