We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Astonishing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerash Ruins

Jerash Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Jerash Half-Day Trip from Amman
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Jerash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Astonishing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Absolutely breathtaking experience. I (and my Latin-speaking history-buff husband) had never heard of Jerash, and ere only fortunate enough to experience it as we were in Jordan with Jordanian friends. Truly spectacular sights. Guides are available-- basically locals who you pay what you wish to tell you what may or may not be historic fact. There's a little shop on the way in with snacks and drinks, otherwise facilities are minimal. I absolutely place this up there with Petra on must-sees in Jordan!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    271
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I've been a couple of times now ... once to visit the site and once for a concert during the Jerash Festival. Seeing the sun going down here whilst waiting for the concert to start was a really stunning experience. I'm not sure you get the best out of the site by just walking around, you really need a guide to point out the details and the significance of the different areas. But even so, the amphitheatre, temple and the roman street are just amazing ... so well preserved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misty244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The best roman ruins I have ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I really wasn't expecting to see what I did. The ruins are huge and so well preserved. You can really visualise the area in its original form. This is perhaps the best kept roman ruins. Some of the temples and arches are huge. You are really free to explore the huge site, with many different sections. It's hard to describe until you see for yourself. It's worth tasking some time to sit back and absorb it in because it is very surreal. The entry cost is 8 d and it probably takes 2-3 hours to walk around at a leisurely pace. There is a visitor centre, toilets and shops by the entrance but apart from that, you can really wonder and explore on your own. We visited in low season so we came across very few visitors and visited each part of the site on our own. This really added to the experience. The site is really easy to get to- it's a 1 hr bus ride from the north bus terminal in amman (1d). Check for return bus times during Ramadan. Amazing!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
382 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fantastic.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Put aside a good good chunk of time for this site. These ancient Greco-Roman ruins are indeed awesome. One of the cities of the Decapolis (the ten cities )this Roman city of Gerasa is one of the best preserved Roman cities. Stroll through Hadrian's Arch to the Hippodrome, to the South Theatre, Oval Forum and beyond to the Temple of Artemis. It's an up-and-down walk and a long one, so gear up on sensible shoes, a wide-brimmed hat and carry plenty of water.
A good guide is a bonus, otherwise read up on the place before you go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Jerash ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Well marked hippodrome, Byzantine church mosaics and ruins as well as Roman ruins. We hired a local guide who was knowledgable and very informative. 2 very well preserved amphitheaters, temples, Roman roads, baths and vast open spaces for future archeology digs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karla I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerash Ruins also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jerash Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing