We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lebanese House Restaurant

Lebanese House Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Jerash
Price range: $15 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The ruins of the Greco -Roman city of GERASA are located in Jerash which is one of the largest and well preserved sites of Roman architecture in the world outside of Italy. We are proudly located in this ancient city that bursts with history, we have almost become a historical monument amongst the ancient ruins. No one can mention Jerash without thinking "Um Khalil" they are intertwined!
Bishop's Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Best meal we had in Jordan; can understand why people travel big distances to eat here. Lovely building; excellent food and good service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    77
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
444 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch but way Overpriced!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This particular restaurant has been in operation for many years and has always served a solid meal. It appears to now be owned by an touristic investment group.

There are a lot of parking spaces and most people that come late park along the narrow road. We like the restaurants two lower parking lots as when you depart you find an old restaurant checkered table-cloth on your front windscreen!! This really helps keep the car cool and is well worth the tip you give the parking attendant!!

We visited this restaurant on a Friday for lunch and I suggest you make reservations first in order to reserve a table on the open roof seating area. The other option is seating indoors on the ground floor. We were lucky as there was a small table upstairs that had just departed and we had a great seat on the small, tucked away outside balcony!!

The service was outstanding as our waiter was from Syria and he was very fast and polite in addition the busboys did an amazing job!!

The menu is quite extensive and of course has a Lebanese Cuisine. The salads were fresh; the hot appetizers were very good and we had the Lentil Soup, all were very, very taste. If you like mushrooms you must try the hot Mushrooms Provencal, they were just simply "out-of-this-world"!!

The only two disappointments were the 1) the Grilled Boneless Chicken, they said it was half a chicken but that must have been a very small chicken!! 2) The final check, it was way too much for what the three of us ate at lunch!! Now I will tell everyone the Lebanese House Restaurant is the most expensive restaurant in all of Jerash!!

They do have alcohol and of course for the smokers in the crowd they have the Shisha. Being on the open balcony the tables near us were smoking, but that Shisha smell did not affect our table.

They have a nice indoor Kid's Play Area that was very busy. The toilets were very clean and were well attended.

It was a very nice lunch dining experience, but with so many other restaurants to choose from in Jerash that are equally good, but for half the price!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasfromDamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“we went twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

friendly staff, live music, great food, shisha in the backrground, good example of tasty simple lebanese dishes

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
240 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Different special food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited after our trip to Jerash. The decoration is typical Lebanese ambience. Very cosy with a live singer too. The food was very nice and fresh like fattoush, spinach, pastries, bbq potatoes, eggplant mixes, tajjin, and the final dish was kafta, potatoes with rice. All very tasty. Every dish that finishes is directly replaced with another same for bread that kept coming. Service was a bit slow but manageable. Dessert was mhalabiyeh and we ended our visit with tea and coffee. Nice way to end your visit in jarash area. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Xena1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with fine menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great restaurant, and deservedly well-reviewed in Lonely Planet - just a few hundred metres south of the Hadrian's Gate entrance to the Roman ruins at Jerash. We ate here twice, the service was excellent, lots of people there (always a good sign) and the classic Lebanese dishes on offer were all delicious (mutabal, baba ganoush, labneh, tabbouleh, hummus, various salads. Our meal was marred though by one of us discovering two bits of plastic wrapper in our crab salad, on our return visit for an atmospheric evening meal. The restaurant were v apologetic and reduced our bill - but it spoiled a generally very positive experience. It was a cut above most of the restaurants we ate in during our 2-week holiday in Jordan - and we had a lot of good meals during that time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanese House Restaurant also viewed

Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
 
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
 
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
Jerash, Jerash Governorate
 

Been to Lebanese House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing