We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, just in front of the old Roman ruins”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hadrian's Gate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Jerash B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Me and my friends stayed in Hadrian's Gate Hotel and the best is the location and the service. The receptionist help us with everything we need. There are many bars and restaurants nearby. They have tea/coffee 24 hours and wi-fi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victormtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 124 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this small, father-and-son run establishment for one night in December. Though in no way the fault of the hotel (!) we had chosen absolutely the wrong time to visit Jerash - whereas the previous day it had been warm and sunny, our arrival brought a howling rainstorm and, on the next day, snow. The kind reception from the hotel management (a friendly conversation, a cup of tea, and an invitation to warm ourselves by the electric heater) was therefore much appreciated. The room was clean and very comfortable, with nice warm air con to combat the cold. We were the only people in the hotel on this particular night, so the shared bathroom was not a problem in practice, however a shared bathroom generally is not ideal (especially in a country where you have to think carefully about how you are dressed, so that it may not be acceptable to be seen in your pyjamas!) and is not really reflected in the price. The bathroom was clean but was just a basic wet room.

Breakfast, too, was basic - just a few essentials on a tray. But it was served with a flourish and an interesting conversation with the manager's son. He gave us helpful advice about the weather and our onward journey. In short, I think you're paying slightly over the odds but there is not a huge amount of choice and the site of Jerash is well worth a good few hours' visit so it makes sense to stay and to stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the left as you go in have functioning heating, so choose these in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is! Its more like staying at a friends home. The owner and his father couldnt be any more friendly and welcoming. Always on hand with information or just a cup of tea and a chat. Our room was huge and had everything you could need. The location is right opposite hadrians gate and you have a view of it from the breakfast terrace. I cant stress enough what a friendly town Jerash is, we were made to feel welcome from everyone and where given lots of free treats from shop owner slike chocolates dates and fruit. This might have had something to do with the lack of tourists at the time due to the syria crisis but i imagine its always a pretty freindly place.
Breakfast was basic but tasty and the fresh bread was a real treat.
Probably is expensive compared with what we are used in other countries but we found jordan very expensive on the whole anyway. Being made to feel welcome and valued as a customer definately outways the price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hadrian's Gate is a nice place with friendly staff, but they are definitely taking advantage of their status as the only hotel in the area. The prices here are a bit steep for the offering in my opinion (more than twice the price of a respectable budget room, without A/C, breakfast, or a view of the Gate), and management was not willing to discount much, even when we looked to be leaving with most of their rooms empty during the off-season. One nice amenity was the mini fridge, which allowed us to provision delicious fresh food from the town center and save on meals. I would love to see a few budget places crop up in this area - I imagine they would do well! For now, I recommend that fellow cheap-o's take the day trip from Amman to Jerash and back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel has very friendly personnel and a great location in front of the ruins. We received a lot of good tips concerning our day trip to Ajloun and later back to Amman. The rooms as well as the bathrooms are very tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patryk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel, warm welcome and plenty of hospitality. The room was very clean and the attention to detail was fantastic. This was the best hotel we stayed in and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: A very clean and friendly hotel ideally situated just near the entrance to the Roman sights. The bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is perfectly based for an overnight break in Jerash. The welcome and coffee are excellent. There are only four rooms or so but really pleased that we were able to get one of them. the Father & Son are very knowlegable for the area and it was just a Joy sitting on the terrace sipping turkish coffee watching the world go by and with the view of Ancient Ruins as the backdrop. We only were able to contact them by Phone to reserve a room as there is no email or website - this does add to the Charm of the place. the room was spotless and had a large Fridge too. - Bathroom was also nice and clean. we slept well and would recomend this place to anyone - Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerash
0.0 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#28 of 149 in Amman
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#21 of 149 in Amman
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Breeze Resort
Mountain Breeze Resort
#1 of 2 in Al Salt
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Olive Branch Hotel
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Dead Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadrian's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadrian's Gate Hotel

Address: Jerash Main Road | opposite Hadrian's Arch, Jerash 26173, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Jerash Governorate > Jerash
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jerash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing