We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Farah Hotel
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Bucks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked Farah Hotel as they advertised sightseeing trips on their website but didnt mention that these had to have a minimum number to run, so while we did have an excellent trip to Petra, the Northern Jordan trip didn't run and we had to organise this separately using the advise of the really friendly receptionist. He did give us a great itinerary & advise on buses etc but didn't mention that as we were going out on a Friday, that all the public buses would stop running at mid day - so while we got to Jerash... we did have to organise a taxi back to the hotel.
Trip problems aside.. we had a ensuite room which was basic in the extreme and quite depressing. Strip lighting added to the general air of an institution, the sockets were hanging off the walls and the mini bar was a none too clean fridge with a few bottles of water. Oddly, it had a price list for chocolate & soft drinks but they were not in the minibar/fridge. There was a beside lamp but it didnt have a plug.

The linen was very poor - seemed clean enough though rough and the towels supplied were threadbare.

The room itself wasn't terribly clean and the bathroom was dirty. Whilst my friend was showering I did pop into the communal bathrooms and they were foul.

Breakfast was poor, stale bread, hommous and some eggs. Also, the hotel doesn't close its main front door and some feral cats seem to live in the hotel corridors.. not a problem, unless a kitten gets separated from its mum...keeping up a continual wailing throughout the night...

I appreciate that Farah is a backpacker hotel but even so, it should provide better then this. If you are booking Farah due to the trips - then consider another place. Trips are available in pretty much every hotel in Amman and there are better, cleaner places to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
6
49
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Don't listen to Lonely Planet...there is no Garden here...only few trees in a open dump...
But price is fair and the rooms are ok
The shared toilets are ok even if nobody really clean them everyday.
The people at the front desk are absolutely nice!
The main problem here that everybody smokes at the reception, so it is very hard to use the shared room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calinixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farahhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Farah Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Calinixa,
Thank you for staying at Farah Hotel and for taking of your time to write this review.
Kindly note that your comments will be taken in consideration to help our guests enjoy their stay at Farah Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want to feel at home in your travels, stop by Farah Hotel in Amman. The welcome is warm upon meeting Na'im you feel as if you have met him before. He could be your Uncle or an old friend. The staff too is very helpful and the location is ideal. You are near the landmark Al Hussein Theatre and there are plenty of taxis around. It was quiet at night and is also near, and I highly recommend Al Hashim Restaurant. You will meet just the kind of people you would like to at Hotel Farah.

Room Tip: A single room is a bargain. Get one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickOKeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here twice on my way in and out of Amman (room 501 and 601, 14 JOD for a single occupancy with shared bathroom).
Pros: very basic but clean room. Nice and helpful staff at the reception desk. Central location (Downtown Amman) -> near the Roman theatre etc. yet "quieter" as located in a small street off the main road. Nice view from the room window.
Cons: no towels in the room (I got one upon request, although completely worn out). Very very basic shared bathroom. Hot water only in the morning. Both bedrooms were smelling of cigarette. People seem to be also allowed to smoke downstairs in the common room despite the "no smoking" signs on the wall (!?)
I had a look at Jordan Tower Hotel before going back to Farah hotel and was shown a much worse alternative (much worse than the pictures on the Jordan Tower Hotel website) so decided to go for Farah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked one night and walked out. The room was cold and very basic. Bedding consisted of worn sheets and a grubby blanket and two towels worthy only of drying a wet dog. The toilet was disgusting. If you are a backpacker bring your own sleeping bag. For 5 Dinar less we stayed at the Jordan Tower Hotel with clean modern bedding, great reception, staff and wonderful breakfast. Cheaper doesn't always mean less quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farahhotel, Front Office Manager at Farah Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to hear your complaint.
Kindly note that all of our rooms have a heater, you just had to turn it on.
If you had complaint to our receptionist he would let you know that hot water is available always in the morning.
We hope you had a nice trip in Jordan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here one night on my way out of Jordan and it was pretty much everything I expected. I asked for a single with bathroom and ended up with three beds to myself.Rooms were basic, but clean and warm (it was winter).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miesbach, Germany
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

we staid two times in Farah Hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated in Downtown and is proposing good rooms for the price. perfect for backpackers. only the breakfast could be better, missing some a regional one. but just in front of the hotel there is a perfect place for.

staff and manager are helping with anything you need: rental car, taxi driver for airport pick-up etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jordan Tower Hotel
Jordan Tower Hotel
#16 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#20 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 148 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#59 of 148 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farah Hotel

Property: Farah Hotel
Address: 6 King Ghazi Street, behind Arab Bank | next to Cinema al Hussein, Amman, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 148 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Farah Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Jordan from the Farah Hotel! With us you will get the most peaceful nights sleep yet we are also deep in the heart of Amman's historic Downtown area. Famous to travelers for its easy, welcoming style, our hotel's lounge is a great place to meet other travelers and exchange stories over mint tea or breakfast which is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Farah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing