We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November 2012”
Review of Jerash Ruins

Jerash Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Private Half Day Tour to Jerash
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Jerash Half-Day Trip from Amman
More Info
$106.25*
and up
Private Jerash Half Day Tour from Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Jerash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“November 2012”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I thought I knew a lot about Roman ruins but I had never heard of Jerash until we visited as part of an organised tour of Jordan. The place is stunning and I had a surreal experience sitting in a perfectly preserved Roman amphitheatre listening to 3 bagpipers from the Jordanian army playing all the Scottish favourites! This place is worth an all day visit - it closes around 4 p.m.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,265
    295
    26
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing Roman Ruins”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent the afternoon in Jerash, looking at the amazing Roman Ruins. There are guides available, and the gentleman we had was a fountain of knowledge. We could have spent another four hours at this brilliant site! A fantastic trip, only 45 minutes from Amman, well worth it. On the way back, we stopped in to watch olives being pressed, memorable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What the romans did for us.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A sprawling array of roman ruins in Jerash - take you walking boots, and plenty of time. Marvel at the streets, temples, hippodrome, ampitheatre and souks. Some sympathetic recontruction by a variety of multi-national archeologists help provide a feel of what life would have been like in this heaving metropolis in its day. Superb. Take a guide to get the full background info.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EddieRidgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible..........actually alking in the footsteps of the Romans”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Jerash is breathtaking and a serious rival for Petra as the best place to visit in Jordan. So much of the city has been preserved or painstakingly restored you are literally walking down Roman roads and with a little imagination can visualise where the Romans worked, lived and played.
Don't try to do Jerash without a local guide, if you're really lucky then you'll be guided by Mahmoud, his knowledge and passion for the site comes through at every turn. We could almost hear the chariots and the crowds as he talked about the hippodrome and the theatres. Breathtaking, beautiful and highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TOD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“best roman ruins in region, perhaps anywhere”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

jerash is a large complex, containing magnificent streets, temples, a theatre, a hippodrome and all fabulously preserved. i've never seen anything like this elsewhere in the near east or in europe. we arrived about 9am on a november friday and for the first couple of hours there was nobody else there. for lunch, avoid the two restaurants at the ruins and drive up the hill to the artemis restaurant. excellent food, with the bread made in front of you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerash Ruins also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jerash Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing