We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is...”
Review of Toledo Amman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Toledo Amman Hotel
Ranked #13 of 144 Hotels in Amman
Certificate of Excellence
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
736 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 477 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Looking for the Ritz in the centre of town? Nope? Well you will not be disapointed. The Toledo is a hotel which is what it is. A 3 star largely group based overnighter about a mile from down town Amman. We were in an Explore Group and so had no choice but if I was doing my normal Bailey Tours on an Inde' basis I would stay here if I secured a rate under 50 notes. Breakfast good. Staff friendly. Bedrooms clean and fine. Call to Prayer acts as Alarm Clock at the back of Toledo which can be, how can I put it annoying?

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    379
    177
    31
    18
See reviews for
112
266
117
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff is very helpfull, we had a problem with the airco from our rental car, the man behind the desk called Alomo rental cars to solved our problem. Breakfast is ok, dinner buffet is good for the price you pay, 10JD. Amman is a big city, it's, not so easy to find your way there. If you stay in Amman, you must visit the old city Jerash, it's about 50km from Amman. Once you get out of Amman, it's easy to get to Jerash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Located on the edge of downtown Amman this hotel is well positioned for a mosque and the shopping mall. The rooms were basic but comfortable and we were fortunate to have one where the call to prayer did not wake us. Breakfast was a mix of Arabic and Western styles and was worthy of more than 3 stars.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in Toledo Hotel for several nights as part of an organised trip. I shared a twin room with a friend, and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I was woken up at 5am by the call to prayer from the local mosque, but that's all part of the experience!

The food was good. Our group was made to feel welcome with food put on for us at well after midnight, when we arrived slightly late from our flight. The buffet breakfast was also good value - definitely worth getting if you're heading out for a long day.

The location was OK-ish. It was a fair walk to get anywhere interesting in Amman, for example the Citadel, but then taxis would have been available. There didn't seem to be much going on in the immediate neighbourhood. The staff were generally friendly, and provided a map of the city on request. It would be good if information about the city was more obvious at reception.

The hotel had a very slow wifi connection, but there was also a public computer available for 2 dinar an hour.

The only other downside to the hotel - and common to all the hotels I stayed at in Jordan - was the lifts, which were exceedingly slow! There also didn't appear to be an alternate staircase, so it was wait for a lift or nothing!

If I come back to Amman, i'd definitely consider staying here again, but I would probably also look at the location and prices of other places as well. As an aside, if you are in Amman, it is definitely worth organising a day trip up to Jaresh, which is a fantastic place with loads of well preserved history!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArtfulBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked one night on my own and had a fabulous suite. Was immaculate except the bathroom, which had clear evidence he toilet wasn't clean. Would've called housekeeping, but was 2:00 am. I had a sound sleep and heard no mosque. Then I joined a group and was switched to a twin room, which was half the size. The bathroom was clean, but I didn't really feel the sheets were...it might be just in my mind, but it had a duvet cover (no top sheet) and I always hate those in hotels because I'm not sure they're washed every time between people. Also this new room was right next to a very loud mosque.
Having said that, staff were great and location was decent and there's a reason I bring sleeping bag liners when I travel.

Room Tip: On side away from the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdnclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is are starting point for a 9 day tour of Jordan, with Go Explore, Lawrence`s Arabia tour.
Private transfer from the airport, via Holiday Taxis.com
What a joke they are, no one waiting for us, after searching around a local company helped us, and called are transfer company locally, eventually a driver turned up and we got underway, not a great start. No reason given why he wasn’t waiting for us with are name on a card?? Avoid Holiday taxi`s.com if you can. Ours was booked as part of a package, so we had no say in it, I will be looking a lot more closer in the future for any transfers that has anything to do with holiday Taxi`s.com

It took about 40min for the transfer to the hotel. The car was fine and it was pleasant journey to the hotel. First impression, The hotel looked ok, from the outside.
We walked into reception, all looks good, nice clean, and friendly all the staff spoke fairly good English as well.
We were the first to arrive to join are group for the tour, as we had just transferred in from Tel aviv Jerusalem having spent a few days on our own exploring Israel and Bettelheim.
Check it was fine, lets go check out the room and the rest of the hotel, Strange layout, you don’t up in the lift you go down, it seems like the hotel is built into the side of a hill, the front entrance is at street level one side, then you go down a couple of levels to the rooms that overlook the back, a big square, we were told they have a weekly market in the square, never saw it while there. The back area does look scruffy and tatty.
As for the room, not a bad size, but it had single beds, not what we had booked,
But it was clean and looked ok, as for the bathroom, same old thing, just not up to western standards, but it would do, normal thing mouldy silicon all over the place, pine celling partly falling apart, sink had a crack in it. We have stayed in worse in the Middle East, so no real problem. More like 2 star.

Time to go explore the area, in the lift and down to street level at the back, out onto the square, lots of local small shops, so cheap bottled water, coke, crisp, normal snacks etc. All at local prices.

In the write up in the room it says they supply a kettle, free Wi-Fi etc., they obviously missed it in are room?? We telephone reception to ask for the kettle; nothing ever arrived, not that we were bothered as we had our trusty travel kettle with us.

As it was getting late we decided to go for the evening buffet in the hotel, not a good idea, waste of money, better of going up the road to a local hot spot for food, as we found out later. Nothing wrong with the food, but it just didn’t do it for us, very bland and boring. Sure wasn’t what the locals eat.
A 15min walk up the road and you’re in the heart of a main shopping area, lots of shops open until late and loads of local restaurants etc.
Back in the room, time for bed, the beds were comfortable, but got woke up good knows how many times with the call to prayer, seems the speaker for the local Mosc is right across the square from our room. Breakfast, good selection and no real complaints with it, good choices of hot or cold food. Cold drinks hot drinks etc.
We spoke to reception and complained at being given single beds, sorry we are fully booked, but we will try and change you over for the next day, it never happened. Same as the invisible kettle and
Wi-Fi, good free Wi-Fi in the reception area and a seating area to sit and chill and have a coffee while catching up with the all the emails etc. Our fault partly for not inspecting the room in the first place, we should have complained when we first looked at the room.
As we were coming back to this hotel for a night at the end of our Jordan tour, I asked reception to make sure we had a double bed booked and at the front of the hotel and not the back.
We meet up with the tour leader, (Mo and all the group, sorted out the agenda for the next day’s sightseeing) Early start.
We would class this hotel as 2 or 3 star at best, but the location is good, reception, restaurant etc. all good, it was just the room we had that let it down, well see what room we get when we return at the end of our tour.

Next stop, Jerash, then drive to Petra, via Kerak and Shobak, then spend a night in Wadi rum in a tent, then drive to Aquaba , then back to Amman via the dead sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, try to avoid getting a room overlooking the square at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike424u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here twice on our trip to Jordan, once at the beginning and again at the end. Nice hotel, clean, good location and friendly staff. Great value for the money. The rooms were very spacious and had a nice sitting area. Bathroom was clean but a little outdated. The breakfast buffet was decent but I can't reccomend the restaurant beyond that. Front desk staff were great, allowed early check in and even offered to prepare an early breakfast for us due to our 1:00 am departure time. If in need of a driver to attractions in and around Amman, they have a driver named Majid who was fantastic...good prices, friendly guy and a safe driver! Over all, it was a nice stay and a great value for the money. Would stay again if ever in Amman.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chargers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
1.3 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#7 of 144 in Amman
879 reviews
1.1 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#23 of 144 in Amman
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#3 of 144 in Amman
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Amman
Le Meridien Amman
#6 of 144 in Amman
1,208 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Amman
1.3 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 144 in Amman
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toledo Amman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toledo Amman Hotel

Property: Toledo Amman Hotel
Address: Razi Street 37 Al | Jabal Al Hussein / Abdali area, Amman 11190, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amman
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Toledo Amman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toledo Hotel is located on the edge of downtown and within a few minute walk to the new Abdali city center. 107 guest rooms and suites. Studio room with kitchenettes are available for long term stays. In room WiFi and ADSL. 7 meeting rooms 15-400 persons. Large gym and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Toledo Amman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toledo Hotel Amman
Amman Toledo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing