We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”
Review of Kerak Castle

Kerak Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.75*
and up
Private Half Day Kerak: Kings Highway Tour from Amman
More Info
$155.50*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Jordan Castles Tour from Amman
Attraction details
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

At first we were just wandering aimlessly around the castle not sure where to go first, then a local guide found us. He was very friendly and took us on a proper tour of the castle including the prison, kitchen, stables and mosque complete with interesting stories and posing for photos. It was one of our favourite tours while in Jordan and we recommend getting a local guide while there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    127
    65
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corbera de Llobregat, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not just ruins”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Massive and well conserved (or restored) castle you can view before entering the city. The guided tour is a must and included in the entrance fee, so as the museum inside, altogether good enough to obtain a quite complete image of how could be the live of the crusaders and later inhabitants of these sort of places.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank homedelsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out'n'About
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not a major tourist attraction”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's the ruins of a castle! Not particularly big and not much of interest to look at. Yep, that's it. I've been to ruined and intact castles in plenty of countries and this one is just average. You'd only need a hour at most to look around. One Italian tour group arrived by bus, were guided through the site and were out and headed to a restaurant next door within 25 minutes.

Only 1 dinar entry so worth a look.

'Tour guides' rather persistant at the entry point. They may have made more of the site for us, but descriptions of what ruined buildings are, can just as easily be recreated with your own fictional storyline.
Some great views down the valley and over the town of Kerak.
We used this as a tourist stop and some lunch on a trip between the Dead Sea and Petra and the timings worked well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NTIcedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A travel back to the crusaders times...do not miss it”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Kerak is an old town surroding the old - massive - crusaders castle... To highway to reach Kerak from Amman full of INCREDiBLE landscapes of the desert and many wadis... Visit the castle acompany by one of the local guides... They will take you some of the hidden rooms and corridors...is like travel in time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mxmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Guided tour worth it”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did take the guide to walk around the castle and believe it was worth it. He did make a few jokes and made the visit more helpful. If you have a good guide book, you can make it on your own because sometimes the details were a bit short. We did have a book so we read it also. We did go back on our own after the guided tour. The little museum is worth a visit. The secret basement was under renovation so we couldn't see it. Very impressive castle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulienQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerak Castle also viewed

 
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 

Been to Kerak Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing