We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Terrible Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of San Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Rock Hotel
Ranked #119 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Terrible Terrible Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

My friend booked us into this hotel. We were there for two days over Eid holiday. To start with man at reception spoke no english.. So really we couldnt complain to him..
where do I start?
First the smell in the bath room was just bad.. got someone to clear the bath hole to get the water to drain out.. we were having a shower and a bath at the same time!!
The Bidet.. had toilet paper stuffed down in it.. why that was I dont know but would hate to think what was under it.. this wasnt removed while we were staying..
small cake of soap was stuffed down basin for the duration also..
as it was the holiday the room was not cleaned for two days.. nor were we bought clean towels.. we used our towels to mop up all the water over the floor!!
The heating!!! absolutely no heating whatsoever.. room was freezing.. we had 0 temperatures at night.. my daughter and I wore all our clothes to bed just to keep warm..
Breakfast was as good as anywhere else we stayed.. eggs , bread, olives, tomatoes and cucumber..
Disco booming downstairs till maybe 8.30 in the morning..
dont know why they cant get their act together as the hotel could be nice.. but for me would never stay there again..

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We booked 3 nights here through 1800Hotels. When we arrived and showed our reservations, we were given our room. The room was passable, the service was almost non-existent, and when we checked out, the manager tells us he hasn't received any money from 1800Hotels and that we would have to pay the regular rates to check out. It cost us $400. When they finally received the money from 1800Hotels, San Rock refused to refund or $400. I guess we learned two lessons from our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

It was dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed. Towels were stained, windows dirty, carpets and curtains dusty and grey. My friends even find nails beside the bed. Pictures will speak for them self.
In the corridors curtains were ripped and dirty. Cleaners did make swans from towers but no hooverring. After what we seen in the rooms we were afraid to touch breakfast.
The only good thing I remember was polite and helpful breakfast waiter.
Please stay away from this dirty place, it is not safe for your health.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snieguole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is not a fantastic place to stay by any means, however my experience at this hotel was not as bad as some of the other reviews.
It's not terribly modern or terribly clean, but I didn't find it so dirty that I would not stay there.
Staff was friendly enough.
I thought the breakfast was quite good actually.
My room was at the front of the hotel and I did not hear the disco (and I am a light sleeper). In fact I didn't even know there was a disco until I had been told by others in my group who were complaining of the noise.
The location isn't central, but taxis are plentiful, quick and inexpensive (~$3 to $4 US to centre each way).
I stayed at this hotel as part of a group so did not book it myself. Having said that, I did extend my stay in Amman a couple of days longer than our group, and I did not bother booking into a different hotel. The bother wouldn't have been worth it in my opinion.
Don't expect a lot and you won't be disappointed!
I am planning another trip to Amman in the near future and, while it's not out of the realm of possibilities, I likely won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Its dullness
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Stayed here as part of a group tour of Jordan for 1 night only at end of trip. OK for 1 night I think, and we did not eat here apart from breakfast which was fine.

Room OK but windows were filthy - probably because adjacent to enormous building site for Jordan Gateway.

Bar quite expensive. No atmosphere.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

1) Very stingy hotel - dark and very cold inside, did not turn on central heating unless requested (this was winter in Jordan, rain and very windy, under 10 degrees celsius), and even then, they preferred to roll in a portable radiator rather than turning on central heating. And when central heating was eventually turned on (when occupancy was high enough for them to bother), it was turned off at 1am and one could start shivering.
2) Disco in basement from midnight to 8am. Very loud! Booming could be heard up to 7 floors above! How to sleep?!? Lots of Russian girls left the disco at 8am. Hmmmm,....

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Cold room, noisy un-soundproofed disco in basement which can be heard on all floors
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gouzbeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2008

The Hotel is really cheap, in every sense! Poor location, no maintennace, dirty rooms, dirty bathroom, very, very old mattress, and above all, they have a disco dance place in the basement that goes very, very, very loudly until 7:00AM, everyday, poundig your ears strongly all nigth long. We had a 7 day resrevation, left on the second day to a much, much better hotel nearby, the RATAJ Hotel (retajhotel.com), only US$30 a day more expensive but tottaly worth it. I would not recommend Sea Rock to anyone, stay away.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Very dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Macedo_R1100GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Rama Hotel
Rama Hotel
#111 of 142 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dove Hotel
Dove Hotel
#89 of 142 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hammodah Hotel
Hammodah Hotel
#112 of 142 in Amman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
New Park Hotel
New Park Hotel
#61 of 142 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Farah Hotel
Farah Hotel
#40 of 142 in Amman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zaman Ya Zaman Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rock Hotel

Property: San Rock Hotel
Address: | Um Uthaina-jabal, Amman 11191, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 142 Hotels in Amman
Hotel Class:3 star — San Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your San Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing