We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy access to the Dead Sea: Two bits of advice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amman Tourist Beach

Amman Tourist Beach
Ranked #26 of 67 Tours in Amman
Attraction details
Fremantle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Easy access to the Dead Sea: Two bits of advice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were not staying at a local resort so I was anxious about how we would get changed or showered after our salty experience. Amman Tourist Beach was ideal. There were lockers and changing facilities available (with deposit) and a walk down quite a few steps to the beach. We took a newspaper with us so we could enhance our photograph - reading the paper while floating. An amazing feeling and well worth it. We had a quick swim in the clean pool at the top afterwards.

Two pieces of advice. Take money down to the beach to buy the mud - we had to climb back up the steps again to our locker to get it. Don't put the mud too close to your eyes. You are encouraged to wash the mud off in the sea but if you get it in your eyes it really stings. One guy near us had to be led from the water as he couldn't open his eyes.

Do the mud thing. It makes a great photo! Just work out who is going to take the photos before you all get covered. We took it in turns to float and snap pics.

The buffet lunch was good with a large variety of salads and desserts.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidAussie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    47
    56
    39
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visited in March and the beach was almost free of tourists. Great compromise between the free public beach and entering through a hotel (50JD). We paid 16JD each and didn't feel stared at in our bathing suits. There was also a large pool, changing area, lockers, showers, gift shop, and concessions. The only con is that you could pay for the mud but there wasn't any on the beach. Also don't expect picturesque tropical paradise beach scene. Bring a blanket if you want to sit on the beach.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Radrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Coming from Australia it seems so foreign to have to pay to go to the beach but this seems the norm in this area. On the dead sea on the Jordan side you have the choice of staying the night and thus accessing the water or using one of the day hotels. We chose the latter and had a buffet lunch, hired towels, used their cold showers afterwards. The dead sea itself was phenomenal. I can't explain what it's like to not be able to sink. We pasted ourselves in the rejuvenating mud too. Not sure how effective it was but it was fun. Be warned you can't stay in the water too long as the salt begins to sting. Make sure you dip your finger on for a taste!

Helpful?
Thank Laura_Alex_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saonara, Italy
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Floating in the dead sea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the reason to come here, the experience of floating in the Dead Sea is really amazing and funny, just be careful that the water doesn't get in your eyes or you'll cry and a lot.
We went here in a cold december but the water was pleasant for a swim.
The Amman Beach is a cheap resort, so you won't have a wonderful beach (but it's clean), you don't have luxury changing rooms or showers, the lockers.. don't lock.. but it's quite cheap, so if you don't mind, or you're on a budget, you won't be too much disappointed.
The mud is available for a small fee near the beach.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaoloStefani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Crappy Beach”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was pretty excited to check out the Dead Sea as I'd heard all of these great things abou the healing properties the thick salt-water holding your body afloat. I took a day trip from Amman to Jerash and then to the Dead Sea. The taxi driver recommended Amman Beach because it was the cheapest to get into. It was 16 Dinars which meant it was over $20. Not so cheap. It was a TINY beach and was fenced on both sides so there was nowhere to walk, which is one of the things I like to do at the beach. It was in the low 70s and the women were pretty covered up so I figured whipping out my little bikini would attract too much attention and I would have been a little chilly, anyway. The sand wasn't very nice but the water looked pretty nice and was warm. It was fun to watch people floating in fun positions from the salt water. Others covered themselves in black mud. One could see Israel on the other side of the sea. My friend and I didn't stay more than hour because we got bored. I'm sure other beaches at the Dead Sea would have been nicer and much more worthwhile. This one was just tiny.

There are also a TON of tourist stores on the highways all around Jordan selling Dead Sea products. They are very expensive and I can order Dead Sea products in the U.S. for less. Shampoo was over $10, bath salts were over $10, facial moisturizers and masks could be over $50. It was ludicrous. Funny enough, the cheapest Dead Sea products I found were at Amman Airport of all places! It was 25%-50% of the prices that I saw in multiple other tourist shops around Jordan.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amman Tourist Beach also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Jordan
Jordan, Middle East
 
Sweimah, Dead Sea Region
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to Amman Tourist Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing