We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for sure”
Review of Farah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Farah Hotel
Ranked #42 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great value for sure”
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights in Farah. The hotel is very simple but very good value. The staff is very friendly and helpful and actually speaks English, which is a plus in Jordan, since 99% of the people don't really qualify as "english speakers". The rooms are fairly clean and comfy and the bathrooms are OK, not more than that. If you're looking for a place to crash, for a low cost, this is the place! The staff will help you with anything you need and the location is pretty convenient, although this part of town (downtown) is not much alike Baghdad. There are 2 restaurants near the hotel. One is Cairo (it's a must! Absolutely marvelous Arab food for a very low price) and the other is even closer to the hotel and only serves Hommus, Beans and Falafel (Ask the guy in the reception, Ahmed, and he will tell you where it is. You'll mingle amongst the locals and eat great food for a ridiculous price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celsocg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
6
49
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
171 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We booked through hostelword.com and this worked very well. The hotel is perfectly located right in the center of Amman. As the street is a bit off the main streets, street noice is no problem whatsoever. All main tourist attraction are within easy walking reach.
The twin room was very basic, but with a ceiling fan and AC. The bathroom was tiny, functunal but clean. Breakfast was basic bread, butter and cream cheese. Eatable, but nothing special. Reception staff was friendly and always helpful.This hotel, better call it hostel, perfectly served its purpose. I would return if coming to Amman again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Farah is a nice hostel situated right in old Amman. rooms are ok and being on 6th floor we had a nice view of the city. the staff is very helpful and common room is a good meeting place

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This is a backpacking hostel, nothing else. With pillows a metre high and a bed so hard you could use it for a chopping board, I had a rough sleep here. I found the place to be clean and very well organised though; quiet location.
Despite the look of the rum area that is Downtown, the hotel is within easy reach of the Roman Theatre and a few resturants. Make sure you pop into Habiba nearby for sweets -they have tins of the stuff! Great presents.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmikeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

MidEastTripper
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Had a great stay at the Farah, staff very helpful and pleasant, room and shared bathroom clean, back off the main Downtown strip so not too noisy. Internet and wi-fi available. There's also a lift. Very comfy and well priced. The tours offered are also competitively priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazascube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel based on mainly positive reviews, but we have to say that the room we were given was dusty and dirty. In our entire holiday, this was one room where my nose leaked non-stop (and we have stayed in budget places in Egypt and Asia). I'd to clean the fridge top which was covered with what looked like spilled sugar and dust, and other table tops. The carpets looked like they haven't been properly cleaned/dusted in years. The only clean items were the bed sheets and towels. On the up side, we had free WIFI and breakfast, the staff was friendly and informative, and the location downtown was fantastic--close to the souk, sights and tasty food outlets.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We have been there, originally for one night, but then we had to stay two more due to the Volcano ash problem. The people where very friendly, the location is central and the price/quality ratio was good.
If you are looking for an economic place this is one of the palce where to stay.
WiFi available, cleaness of the room good

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChiccoVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.2 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#18 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#22 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#62 of 143 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#17 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 143 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farah Hotel

Property: Farah Hotel
Address: 6 King Ghazi Street, behind Arab Bank | next to Cinema al Hussein, Amman, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 143 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Farah Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Jordan from the Farah Hotel! With us you will get the most peaceful nights sleep yet we are also deep in the heart of Amman's historic Downtown area. Famous to travelers for its easy, welcoming style, our hotel's lounge is a great place to meet other travelers and exchange stories over mint tea or breakfast which is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing