We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hadrian's Gate Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hadrian's Gate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Jerash B&B and Inns
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is just a great place to stay. Walid was just wonderful. He could not have been more helpful or friendly. Our room was superb and spotless. The view from the terrace over to the fantastic Roman gateway was awesome. It is difficult to find anything wrong with the hotel. Walid helped us with places to visit and catching a bus back to Amman was very easy. One suggestion would be that it would be great if they served some food other than breakfast as after a long day in the ruins you do not alway want to go into the town or to the restaurants but there are plenty around.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked very good ours was en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Meg1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    33
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
68
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Although we only spent one night here, it was very enjoyable. Walid was easy to work with over email to set up our booking.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our room. He provided tea that night and also allowed us to set a time for breakfast the next day. After 24-hours of flying, a quick trip to Shawarma Reem from the airport, and an hour drive to Jerash, it was nice to be welcomed to a solid hotel that provided good comfort at a fair price.

The rooms have a million channels of TV, good fans, a little plug-in to keep mosquitoes away (we only saw one), and ok shower pressure. The breakfast on the terrace overlooking Hadrian's Gate was a great way to start the day. Walid was very kind and let us use his computer for a few minutes to shoot off a couple e-mails. We really enjoyed our conversations with him and the insight he provided into the local area and the country as a whole.

The location is directly across from the Jerash arqueological grounds and 30 meters from Hadrian's Gate. Couldn't pick a better place to stay. We definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
369 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located. The rooms are quite basic, but other than a shower that was a little chilly and not very powerfull, the rooms are fully functional and clean. The bed we had was huge and the breakfast on the roof terrace on our first day, with views over to the ruins was just lovely. Walid is really helpful at getting back to you via email and can be contacted directly on walidfriend.2007@yahoo.com to make your booking - hes very fast!

The best things about this place though is its location. Its literally opposite Hadrians Gate and the ruins take 5 minutes to get to. Wonderful!

Room Tip: The rooftop room is very nice and slightly more expensive. We stayed there and its big. However we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipstones, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in room 105 which is the room that has the huge private terrace overlooking Hadrian's gate and the whole Roman ruins. The hotel owner could not have been more helpful, he gave us details of opening times for the Roman site, local supermarkets, restaurants and a great bakery a few minutes walk down the road that sells the Arabic baked sweets, very nice!! Our room was spotless, absolutely immaculate, we had breakfast served upstairs on the terrace. They have a washing machine in case you have anything that needs doing. We loved this hotel. It doesn't look like much from the outside but once you walk up from the street to the entrance level it's great. When we were walking around the town so many people stopped us to say, welcome and ask us what we were doing, it's a great town and if we'd have known how lovely this place was we'd have stayed more than one night.

Room Tip: Room 105 is massive and has a great private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahd001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We didn't expect such a great hotel in Jerash. We chose it as it is the only hotel actually in Jerash. It is literally next to the amazing main site in Jerash. The room we had was completely new looking Nd modern, spacious and what you would expect if you were paying way more. It's quiet and breakfast is made when you want. Walid is an incredibly helpful guy. Don't hesitate to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancasterRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Not really much to say except a great hotel, the location couldn't be better, the staff nicer and the rooms cleaner not to mention the exceptional view of the Hadrian's gate overlooking it between breakfast. The bathroom in our room was shared but there are rooms with private bathroom. There's even coffee and tea always at your disposal. So overall this hotel is definitely a place to stay in Jerash. Highly recommended :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra_G_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
278 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at this quiet hotel with a perfect location right across the street from the ruins in Jerash. Our room (Room 105) was very clean, quiet, and big. Management was extremely helpful and kind. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to spend a day or two in this small village of Jordan. No complaints here!!!

Room Tip: Room 105 is excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeycee0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jerash
0.0 mi away
Mosaic City Hotel
Mosaic City Hotel
#1 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#16 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moab Land Hotel
Moab Land Hotel
#3 of 11 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Jordan - Dead Sea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hadrian's Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hadrian's Gate Hotel

Property: Hadrian's Gate Hotel
Address: Jerash Main Road | opposite Hadrian's Arch, Jerash 26173, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Jerash Governorate > Jerash
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jerash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing