We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Larsa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larsa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 145 Hotels in Amman
London
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our group arrived late and the buffet dinner had closed but the kitchen gave us a lovely, plentiful meal with the best houmous I tasted all week. The buffet breakfasts were fine, if a little repetitive. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and the only free wi-fi of the week was appreciated. The public areas were very smokey, as were all the hotels in Jordan. The bar was almost non-existent. The bedroom was large, warm and clean. Apparently, not long refurbished but I am not sure where exactly. The water pressure in the shower was not great but of no great bother to me, as a shortie. No hairdryer but a few power points with UK type sockets. Oh, and the mosque is across the road so almost a guaranteed wake-up call at 4.45am! The location was a bit in the middle of nowhere. We walked to Mecca mall which took 30 minutes. I think that it was good value for a capital city hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the left of the lifts, as they are further away from the mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    143
    75
    16
    11
See reviews for
61
98
31
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed at the Larsa as part of a tour group and so did not source the hotel myself bu I was really very impressed from the get go particularly as the hotel was above our expectations. The rooms were clean and neat with fresh sheets and hot water. Perfect after a dreadful flight from the UAE. The service was positive, with friendly, smiley helpful staff.
Breakfast was good, plentiful simple and a nice variety of hot and cold dishes that were regularly topped up by the staff.
We didn't dine in, but did have a selection of bread and dips in the bar area. I can honestly say that the hummus I ate there was the best I have ever tasted!
The Larsa was a good walk away from town, but not a hike and it gave us the chance to explore a bit, although the area the hotel was in is pretty suburban so not a lot to look at.
A very positive start and end to our trip!
I travelled in December 2008 and am a bit delayed (obviously!) in writing. Sorry for that

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddlingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of an organized group. The only 3 possibly good things were the pleasant service, slightly better than average food and clean bed sheets. Thank god for the clean sheets because I may have broken down and cried if not. The room was terribly dated and dim, the carpet was grimy and the sink leaked fishy water onto the toilet floor. On the first night while sitting on the bed, I watched a cockroach scurry across the bedroom. The bed sheets were rough from wear but hey, I was grateful that they felt clean and freshly laundered.

Location wise, there did not seem to have been anything around the hotel to walk to and you probably have to take a 15-20 min taxi ride to downtown Amman. The hotel is however next to the expressway which brings you to the sights outside Amman (the Dead Sea, Jerash etc).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We had a pleasant stay at the Larsa Hotel recently. The foyer and public areas are quite impressive, the rooms are somewhat dated in decor but clean and comfortable. Rooms had tv and fridge (empty), safe and seating area. The lighting was quite dim and the air con blew out hot air regardless of what temperature it was set to, but since we were only there for one night we never raised this with reception. I did hear the people in the room next door reporting the same issue with their air con to housekeeping though.

Mosque was nearby which was very handy for us. The reception staff were very helpful, but not everyone spoke English. Breakfast was pretty good, with a variety of cold and hot foods.

The gym is very basic and the swimming pool had no water in save for the rainwater!

Location was not very central but I can harly blame the hotel for that. Luckily taxis are cheap and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in larsa hotel for overnight, it was pleasant when we entered front desk, staff were friendly and helpful.
Only important matter that should staff and management concern about is lost and found, its very important for all the foreign or even local guest. A young lady followed us outside the lobby and informed us that we have forgot a book in the room. We were in hurry for our another trip, when we reached to our destination, we found out that we have forgot the personal item for bath, that is not available in jordan, we have called the hotel larsa, and we been acknowledge that they have throw it, as they thought it was the rabbish, because it was place in the bathroom and wet. What a mess and insulting us as a guest. I believe even a box of tissue if its belong to the guest it should be return.

A hotel manager or so, stand for it and tried to make it right, he asked living address in USA, he asked a website link where he could possible look at it and replace as he promised, but untill now, not even a fedback or sign from anyone..
The hotel is quite nice for stopover stay, breakfast buffet is not really that good.
we stayed in junior suite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WILL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This would not be my top pick for a hotel. The hotel seems lovely and the desk staff was very helpful with offering to share their desk laptop when the WiFi didn't work. The room was a good size but it contained three double beds, a night stand, chest/TV console, a table and two chairs. The room was stuffed with furniture. The only place to put your luggage was on the bed. If you wanted to use the room safe you had to slide in between the bed and the wall. Thank goodness we travel with flashlights because there was not enough light to see the numbers on the safe. The food in the dining room was OK but we had difficulty explaining that we wanted "bottled" water. But by far the worst part of the stay was the bedding. After 24+ hours of travel the most important commodity is a comfortable bed with soft bedding. It was not to be. The sheets were scratchy and pilled from long wear. If it hadn't been for the sutffed room and the scratchy sheets, I would rate this hotel better.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuwildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

After 24+ hours of flying, it was a relief to land at such a nice hotel. Very comfortable, clean room with good bed. Small fridge in room, CNN and BBC. Larsa is a bit far from city center but only about $5 cab ride. And it's very close to a big, new mall if you're dying for Starbucks and the Gap. Also a Carrefour hypermarket and lots of ATMs so good stop for provisions.

Best thing about Larsa is the staff and service. Front desk staff are really helpful. My only criticism is about the restaurant - nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebrainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
4.4 mi away
Toledo Amman Hotel
Toledo Amman Hotel
#14 of 145 in Amman
787 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nishan Hotel
Nishan Hotel
#30 of 145 in Amman
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ayass Hotel
Ayass Hotel
#3 of 145 in Amman
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Caravan Hotel
Caravan Hotel
#21 of 145 in Amman
221 reviews
5.6 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 145 in Amman
568 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 145 in Amman
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larsa Hotel

Property: Larsa Hotel
Address: Mutaweh Street, Al-Jandaweel 48 Um, Amman 11814, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Larsa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Larsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing