We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of BelleVue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BelleVue Hotel
Ranked #45 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Amman. This one ranks on the bottom of my list.

Where do I start? Arriving late at night with a proper booking in hand, the manager told me that they had no room for me. They acknowledged my reservation, but simply told me that they are overbooked. Their policy is first come- first served. If the hotel is full, they send their guests to a nearby 3 star hotel. The manager doesn't seem to be terribly bothered with this.
I learned the next day that some colleagues were told to share rooms when the hotel is full...

Rooms can be big, but are quite old fashioned. If you are allergic to cigarette, this hotel is not for you. You can smell cigarette everywhere, even in your room.
My neighbors smoked cigarette, and the smell was coming through the door...

The other major problem is that the hotel is very noisy. Isolation from one room to another is almost inexistent. I could hear the TV from the three rooms nearby. If your neighbors talks, even not loudly, you will hear them. Ditto with discussions in the corridor.

As for the food (buffet breakfast and buffet lunch/dinner), quality is very average and certainly not always fresh.

Although advertised as 4 stars, it would barely get 2 stars in Europe.

Because of the above, and certainly mainly because of their overbooking policy, you will be better off staying someplace else. Choice of hotel abounds in Amman.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    54
    63
    23
    13
See reviews for
24
42
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This is my second visit to Jordan, the purpose of my visited to host a family party
I was looking here and there and one of my friend recommend me to host it in Bellevu hotel
I called the hotel by the phone before my leave and they emailed me all the stuff – very nice staff
I reach amman and I went to the hotel to see the hall and it was setup exactly as my request
The hostess, waiters are very friendly

Room Tip: Meeting room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaelBaidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Location is good. Rooms are small. Good Internet speed, shops available, calm atmosphere . 2nd floor rooms are bigger. 3rd floor rooms are smaller.Break fast average. Bed linen looks old.Restuarant prices are reasonable compared to other hotels.Front Desk Staff English knowledge is poor.Also Master card with chip will not work properly if you have swipe strips vanished due to over use. So always have cards with swiping facilities with you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We were recommended here by an expat after our trip to Israel. This is the second time we were in Amman. First time we stayed in city centre and was chaotic. This time, the hotel location was great and it's almost a different side of Amman. We loved the hotel. Clean, spacious (suite with double room price) and awesome breakfast. Will surely stay in this hotel again if return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We moved here from Le Royal after receiving shocking service and very poor value for money. The manager gave us a good deal, staying for two nights (2nd and 3rd September 2011), including breakfast. Rooms are basic - not European 4* standard - but clean and the beds are comfy. There's also a lot of in-room information about Jordan and the hotel facilities. Breakfast didn't have the variety of Le Royal but there was ample and the coffee was real (unlike Le Royal) and freshly made. The omelette chef was good and, again unlike Le Royal, the order was brought to your table enabling you to continue eating rather than waste time queuing. Our room overlooked Amman and the roundabout - providing excellent entertainment in the form of amusing traffic incidents and also spectacular sunsets over the city.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the atmosphere was much better than Le Royal. The hotel is well situated for a short taxi ride Downtown or a walk to nearby cafes and food shops, including the best shawarma in Jordan (same roundabout as the hotel). There's also a large supermarket nearby if, like us, you're on a budget.

I left my wallet behind in my room after check out. Housekeeping found it just as we called and the staff let a friend of ours pick it up and had also emailed me - before the phone call - to let us know it was there.

For what was on offer within our price range this was very good and the service set it apart from other hotels we stayed in during our Jordan trip. We paid 70JD/night for a double room, nearly half the price of Le Royal but not that much less in quality and far superior service.

Room Tip: Be willing to bargain for a discount and make sure it includes breakfast and taxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1987RoseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The room was large and clean, but a little run-down. Staff were friendly and it was convenient to the Citadel and other shops, restaurants, etc.

Because this was included in a packaged tour we don't know how much it cost. It was satisfactory for our purposes (a clean, comfortable place to sleep) but it wasn't anything special. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportTherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Forget about 4*, it does not mean anything, they probably fell from the sky. Service is very irregular, some employees are very nice and efficient, some other are terrible. Matter of chance, room service can be excellent or depressing, laundry is ok but you have to beg for having laundry bags and forms, they regularly tried to kick me off the sport room one hour before the closing hour, the smell in the room was quite bad.
Internet is a scam, outrageously expensive, and absolutely poor performance, don't even try to check your emails. Too expensive for being not even close to youth hostal standards.

Room Tip: in an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papaye976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.8 mi away
Corp Amman Hotel
Corp Amman Hotel
#19 of 145 in Amman
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 145 in Amman
790 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amman West Hotel
Amman West Hotel
#76 of 145 in Amman
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#24 of 145 in Amman
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#23 of 145 in Amman
199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BelleVue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BelleVue Hotel

Property: BelleVue Hotel
Address: Second Circle | Jabal Amman, Amman 11184, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BelleVue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting the Kingdom on leisure or business, The Belle Vue Amman is your best choice for accommodation with its prime location in the heart of the business and diplomatic district of Jabal Amman. All guest rooms offer a magnificent view of the city and include a wide range of amenities such as satellite TV, coffee/tea maker, non smoking rooms and kitchenette. After a stressful day, you may rejuvenate with a massage of your choice or kick back and relax at the Body Line Health Club which offers a full gym, sauna, steam room as well as Jacuzzi. The Belle Vue Amman offers a variety of food and beverage options to choose from. Ranging from the popular Down Town Italian Restaurant which contains its own authentic wood pizza oven, as well as Taj Restaurant which serves mouth-watering international buffet items as well as a A la Carte menu with a wide variety of dishes which you may enjoy thorough the day. For guests occupying the Club Floor Level Rooms, they will enjoy free access to the exclusive VIP Club Lounge which overlooks Amman. Club Guests will enjoy the tea buffet or choose from a wide variety of coffees, teas or chilled juices.Around the Hotel :5 Minutes walking distance to Rainbow Street30 minutes by car from Queen Alia International Airport. 10 minutes walk to the citadel or the Roman Theatre.The Hotel has some shopping facilities including:Famous Arabic sweet shop, Dead Sea beauty products, money exchange and more. The 24-hour reception staff are at your disposal if you wish to plan excursion trips within Jordan, such as to the Dead Sea, Rose Red City of Petra or Wadi Rum. Airport service and car rental available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your BelleVue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Amman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing