We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, not what i was expecting :)”
Review of San Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Rock Hotel
Ranked #124 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, not what i was expecting :)”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my second stay at the San Rock hotel. The first stay i wasn't really happy, the rooms were terible and really old fashioned but this time i was really impressed the hotel is quiteand peaceful, good modern rooms and helpful staff. I was surprised how a lot has changed in so little time.
Am Really impressed, if you looking for a good 3 star hotel in amman this is the one to go to.
Am trying to upload pictures but its not uploading, i will try again soon :)

Room Tip: For a double room chose the west side of the hotel, north side rooms is specially 125 is close to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    4
    9
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We booked a tour, including hotels and were supposed to stay at a different hotel, last minute it was changed to the san rock hotel. When we checked the hotel on tripadvidor we saw the terrible reviews and were scared that we would be staying in a terrible and dirty hotel. But the hotel was very nice, nice and clean rooms (not the Hilton though), hot showers and good food. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatetete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We bought a flights+hotel package to Amman from Istanbul and didn't have a choice where we stayed.
After reading the other reviews, I was expecting the worst, so it was better than I'd hoped.
On the upside, the beds were comfortable and the hotel had obviously hired some English-speaking staff.
On the downside:
- The room and bathroom had not been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived - there was dust on every surface and the floors were dirty - and the bathroom smelled.
- The shower leaked all over the bathroom floor every time we used it.
- Our room was not cleaned or made-up once during our 4-night stay, despite putting the "Please make-up my room" sign on the door.
- The breakfast was pretty ordinary - Orange Tang instead of juice, watery milk made from powder, stale cornflakes, plus the normal Middle Eastern fare of yoghurt, jam, boiled eggs, cheese, olives, hummus, "salami," tomatoes, cucumber, flatbread, tea and coffee (instant).
- When we asked reception to call us a taxi, they called a guy who was obviously a mate and refused to put on the meter. He told us it would be 15JD, then 10JD, for a journey downtown so we jumped right back out. We hailed a taxi from the street instead and the meter came to under 2JD, but we gave the guy 3JD for being nice and helpful and because that's what we were expecting to pay.
Overall, I would not choose to stay here, but it was ok for a cheap package deal if you keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alixjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amman hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

My friend booked us into this hotel. We were there for two days over Eid holiday. To start with man at reception spoke no english.. So really we couldnt complain to him..
where do I start?
First the smell in the bath room was just bad.. got someone to clear the bath hole to get the water to drain out.. we were having a shower and a bath at the same time!!
The Bidet.. had toilet paper stuffed down in it.. why that was I dont know but would hate to think what was under it.. this wasnt removed while we were staying..
small cake of soap was stuffed down basin for the duration also..
as it was the holiday the room was not cleaned for two days.. nor were we bought clean towels.. we used our towels to mop up all the water over the floor!!
The heating!!! absolutely no heating whatsoever.. room was freezing.. we had 0 temperatures at night.. my daughter and I wore all our clothes to bed just to keep warm..
Breakfast was as good as anywhere else we stayed.. eggs , bread, olives, tomatoes and cucumber..
Disco booming downstairs till maybe 8.30 in the morning..
dont know why they cant get their act together as the hotel could be nice.. but for me would never stay there again..

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beezely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We booked 3 nights here through 1800Hotels. When we arrived and showed our reservations, we were given our room. The room was passable, the service was almost non-existent, and when we checked out, the manager tells us he hasn't received any money from 1800Hotels and that we would have to pay the regular rates to check out. It cost us $400. When they finally received the money from 1800Hotels, San Rock refused to refund or $400. I guess we learned two lessons from our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

It was dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed. Towels were stained, windows dirty, carpets and curtains dusty and grey. My friends even find nails beside the bed. Pictures will speak for them self.
In the corridors curtains were ripped and dirty. Cleaners did make swans from towers but no hooverring. After what we seen in the rooms we were afraid to touch breakfast.
The only good thing I remember was polite and helpful breakfast waiter.
Please stay away from this dirty place, it is not safe for your health.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snieguole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

This is not a fantastic place to stay by any means, however my experience at this hotel was not as bad as some of the other reviews.
It's not terribly modern or terribly clean, but I didn't find it so dirty that I would not stay there.
Staff was friendly enough.
I thought the breakfast was quite good actually.
My room was at the front of the hotel and I did not hear the disco (and I am a light sleeper). In fact I didn't even know there was a disco until I had been told by others in my group who were complaining of the noise.
The location isn't central, but taxis are plentiful, quick and inexpensive (~$3 to $4 US to centre each way).
I stayed at this hotel as part of a group so did not book it myself. Having said that, I did extend my stay in Amman a couple of days longer than our group, and I did not bother booking into a different hotel. The bother wouldn't have been worth it in my opinion.
Don't expect a lot and you won't be disappointed!
I am planning another trip to Amman in the near future and, while it's not out of the realm of possibilities, I likely won't be staying here again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Its dullness
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amman hotels
0.0 mi away
Dove Hotel
Dove Hotel
#91 of 145 in Amman
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arab Tower Hotel
Arab Tower Hotel
#18 of 145 in Amman
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Downtown
Art Hotel Downtown
#24 of 145 in Amman
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amman Pasha Hotel
Amman Pasha Hotel
#8 of 145 in Amman
887 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Amman
0.5 mi away
Jordan River Hotel
Jordan River Hotel
#4 of 107 in Amman
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rock Hotel

Property: San Rock Hotel
Address: | Um Uthaina-jabal, Amman 11191, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Amman Governorate > Amman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 145 Hotels in Amman
Hotel Class:3 star — San Rock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your San Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing