We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More roman than Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerash Ruins

Jerash Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Jerash Half-Day Trip from Amman
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Jerash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“More roman than Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Of course I understand that the place with the more ancient roman remains is Rome, but they´re all scattered in between the modern city. In Jerash you can see a roman city by itself, similar to Pompeii. Some more ruins might be under the town, but most part has been preserved in relative isolation.
The place is so big you will need several hours to go over it. Along with Ajlum, it makes a full day loop tour from Amman.
Be sure to bring good walking shoes, a bottle of water, sunscreen, an umbrella or hat and a full battery in your camera. Hiring a local guide is a plus to fully appreciate all the spots.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    271
    22
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I liked it more than Petra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

When my tour guide mentioned that we would be visiting Jerash, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had visited Petra the day before and as much as Petra is more advertised than Jerash, I will say that I loved Jerash a lot more. I guess it is influenced by my obsession with Ancient Civilizations. I was blown away by all the temple ruins and the history that was attached to them. On that day, the sky was so blue which was a beautiful contract to the beige colour of the ruins. I even got to ride around on an old roman style chariot in the small arena.

The down side to Jerash would be some of the local people there. I was traveling alone and more than once was approached with the offer to take my picture. Of course I agreed but then one picture turned in a several in different angles and in different places (all a few meters from each other) and then afterwards he asked for a tip, which I gave them. I do have a few lovely pictures as a result but if you don't want a mini photoshoot every few meters then politely decline any offer for pictures.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDarkLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ancient ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The entrance fee is 8JD for non Jordanians and you walk through a little market souk - worth having a look - I regretted later. The ruins are in excellent conditions and comapred to other sites I had seen, it is kept very clean. You can easily spend half a day there and unlike comments I saw elsewhere it is possible to find a bit of a shade (the theatre) to have your lunch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kasiulka6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were set to tour the ancient ruins of Jerash and had no idea what to expect. All I can say s wow, and why had we not heard about this axing site. Don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoney89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Having never heard of Jerash, we felt overwhelmed with the magnificent well preserved ruins here in north Jordan. Having visited Roman ruins all over Europe, I can honestly say these are the most impressive. Only relatively recently uncovered with acres more to dig up, Jordan has a real secret treasure here. I would recommend hiring a local guide at the site, they are very knowledgable and enthusiastic and give you a great feel for the place. We visited in Ramadan in low season (July). It was very quiet and very hot so I took a UV parasol which was needed. We also had plenty of water with us. There isn't a great deal of shade, so dress appropriately and wear sunscreen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerash Ruins also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jerash Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing