We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning ancient city & ruins”
Review of Jerash Ruins

Jerash Ruins
Book In Advance
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Private Half Day Tour to Jerash
More Info
$93.75*
and up
Jerash Half-Day Trip from Amman
More Info
$106.25*
and up
Private Jerash Half Day Tour from Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Jerash
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Stunning ancient city & ruins”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I've been to Jerash few times, as I'm Jordanian, however lived in Jordan for 5 years only .. The last trip (Feb 2012) though made me appreciate its great history .. Maybe you would wanna read about it before you visit, so you'll have a better understanding of the ruins, or you can hire a tour guide, that you'll find at the entrance .. You will meet some kids who will offer a guide, they're not rude & only making a living, so don't be rude to them if you refuse .. Take your time in enjoying the beautiful ancient ruins & the underground museum .. You will find some restaurants just outside with very yummy food :) .. On your way out, there are some little shops for souvenirs ..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damdoom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,284
    296
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Full old city civic centre”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Jarash itself is a nice agricultural village. The ruins are clear, reflecting a well organized Roman civic center. The color is fabulous. Takes a half day for a to see trip and a couple of days for the ones interested in archeology.
A lot of the sites are still uncovered; actually some of the old stones had been used in the building of modern houses (Pity).
40KM from Amman.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_Kloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Highly impressive Roman ruins”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I highly rate this impressive, beautiful site in Jordan. Nobody who visits Jordan should miss Jerash. I was surprised at just how well preserved the old Roman town was. I visited as a day trip from Jerusalem, which is quite easy and possible- either by hiring a taxi or by bus via Amman- despite a few annoyingly slow border controls.

Jerash was surprisingly, pleasantly free of the tourist hoardes. There is a relatively low admission price. You can pay a guide if you wish- official guides are available outside but a number of teenagers can be found inside offering to sell postcards, take photos for you, give you information about the ruins etc. I found them polite and not too much hassle. You’ll need at least an hour to see everything, even if you rush around, as the ruins are very expansive. Ideally you would want a half day to really appreciate everything here. There are many points of interest- don’t miss the rocking Roman columns (the movement is demonstrated by pushing the column, with a coin wedged at the base- it’s amazing). I enjoyed meeting the friendly, colourfully attired bagpipe player who appeared around midday in the amphitheatre and that was the best photo opportunity of the day!

During Ramadan in August the whole of Jordan seemed very quiet, almost eerily so during the day, so I can’t comment on the modern town of Jerash that sits next to the historical site, but there was a well-stocked tourist café within the grounds and a more traditional restaurant just outside where the car park is. Going out of the ruins you have the opportunity to buy souvenirs from one of the little bazaars. I doubt they’re the cheapest option if you’re in Jordan for a few days but I got a high quality traditional red and white Bedouin headdress for only £4 and the seller didn’t pressurise me to buy more. Do make time to visit the small underground museum (no additional charge)- it’s not very big but it’s presented with some style, well lit within a tunnel. Inside you can see exhibited some of the finer pieces from the columns, and vibrantly painted original stonework. My first trip to Jordan and hopefully not my last!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Superb Attraction”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The ruins are superbly maintained and the site is surprisingly extensive. They are simply stunning and there is a comfortable day of ambling needed to fully take in the sights. Guides are available at the main reception. One note of caution - if somebody offers to take photos for you, or to 'quickly' show you something then they will expect money from you - and in some cases quite an unreasonable amount. If you wish to avoid, just politely decline with a 'we are fine thank you' - no offence will b taken.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richardmalpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Large well preserved ruins”
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

As with the other reviews, I agree that it is very expansive and much cheaper admission than Petra. It will take at least an hour to see most of the ruins. 2 hours or more if needed to fully see and enjoy it slowly. The heat in august was intense. Be sure to bring water and sunscreen. Also bring drinks with you as the restaurant on the grounds will rip you off and charges 2 dinar for a can of coke. They are usually 1 dinar at most tourist locations and around .50 at the local stores. I did not use a guide, I don't think you need one however a guide book or map is a must. There are no signs or maps inside. So you never really know exactly what you are looking at. I can't believe for 8 dinar a person they can't put up some signs. It waswell preserved and fun to look at. There are two ampitheaters, one of which has a man in traditional Jordan clothing playing a bagpipe for tips. As with other tourists locations there are people trying to sell you jewelry, or charging you $ after they "offer" to take your picture. Im not sure why Jordan doesnt ban this There is a mini bazzar at the entrance where you can buy gifts. None of which looked worth buying. Overall a cool place. Enjoy.

Helpful?
1 Thank bebedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerash Ruins also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Jerash Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing