We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slight Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amman Airport Hotel
Ranked #95 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slight Improvement”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I reviewed this hotel back when it was the Golden Tulip Amman and gave it a very poor rating based mainly on the fact that when I was attempting to check out, the desk clerk accused me of being a prostitute. I complained a LOT to my employer, which frequently books with the hotel due to the nature of our travel, and I haven't experienced anything but super friendly service since. Can't be sure if it's because the service has improved, or because there's a big old note on my file or something, but it's definitely better.

That said, the people running this hotel just simply do not seem to understand how the business works. I've stayed here four times now, and every single time there's something illogically wonky. Last night a fellow traveler and I arrived at the hotel to a nearly empty (!) reception a little before 1 a.m.; I thought, okay, great, this is going to be fast! But upon hearing that we had reservations, the clerk directed us to the VIP room. Quite apart from there being nowhere to sit in the VIP room (was overrun by a family with about a million kids), how does having a reservation make one a VIP? Isn't that standard practice? While we waited (for about half an hour), we watched the regular reception desk check people in and out with stunning (for this place, anyway) efficiency. Finally got into my room somewhere around 1:45. Then the front desk placed my wakeup call a half hour earlier than I'd requested. I'd rather a half hour early than a half hour late, but when I'm not getting to bed until 2 a.m. because of your check-in inefficiencies, I'd rather not be woken at 6:30.

The rooms, etc., are fine. Not luxurious, but this isn't a place you're likely to spend more than a few hours, so it doesn't really matter. The regular advice still holds -- if your schedule allows for you to get into Amman proper then for crying out loud, give this place a miss and go to a hotel where they know how to run things. If not, just grin and bear it. Unless they accuse you of being a sex worker.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckcl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    127
    119
    74
    66
See reviews for
83
120
85
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarlat-la-caneda, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I arrived at Amman Airport at 0600 and had to leave the airport because of my baggage. I was encouraged by the airport staff to use the Amman Airport Hotel for a day room. All was fine until I checked in. I had to wait for half an hour by a junior manager who did not seem to understand the concept of a day room for eight hours. I asked for a no smoking room and was given a smoker's room. The room was dingy. There was ongoing refurbishment/maintenance work making a background noise. I asked for the agreed company discount with Corporate Traveller who have a reduced rate. I had lunch which was poor quality in a cafeteria style restaurant. When I checked out the unfriendly duty manager said I should be charged for two days as I arrived so early in the day and checked out at 1500. I was charged the full rack rate $135. I expressed my dissatisfaction in clear terms and left. I recommend that anyone contemplating staying in this hotel study the alternative options before booking. I travel a lot and this was one of the worst stays ever!

Room Tip: There are refurbished rooms so ask for one of these, otherwise you will be given a poor quality room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

Monfalcone, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Dear Sir/Madame
I would like to thank Amman Airport Hotel employees for their professional job,especially
about Mr Jamal Derbass, who was very nice and professional when i arrived at the hotel
in the miiddle of the night.Also the dinner time was good.
Best Regards, Alessandro Correnti

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessandro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The name of the hotel tells you pretty much everything you need to know. It's an airport hotel, so if you need to transit in Amman, it does its job. But don't expect anything more. The staff are keen to help and try to check you in as fast as possible, but as everyone arrives at the same time on the shuttle bus there is always congestion. It's faster to be first off the bus!
When you exit the terminal, there are no signs just a guy hovering outside with a badge pinned to his shirt. But the small white shuttle bus will come, eventually, and drive the 5 mins to the hotel. The rooms are basic, but clean, although mine stank of cigarettes. But chances are you're spending just a few hours there so you don't need anything more. But there is a nice looking pool if you have the time. If you book in advance then breakfast will probably be included and it's fine. Again, it does what it says on the tin but nothing more.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators - an airport hotel has people coming and going all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don't believe all the reviews that you read about this hotel, also called The Golden Tulip - Airport Amman. Our flight from UK arrived late in the evening, picked up our hire car at Airport and then few minutes later parked at the hotel, checked in and ready for good nights rest before leaving for a ten day tour. Saw no point in going into Amman to then have to drive back out again next day. Repeated the process at the end of our trip. All the staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. It has a restaurant, coffee shop, bar, good pool, what else do you need at an Airport hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel in transit on a couple of occasions and more recently in April 2013. Be warned this hotel caters for many transit passengers and this can result in lengthy check in times or having to wait excessively for a room to become available. Pros are decent food and free shuttle bus to and from the airport and cons (as already mentioned) and sometimes dirty rooms, no doubt due to the fast turnaround of travelers..

Avoid if possible..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The absolute only reason to stay here is convenience, i.e. if you arrive into Amman very late and have a very early morning connection to make. I have stayed here several times and each time been subjected to a nearly one-hour check-in process, even when arriving at 2am. The rooms are generally of the sort that make you wish you'd packed your flip flops to wear in the shower and the breakfast buffet is not well tended at all. It seems to be particularly grim during Haj season, when the management is trying to flip rooms as quickly as possible. At least there's free wifi and a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natasha96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amman
16.2 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#9 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mosaic City Hotel
Mosaic City Hotel
#1 of 10 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mariam Hotel
Mariam Hotel
#2 of 10 in Madaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Moab Land Hotel
Moab Land Hotel
#3 of 10 in Madaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
17.7 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#5 of 142 in Amman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
17.9 mi away
Amman Marriott Hotel
Amman Marriott Hotel
#11 of 142 in Amman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amman Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amman Airport Hotel

Property: Amman Airport Hotel
Address: Queen Alia International Airport | Airport Street, Amman 11104, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Amman
#41 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amman Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amman Airport Hotel is a four star hotel, it contains 304 newly renovated rooms. The hotel is located in a distinguished location within the Queen Alia international Airport zone only one mile away from the airport terminal. The hotel offers 24 hours free Meet & Greet and a free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and vice verse. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as GYM, outdoor pool, and garden to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amman Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Airport Amman Hotel Amman
Golden Tulip Amman
Amman Golden Tulip
Alia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing