We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly shambolic hotel - but aren't they all here?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Palace Hotel
Ranked #106 of 144 Hotels in Amman
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Slightly shambolic hotel - but aren't they all here?”
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here for three nights while touring Jordan - and were booked by the tour company so I hadn't researched it.
It's 4 star and superficially quite plush...but it doesn't really work: reception chaotic and had reserved the wrong rooms; electric plugs dodgy and erratic - though mercifully no need for converter plugs - oh the benefits of the royal family's British education (harrow and sandhurst since you ask!) Room details said there was a gym - but it had been renovated out of existence and the replacement jacuzzi was freezing; extortionate internet access - $24 per day which s up there with the Ritz - which this certainly wasn't; muzak everywhere and loads of staff in the dining room but none of them doing anything.
I am biassed against buffet style meals but we were booked on half board so I couldn't do anything about it...and they did try hard with my nut-allergic, vegetarian daughter.
We have stayed in one other Jordanian hotel and it too seemed a bit chaotic and distracted so maybe it's just the style.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    34
    73
    36
    20
See reviews for
27
46
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We have just returned from Jordan, a place I highly recommend to Australians who want something different. It is clean, safe, and everywhere we went we were met with friendlinesss and courtesy.
The IMPERIAL PALACE hotel although rated wasn't really a 4 Star hotel but it was clean, if a tad tired. It was not too far far the main shopping area and taxis were very cheap. The staff were helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine- Egypt- Emirates
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Its a very good hotel in the middle of the city , just close to everything, the room is fine , and clean and service is good .. what I did not like is Only the room is small, and second it has noice from the cars on the road neaxt to the hotel , I am used to sleep with complite silence so it was bothering me , since the windows still give this sound inside .. other than this I have no complains at all... its good and fine.. I think the price is to high in this hotel, as many hotels in Amman , there is nothing special in Amman to do or to see..to pay these rates for . Only Dead sea hotels really have value.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerNatalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I went on a Business Trip to Amman and stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights. The hotel was very well located at 4th Circle and all taxi drivers knew about this hotel. The view from the hotel was very nice specially from my room. The staff was nice and courteous as well. The rooms are pretty small unless you are with your family it will not be much of a difference. There are many good eating joints nearby the hotel, one can go to 1st circle or Abdoun circle to eat all kinds of cuisines.

Due to Ramadan the hotel was pretty empty. The breakfast was good but I was disappointed to see the same breakfast spread for all 3 days. I feel they should change few items daily.

Another disappointing thing was they didnt provide any complimentary drinking water. I had to buy bottled water from outside everyday. They even charge 1 JD for Ice bucket. The Wi-fi internet is good but expensive, 5 JD for an hour. I would prefer to use Orange internet over bluetooth which I used next day.

They have a small souvenirs shop as well which sells local things like daggers, dead sea soaps, ostrich eggs, etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

A very friendly but quite small hotel in Amman. The rooms were elegant but small and the reception and restaurant coulnd't serve two groups at the same time (rather small as well)
it was a typical 4star hotel nothing fancy yet nothing missing. nothing to see nearby but well... that's Amman. Overall we had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night in between flights, it's about 30 minutes from Amman Airport. There didn't seem to be much around the hotel. The hotel itself was ok, a little dated but clean and comfortable. The staff were courtieous and efficient, the evening buffet dinner and breakfast were just fine, both local and international cuisine. the room was a good size and perfectly ok, the hotel air conditioning was very loud though. Check out was fast and the billing correct.
Nothing fancy but a decent enough hotel for a night or 2.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.4 mi away
Amman West Hotel
Amman West Hotel
#76 of 144 in Amman
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Vendome Hotel
Le Vendome Hotel
#109 of 144 in Amman
44 reviews
1.4 mi away
BelleVue Hotel
BelleVue Hotel
#42 of 144 in Amman
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Hotel Suites Amman
1.5 mi away
Grand Palace Amman
Grand Palace Amman
#43 of 144 in Amman
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Park Hotel
Century Park Hotel
#46 of 144 in Amman
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Palace Hotel

Property: Imperial Palace Hotel
Address: 4th Circle Zahran Street, Amman 11183, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 144 Hotels in Amman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Imperial Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing