We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the view”
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Dead Sea Airport Arrival Transfer with Amman City Tour
Ranked #3 of 87 things to do in Amman
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This archaeological landmark features remnants from several different cultures.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

There is a nice view from this site of the city and the Roman amphitheatre. However, within the site itself, the ruins are modest at most. If you don't like the sun, don't go as there is no shade inside.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    1,034
    332
    27
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Amazing to find ancient Roman ruins in the middle of the city. A must for anyone travelling to Amman

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tenoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amman”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

It really takes you back in time and if you have a guide that knows the history, it makes it all the more interesting

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank petty40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great views over the city, an interesting site”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We walked up to the Citadel from just beyond the forum / bus station, take the second set of steps on the left and then at the top walk to the right up a side street (theres a small local shop selling drinks and snacks about 1/2 way up) and then take the right at the T junction the Citadel is on your left.

On entry we were approached by a guide offering his services which we politely declined and he left us to our own devices. There are a few boards with information at each of the sites, if you want to know more detailed info then it would be worth having a guide.

We decided to walk around the outskirts of the site first taking in the views of the city, gives a real indication as to the size of Amman. We then moved around the various ruins on site. There is also a museum but we didn't visit it was too hot to be inside !

Its not as striking or as big as Jerash but we spent a few enjoyable hours just wandering around. They are obviously trying to make improvements to the site to make it more tourist friendly. Given the state of the forum/ hashemite square when we visited this is probably the best place to come to view this too - unless you like tatty corrugated steel sheets in your photos!!!

On leaving we found the taxi driver tried his luck, we had got to the forum for 5JD, the taxi driver at the site wanted 18JD to take us back to the hotel !!! We simply walked away and magically the price dropped by half !!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent archeological site”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very interesting place to explore and make sure to look in the small museum. Best view of roman ampitheatre from up here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jazzy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Amman, Amman Governorate
Amman, Amman Governorate
 
Amman, Amman Governorate
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing