We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosaic of great historical relevance”
Review of Madaba Mosaic Map

Madaba Mosaic Map
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.50*
and up
Private Arrival or Departure Transfer: Amman Hotels with Madaba and Mount Nebo...
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Madaba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This fascinating map of the Holy Land, now housed in the Greek Orthodox Church of St. George, was made in the 6th century out of two million stone pieces.
Qatar
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mosaic of great historical relevance”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visited this amaizing relic. It is a totally acqurate representation of the holly land in the 4th century. Amazing. A must of history/religios bufs. It was used to locate Jesus baptism site and Job's cave! Must get the book with the explanation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Famotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    314
    130
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go without a description of the map!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you go without a description it will be just another beautiful mosaic floor, but when you know what you are looking for, it is a different story. highly recommended..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gioisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
408 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very interesting.....”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Madaba is known its mosaics. A number of churches with fine mosaics were found in Madaba, but the most significant is the Madaba Mosaic Map. Once in a Byzantine church it is now on the floor of the Church of St.George. The oldest map of the Holy Land, It's a masterpiece, though only a third of it remains. It's detailed and intricate and needs a good guide to explain it. Jerusalem is vividly clear and one can see the walls around the bigger cities. The Dead Sea, the River Jordan and Mt. Sinai are other features clearly visible.
Besides the map there are other mosaics in the church too that speak amply of fine workmanship. So do spend some time looking at them .
Also stroll through the nearby streets. There are a host of shops selling interesting curios. Make it a point too to walk in into a couple of small mosaic shop-cum workshops. You're likely to be able to pick up a small piece to take home.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Read about the explanation before viewing it and you will enjoy it”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was asked to buy a ticket and am led to a souvenir shop next to it. It turns up to be a blessing in disguise as there is a small museum explaining the history of madaba mosaic map. It is a bit long but highly informative.

Armed with the knowledge, I can appreciate the map a bit better and link it to the place that I have traveled in Jordan so far. The map is eastwards in contrary to the usual direction of the map nowadays. It appears that Jordan river was once abundant with fishes which sadly I cannot see it much nowadays.

The vivid drawing of Jeruselam has inspired me to put it as my next destination of visit. And after absorbing various location of the map, I enjoy my praying session there which ends my visit in Jordan with a high.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Mosaics rule, but this is king!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Madaba is the city of mosaics and one can get very blasé about them, but when you look at the map and realise the detail done almost 1500 years ago, you cannot help but stop, wonder and marvel at the skill and patience of those who fitted two million small pieces of stone together to make such a masterpiece. So much has been written by experts that I can add nothing to its history, but from a visitor's point of view, if you only have a short time in Madaba this is THE must see spot. Also, do make time to look at even a few of the mosaic portraits that line the walls and pillars, where you can see at close quarters the workmanship needed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madaba Mosaic Map also viewed

Madaba, Madaba Governorate
 
Madaba, Madaba Governorate
Madaba, Madaba Governorate
 

Been to Madaba Mosaic Map? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing